X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver Reviews

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1873 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel in Vancouver for a great price. I wish the events were a little better to take this hostel from best in Vancouver to one of the best period. Pub crawls would be an easy thing to do. It has a bar but its still one of the least social hostels since its not really a bar for random people to meet. People just end up sitting in the common room and stare at their laptops/tablets/phones. I would still recommend the hostel 100%.


71%

OK place! Good location.


89%

Clean nice place, very helpful and friendly staff. There's a lot of homeless people on Granville street but as we found out, whole Vancouver is full of them....the area didn't seem unsafe.


74%

The hostel is located on the busy street. That means you are in the center of all the activities. It sounds good, unless you are willing to sleep. Get ready for sleepless start of a night as noise from the street is very loud. The staff is very nice and they also organize different daily activities in Vancouver and around. However, the hostel is not very clean and rooms are quite small for the money


83%

Cool hostel. The bunks are cheap and nasty. Nice bar. Friendly staff. I'd stay again.


97%

The only possible complain is that the 4 person room was tiny. The rest was wonderful.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed in Vancouver for only two nights and this was the perfect location for making the most out of it and seeing the best bits. The staff were really lovely and helpful, breakfast was basic but plentiful and encouraged you to meet fellow travellers. There was also lots of activities on everyday, which I didn't get to myself due to my short time there, but sounded like they'd be a lot of fun. I'd stay here again on my return and would recommend it to others.


100%

Really good hostel to meet fellow travellers, especially through the daily activities arranged by the hostel.


91%

One of the best I've been to. The location is perfect and easy to get to from the airport. The staff was very helpful and nice. Great vibe and bar. Breakfast was great and plenty (but ends early). The washrooms can get kinda crowded, early in the morning and around 6/7 pm, but its ok. The rooms are great, could use a chair though. Its safe, but everyone ends up opening the front door to anyone. Lockers and towels are small. Quite time works.


97%

Really loved this hostel. Rooms were great and the inclusive breakfast was good too. Common area and kitchen were big. Hostel ran free or cheap day trips everyday which were good. Only down points were bathrooms could get busy at times (more sinks would be handier) and at night there was noise from the street, but in my opinion it's the compromise you make for being in downtown Vancouver. I would definitely stay there again.


71%

Pretty nice hostel to meet people. Bathroom facilities need an upgrade. Beds are average. Bar is a lot of fun


100%

Helpful, friendly staff. Good location. a fan on each bed, which was nice. Good food in the restaurant. Fun watching the World Cup.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing time at samesun the crew in the bar were great and the location is perfect for going out! Will be back 4sure!


43%

Apart from the location the SameSun was a terrible hostel. Would recommend travellers to head up to whistler or Banff if they have enough time as the hostels and attmosphere are significantly better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I wish you had told us a bit more as to why you didn't like us but I will shoot you an email to follow up. It sounds to me like you like the smaller hostels better, as Whistler (2 hours away) and Banff (11 hours away) are much smaller cities. Hope you enjoyed all the scenery on the way to both of those places! Cheers Pete

83%

Good location and great staff who are friendly and willing to help. Great hostel for anyone looking for an accessible place and not too fussy with the dorms.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

overall a great experience. It's a little pricey and the beds squeeze terribly, but the staff was helpful and friendly and place was clean and in a pretty good location.


89%

Great hostel that is practically in the heart of downtown. with some lovely staff, including Steff who did a lot of my day trips, she was really assertive and knew the areas well, and easy to talk to about anything really. The place was pretty clean as well, like seriously the staff loved (probably didn't) to do the bathrooms a lot, and have their weekly cleaning bonanza around the hostel as well. breakfast is good, but if your a gluten free girl like myself probably best to get your own.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Central location, walking distance to basically everywhere. It is an older building so rooms got hot, they provide fans in the rooms to compensate. Breakfast was provided (not every hostel does this) but it was fairly basic. Staff were always really approachable.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a very very good hostel. Has a great atmosphere as there is a bar in the bottom. comes with free breakfast and nice staff. only problem: beds are squeky

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I really like my stay at the SameSun Backpacker lodge! The staff was really nice and the atmosphere was great! The rooms are clean also the washrooms! Also when u need help to get somewhere they always help u out or they have a paper with the diraction directions! The only thing what I didn't like was the beds in my room were super noisy!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback