X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver Reviews

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1740 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

first experience at the hostels, lots of people to interact with. Kitchen is rather a bit small, the lounge is great. Bathroom is clean and hot water works. Internet is down most of the time (i'm on the third level) so I had to go down and use it in the lounge. Location is great, right on Granville which is the main st. no parking tho, if you have a car, there's a parking right around the corner on nester's 17.00 /night with security which i would gladly take over the comfort inn parking 33$

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent Hostel. Great location (right downtown, surrounded by bars, clubs, and just a couple of blocks from the air train). Room, bathrooms and common area were clean. Would definitely stay here again!


89%

This backpacker was the best place to start my 1-year Working Holiday in Canada. I met a lot of nice and friendly people there, including very helpful and nice staff! Since Samesun is situated right in downtown, all shops, banks, offices and means of public transport are within short walking distance. I also have to praise free breakfast every morning, good internet connection. Moreover, if you feel like having a drink in the evening or making a couple of new friends, this is the best choice


100%

Great location, bar and very helpful staff. The bedding was comfortable and no concerns at all from me


74%

Wifi didn't work in the rooms, however overall a good place to stay while in Vancouver. The pizza place next door is amazing!


91%

Staff were super helpful & friendly. As a 54 year old Aunty travelling with my nephew I could not have been happier with the acceptance by the young crew of my staying there. We had a private room with shared facilities that were kept clean. People respected the requests for quiet after certain times etc... I would recomend this hostel for value, convenience and friendly service.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I had an incredible stay in this Hostel. I would 100% recommend it! I stayed in a private double room for two nights and a coed 8 bunk room for another two nights. Both rooms were great (the dorm had lockers) and the facilities were all clean and functional. I will definitely be staying again!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Samesun was a great hostel. It was in a convenient location to major Vancouver attractions. The front desk staff were always friendly and willing to offer advice or provide directions. There were activities organised for most days and nights, days exploring Vancouver and nights in the hostel bar. The bar on site was great, and it provided an easy way for solo travellers to meet people, with daily events and $4.50 meal specials. Security was good and I felt safe and comfortable my whole stay.


100%

Really great hostel with a great location. Facilities on site include a superb bar with a great selection of craft beers and good food - both for taste and those on a budget. Rooms have lockers and individual lamps. Would definitely recommend it!


86%

Good location and nice staff. It's quite at night which is over expectation. Will come back.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I wasn't a fan of the bar staff too much. Aside from that I love this place. This past trip was my second time staying.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location in Granville Street, within walking distance of everything. Theres a lot of pubs and clubs and great places to eat right beside it. Very clean, both the bedrooms and the bathrooms.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything excellent!


83%

The hostel was clean and I felt safe staying there. The staff were amazing. They were extremely helpful.


80%

Great place if you're looking for a central stay in Vancouver! The location is great as they are directly on Granville, so easy access from the Skytrain. The staff is very friendly and includes a few locals, which is fantastic as they know where to go eat, what to do, etc. The guests were very respectful of the quiet time, so it was very easy to go to sleep. The Beaver is awesome. Cheap food, but still very tasty. I loved that they seat you with random people so that you have a chance to meet!


86%

Toilets need monitoring because so few for so many people they're going to end up disgusting. This was the case a number of days during my stay. However reception staff, daily activities and facilities (inc TV room with Netflix) help make this place awesome. Extra special kudos to Florence, Stephanie and the fit guy on the front desk.


80%

It's a good hostel with nice atmosphere !!


86%

Really friendly staff, perfect spot in the city, near the best club ever: THE ROXY!!

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel for little money!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location, bar on the bottom floor, large common room for socialising, big kitchen. The hostel has activities planned everyday, as well as a meal offer and a drink offer in the bar downstairs. There is also a number of cheap eateries seconds from the hostel where you can pic up a meal for like $6.. can't argue with that. Location was great with bars on the doorstep, though if you have a room at the front this can be a little too noisy for some people though. All in all great hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(71 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback