X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samba Palace Reviews

Rua Alice 97, Laranjeiras, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
114 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very good place, strategically located near the Chryst, but you can easily access any place intown from there using public transportation. People are very nice and helpful and the place is very clean and safe. We just loved it


89%

Very friendly staff, good location (walkable distance from the train of the Christ The Redeemer) and good price. I wish I have stayed longer than 2 nights there. :)


86%

Great staff, really good location for Christ the Redeemer, decent breakfast and loads of tours etc. Supermarkets close as well. Really nice neighbourhood.


100%

I really liked this hostel. It is well located, easy to catch buses, there are good places to eat and drink nearby. The staff are very attentive, the girls on reception are one loves and staff working in cleaning and kitchen are prestatios and friendly. I recommend whenever I can I'll be there.


97%

I had the most fantastic stay at Samba palace and will definitely be returning if i ever come back to Rio. Fantastic atmosphere, staff are so willing to help with everything and anything and the owner is a very lovely, hands on man I recommend Samba Palace without a doubt.


74%

it will be gd if there's socket for each bed. there's no wifi in the room. the direction or the bus no. given is not exactly correct. have to recheck on the road.


97%

I have stayed in 2 hostels in Rio and this is not only by far the best out of the 2 but also one of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff are extremely friendly/helpful and have good knowledge of the city. The rooms are clean and bed was comfortable with memory foam pillow for extra comfort. Although simple, breakfast is included for free (whereas at other places it is not even available) There are daily activities happening which helps you to meet other people. I would stay again!

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good hostel, friendly atmosphere and great staff (speaking english)!!! made my stay in Rio very comfortable! would definetaly recommend it!!!


97%

Very friendly staff and close to buses to take you to beaches, nightlife and restaurants. Minutes walk to christ the redeemer. Would defiantly stay here again

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

As well as being close to everything, has an excellent staff, the rooms are comfortable and clean, is a good place to rest and have fun with friends, have thematic parties and there is always a choice of what to do.

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

atmosfir no es bueno. son muy serio no me gustaba el hoste. sin esto muy bien como desayuno, limpio, costo. la gente muy importante para descansar. por eso a mi mas o menos


77%

Well, our stay there was nice. Te place is excellent located, it's a great neighborhood, the beds and the pillows are awesome! The bar is in the first floor so in the bedrooms is no noise. Te only bad thing was that when we arrived I guess they didn't have space for us so they place us in the staff room which smells disgusting. Please take care of this, the smell is also important. Thanks guys.


60%

Very friendly staff, muy amable personal. BUT, PERO: it was really not clean. You get clean sheats but thats all thats clean. The showers were full full of hairs, never seen st like that before. No era muy limpio,. recibes sabanas limpias pero eso es todo lo que esta limpio. Las duchas estaba llenos de pelos, nunca habia visto algo asi en mi vida

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly, helpful staff and a clean hostel in a nice area of Rio. Don't be put off by the cheap rates, this is a really nice hostel with all the amenities you'll need

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a great stay a Rio, the hostel is in a great location, really near the christ redeemer, and on the South Zone of the city, where the best touristic atractions are. You can easily arrive at Copacabana Beach, Sugar Loaf or the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas from there. The Staff is incredibly polite, and most atencious, i will definatelly come back when i'm in Rio again.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really had a nice stay in Samba Palace, great breakfast, nice atmosphere and confortable beds! The hostel is well located in a nice neighborhood, Maybe it could be a bit more clean but I strong recomend it and I would come back there.

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

it is a nice hostel, with good location in a tranquil neighborhood, between the center and the beaches neighborhoods. friendly and helpful staff and really good prices :)


94%

Great hostel in an excellent location for Christ the Redeemer! Breakfast was brilliant and beds were very comfy! Also was excellent value for money! Only negative thing to say was that check in wasnt untill 2pm, not anytime like it says on here! Though staff were very accomodating and managed to get us into our room a bit early!


91%

Great spot, cool staff!!

  • 24th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels ive been to! the location is really good, its right in the middle of all the tourist sites! and easy to get a bus or the metro anywhere! there is a really good atmosphere, and the staff are amazing! rafa, andrea and acasia always offering you loads of things to do, especially some stuff thats not that touristy!! and eddy the barman makes the best caipirihna in brazil! the staff are the best! Awesome hostel


(64 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback