X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Samba Green Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvaro Ramos, 394, Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
259 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

It is an OK hostel with friendly staff in a safe area of Rio. It is in a building that has been quickly renovated a couple of years ago, and looks like not much effort has been put into it to keep facilities well maintained. Rooms remain unlocked all the time, but provides good lockers (own lock required). People and staff were nice but not a very clean place. Too expensive for what it currently offers.


49%

VERY BAD EXPERIENCE! 1) the owner was under the influence of alcohol when we checked in! 2) Staff and guests very loud, late into the night. 3) Rooms so hot, impossible to sleep. 4) Bathrooms REALLY dirty, where people had been ill, plus blocked toilets, broken toilet doors and blocked sinks...disgusting!! 5) Breakfast was poor, not enough supply for all people staying. Worst place we stayed, in our 7 week trip around Brazil. we couldn't wait to check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Louise, Sorry so much to make you feel in this way. You have arrived in the day before carnival, during the caipirinhas night and all guests were too excited for the carnival. Maybe what happened was a consequence of the craziest caipirinhas night that we have ever had here. You were a more mature couple staying only one night with us and got this bad impression. So sorry. Hope to receive you in another opportunity. Big kisses, Carlos

66%

Except the manger know one was really helpful with tourist staff, how to get around options


100%

Carlos and his staff were amazing .the hostel has a great breakfast and the hostel is cleaned every day .They do anything for you even had a free drinks night and BBQ made my stay here so much fun .thanks guys


94%

I ha a fantastic stay here, great area for seeing all parts of the city, really friendly and helpful staff and had and an amazing time at carnival. I was travelling alone and it was so easy to make friends with both the staff and fellow travellers- the atmosphere was great and I would recommend to all. Definitely stay here.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Gostei do acolhimento da maioria dos funcionários. Pelo preco, esperei que os quartos tivessem ar condicionado e fossem mais ventilados. O espaco dos quartos tb é pequeno para o número de camas, tornando a permanencia neste, um tanto desconfortável.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice hostel on a budget. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, cleanliness is very good and good location in walking distance to metros to get to all main attractions. Although no air cons in the bedroom meant they were very hot and wifi wasn't great but overall really good place to stay.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(47 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback