X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

SameSun Backpacker Lodge - Vancouver Reviews

1018 Granville St, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1991 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

One of the best I've been to. The location is perfect and easy to get to from the airport. The staff was very helpful and nice. Great vibe and bar. Breakfast was great and plenty (but ends early). The washrooms can get kinda crowded, early in the morning and around 6/7 pm, but its ok. The rooms are great, could use a chair though. Its safe, but everyone ends up opening the front door to anyone. Lockers and towels are small. Quite time works.


97%

Really loved this hostel. Rooms were great and the inclusive breakfast was good too. Common area and kitchen were big. Hostel ran free or cheap day trips everyday which were good. Only down points were bathrooms could get busy at times (more sinks would be handier) and at night there was noise from the street, but in my opinion it's the compromise you make for being in downtown Vancouver. I would definitely stay there again.


71%

Pretty nice hostel to meet people. Bathroom facilities need an upgrade. Beds are average. Bar is a lot of fun


100%

Helpful, friendly staff. Good location. a fan on each bed, which was nice. Good food in the restaurant. Fun watching the World Cup.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

would definitely recommend. Ideal for backpackers and even though there is a lovely bar downstairs, the dorms are quiet and you can get an early night easily if you want.


97%

Great hostel! Good facilities and super clean. The atmosphere in the common room isn't great due to people excessively using the wifi to look for jobs/apartments. However, the bar downstairs has a good vibe and the free trips they run from the hostel everyday are a great way to meet people and see the city. Stephanie is fantastic at running the trips and is really friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here as a single traveler.


100%

Had an amazing time at samesun the crew in the bar were great and the location is perfect for going out! Will be back 4sure!


43%

Apart from the location the SameSun was a terrible hostel. Would recommend travellers to head up to whistler or Banff if they have enough time as the hostels and attmosphere are significantly better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I wish you had told us a bit more as to why you didn't like us but I will shoot you an email to follow up. It sounds to me like you like the smaller hostels better, as Whistler (2 hours away) and Banff (11 hours away) are much smaller cities. Hope you enjoyed all the scenery on the way to both of those places! Cheers Pete

83%

Good location and great staff who are friendly and willing to help. Great hostel for anyone looking for an accessible place and not too fussy with the dorms.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

overall a great experience. It's a little pricey and the beds squeeze terribly, but the staff was helpful and friendly and place was clean and in a pretty good location.


89%

Great hostel that is practically in the heart of downtown. with some lovely staff, including Steff who did a lot of my day trips, she was really assertive and knew the areas well, and easy to talk to about anything really. The place was pretty clean as well, like seriously the staff loved (probably didn't) to do the bathrooms a lot, and have their weekly cleaning bonanza around the hostel as well. breakfast is good, but if your a gluten free girl like myself probably best to get your own.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Central location, walking distance to basically everywhere. It is an older building so rooms got hot, they provide fans in the rooms to compensate. Breakfast was provided (not every hostel does this) but it was fairly basic. Staff were always really approachable.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a very very good hostel. Has a great atmosphere as there is a bar in the bottom. comes with free breakfast and nice staff. only problem: beds are squeky

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I really like my stay at the SameSun Backpacker lodge! The staff was really nice and the atmosphere was great! The rooms are clean also the washrooms! Also when u need help to get somewhere they always help u out or they have a paper with the diraction directions! The only thing what I didn't like was the beds in my room were super noisy!


83%

Pretty good hostel. The security is good, the staff are approachable, it's cleaned often, wifi was decent (the best I've seen in a large/busy hostel like this). It's pretty social, so if you're a solo traveller you'll be fine here. Each bed has an individual fan and shelf. Main complaint would be the squeaky beds and the rooms being quite stuffy even though it was cool outside.


97%

Location is perfect, room are comfortable, but the bunkbed are a little bit noisy while people were moving during their sleep. I was on the 1st floor and the room was quiet (not that much noise from the outside, even if it is downtown during Canada Day weekend !) The Staff and the breakfast is also perfect ! Had a little bit trouble with the shower because the water was spilling on the walls instead of me and it take a long time to have hot water even outside busy hours !


60%

Hostel good tho they force you to sit when you go to the bar for a drink. If you have a room by the street you get to hear the crazy nightlife all night long.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your feedback. We don't have a bar license, so that is why you aren't able to stand anywhere, just a legal issue. Plus, sitting is easier on the legs. =P Cheers Pete

91%

I spent four days here, but I could have easily enjoyed a few weeks here. Vancouver is beautiful, and there's no better place to see it from! Go to Deep Cove and kayak!


74%

This hostel was in a really good location right in the city centre. 6 bed rooms were too cramped


86%

Nice place to stay for several days. There is a lot of accommodations and things to do around.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(131 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback