Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samesun Banff

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 940 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
5.4

Very noisy, party hostel. I requested to leave a night early due to the noise and the staff understood my request and were very accommodating in this matter. I did not sleep well, due to doors banging, music, shouting and drunken behaviour and it seemed there was no quiet time enforced. The kitchen and common area were a full on party zone even at 11pm. Not suitable for guests trying to get their 8 hours of sleep but great place to party if that's what you are into.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us some feedback. Apologies you experienced a few noisy nights here - I’ll definitely pass this onto our night desk manager. Glad to hear the front desk staff were there to help with a refund for you. For those of you reading, we host a range of free/cheap activities during the day and in our bar at night to encourage like minded travelers to meet. Our common areas (the kitchen, common room and Beaver Bar) are always filled with guests who have made groups of new friends and sometimes these areas can be quiet lively. We do have staff on 24 hours a day to enforce quiet hours from 11pm - 7am, and we encourage anyone who is having issues with noise to come and see us at the front desk. We also offer free earplugs for those light sleepers. We hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park. Hannah and the Samesun team.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.6

Great location and great atmosphere. Staff isn't very friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear you didn't have a positive experience with some of our staff. We are all travelers who love living in Banff and love what we do, so this is a surprise. I'll make sure to pass your feedback onto our front desk manager. We hope you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park. Hannah and the Samesun team.

8th May 2017
10.0

Such a great place! The location is perfect and the room was excellent. I stayed in the 6-bed female dorm and the room was spacious and clean. I would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Had an amazing stay! Amazing, friendly staff and met a lot of great guests while staying here. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That's what we are all about! Thanks for the awesome review. Safe travels. Hannah and the Samesun team.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.9

I had a great experience staying at the samesun banff! Stayed for 5 nights, and could have stayed longer. Rooms are very nice and comfy, the bar is very good and easy to meet people, and the free breakfast is great. Only downside is the lack of bathrooms and showers. Some mornings I waited an hour to shower. But a small prize to pay for living at such a great and sociable hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere and found it easy to meet new people! For those of you reading, each of our dorm rooms have their own bathroom. We also have an additional washroom on level two and two toilets on the ground floor for guests to use. We hope you enjoyed your time in Banff and hope to see you again in the future! Hannah and the Samesun team.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location, awesome bar with happy hours and tasty food (get the fish tacos) The bar staff are really friendly. Probably the most comfortable mattress I've slept on in a long time. Cosy rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.4

Firs time staying at a samesun hostel and greatly enjoyed my stay! Beds were comfy and staff were friendly and helpful. The beaver bar downstairs had decent food for its pricepoint. Activities everyday, Would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review! We hope to see you again in the future. Safe travels. Hannah and the Samesun team.

18th Apr 2017
10.0

Really great hostel! Close to town and only a short walk of about 8 minutes to town center. Met lots of people in the bar, staff was super friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean. Food from the bar was reasonably priced for huge portions and really tasty. Awesome drink specials. There is a good sized storage for skis and boards, which was great. Will definitely come back! Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Pricey but it is Banff. Rooms were very clean and each bed had multiple outlets which was good, great big breakfast, and prime location right on Banff ave. Plenty of daily activities so good for travelers who want to meet people. Bathrooms could use a reno but other than that would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
10.0

SAMSUNG was a really good hostel, nice staff and provides a pro active happy enviroment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.