X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Samba Palace Reviews

Rua Alice 97, Laranjeiras, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
100 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Well, our stay there was nice. Te place is excellent located, it's a great neighborhood, the beds and the pillows are awesome! The bar is in the first floor so in the bedrooms is no noise. Te only bad thing was that when we arrived I guess they didn't have space for us so they place us in the staff room which smells disgusting. Please take care of this, the smell is also important. Thanks guys.

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Very friendly staff, muy amable personal. BUT, PERO: it was really not clean. You get clean sheats but thats all thats clean. The showers were full full of hairs, never seen st like that before. No era muy limpio,. recibes sabanas limpias pero eso es todo lo que esta limpio. Las duchas estaba llenos de pelos, nunca habia visto algo asi en mi vida

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly, helpful staff and a clean hostel in a nice area of Rio. Don't be put off by the cheap rates, this is a really nice hostel with all the amenities you'll need

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a great stay a Rio, the hostel is in a great location, really near the christ redeemer, and on the South Zone of the city, where the best touristic atractions are. You can easily arrive at Copacabana Beach, Sugar Loaf or the Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas from there. The Staff is incredibly polite, and most atencious, i will definatelly come back when i'm in Rio again.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really had a nice stay in Samba Palace, great breakfast, nice atmosphere and confortable beds! The hostel is well located in a nice neighborhood, Maybe it could be a bit more clean but I strong recomend it and I would come back there.

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

it is a nice hostel, with good location in a tranquil neighborhood, between the center and the beaches neighborhoods. friendly and helpful staff and really good prices :)


94%

Great hostel in an excellent location for Christ the Redeemer! Breakfast was brilliant and beds were very comfy! Also was excellent value for money! Only negative thing to say was that check in wasnt untill 2pm, not anytime like it says on here! Though staff were very accomodating and managed to get us into our room a bit early!


91%

Great spot, cool staff!!

  • 24th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels ive been to! the location is really good, its right in the middle of all the tourist sites! and easy to get a bus or the metro anywhere! there is a really good atmosphere, and the staff are amazing! rafa, andrea and acasia always offering you loads of things to do, especially some stuff thats not that touristy!! and eddy the barman makes the best caipirihna in brazil! the staff are the best! Awesome hostel


83%

Have been there for a week and could have stayed even longer! Staff is very supporting and friendly! I think the location is also pretty good, since it is in the middle of the south and the Centro/Lappa. So, you are pretty fast in both directions.

  • 10th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing hostel. Best breakfast I've had and the best shower I've had whilst travelling through South America. The hostel is an amazing set up everything is so new. Its not that social which sucks but I think its only cause its a new hostel. Its so easy to get to all the attractions! The only annoying thing is wi-fi is only in one part of the hostel & at 6pm they start blasting the music so so loud it makes it hard if your on skype or just trying to do stuff on internet


100%

First off Samba palace is in a great location - walking distance to Christ the redeamer and in a great neighbourhood where you feel safe. There is tons of grocery stores and restaurants nearby as well as the metro being within walking distance. The staff is phenominal - Bianca and Rafael are tons of fun to chat with and make sure everything is in order for you and Eddy makes the best Caipirinha in Brazil - no joke, I tried ALOT and I mean ALOT, and always with a smile on his face. The breakfast


86%

Nice staff, very helpfull. The location is good and there is music and abar at night, that is great. Just dont use the laundry service.


66%

Weird price plolicy... very intransparent. At least zou should offer the hostelworld prices to those who prolong thier stay at the desk instead.


74%

Breakfast is good and delicious!! There is a kitchen and refrigerator , so we can cook. On the other hand, there is a dry croth space but I was stolen my towel.

  • 19th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Eri, your towel never got stolen, you should contact reception about that. When is raining the clean lady always bring our guests stuff to reception so it dont get wet :) And we always have towel at reception for those needs :)

97%

It was Carnaval time so obviously the place was crazier than normal but the staff handled it like pros. They were very patient with all of us drunks and seemed to enjoy the madness of it all. The breakfast could have been a bit better but once again, it was Carnaval and we were all starving after a night of partying. Loved the layout of the hostel as it was very open and bright. Also appreciated air condition in the room + the showers were nice+ big with space to move about and HOT water! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Marianna, Thank you so much for your stay with us ! Carnival it's the most happy time in Rio and our mission is to make our guests feel home and have the best time with us and enjoy Rio in a different aspect !! Breakfast has been improved :) Once more, thank you for everything!!

89%

Hi Team, So please i chose Samba Palace. Being the first time in Rio the staff made me welcome, and the people staying were also very good. Getting passed the language differences isn´t such a problem when you have people around as accepting as those staying and managing Samba Palace. Great to get to know Acacia and her team. Have already recommended Samba Palace to others..

  • 9th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is very nice, very clean, very close to every important sightseeing in Rio. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help and recommend places to visit and to indocate the way around the city. I strongly recommend this hostel and will definitly stay there next time I travel to Rio.

  • 6th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you comments, they are really important to us and we are proud that you have a nice experience!! We wish you all the best and safe travels Daina! See you soon!!

74%

I were just one night there and the place is fantastic, the only thing not so good about it was that the metro station was a bit far, but anyway is nice walking in Sao Paulo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jose, Thank you for your review but i think you are thinking about an other hostel. We are not in Sao Paulo!! Samba Palace is in Rio and just 15 minutes walking from the metro station :)

57%

This is a new hostel and really didnt have it together at all! Seems like they didnt really think about design at all as hardly much living space at all, the breakfast was non exisitent and the staff member who checked us in didnt have a clue what was going on.Would not stay there again.


(53 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback