X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Hollywood Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
166 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Excellent location but the place is way too hot and humid.


71%

This was a nice place to stay for a few nights. Lovely helpful and friendly people. Can get a bit noisy as it is on such a busy street but really an amazing location. Bring your own lock for using the lockers (if needed). Helpful staff.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Well done, well run! International travel, and felt very at home.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel but no air conditioning! Rooms too warm.


94%

that was the best hostel i stayed in on my US trip! they should just put some rules for cleanliness and they would be awesome!


91%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in the coolest and most friendly staff, amazing location, could not have asked for anything better!

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

This hostel is ok for one or two nights, I wouldn't recommend staying longer. There are lockers in the rooms, however there is minimal security. One staff member who runs the trip seems to leer over the drunk girls and offers them rides with his"cousin". He also has a fake British accent, which as a British person is very entertaining. Really good location and the girls bathrooms are clean (shower pressure is great).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will contact you directly regarding your interactions with the staff to better address the situation, as positive customer service is very important to us and making sure we provide a pleasant stay to all our guests. Glad that you enjoyed the facilities the hostel has to offer, along with Hollywood. Please look out for our email shortly. Cheers and safe travels, Tahj General Manager

71%

Disgusted with the fact a couple who can easily share a bed are made purchase two bed without ever and intension to sleep separately! Breakfast, although free, was a embarrassing

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Dorm bed prices are always per person at hostels as stated when you book though Hostelworld as well. We do offer private rooms, which allows a maximum of 2 people per night. Currently our breakfast serves bread, muffins, bagels, orange juice, milk, coffee and tea. I hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

69%

Good. Friendly staff, free wifi connection, and location is really convenient!


100%

I stayed at Samesun hostel last week and i think it was my best stop through out all my vacation it was a great hostel , great location and especially very lovely and helpful staff , big thanks for ibrahim for making things a lot easier and simpler for everyone .

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an amazing stay. The hostel was my refuge from the craziness of the streets outside and served as a much loved hub for my stay in LA. Thanks to all the team for the great breakfasts and always being ready to offer advice, which went above and beyond what is expected.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

To put it simple DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Rooms are messy and smelly. Staff are useless is of the absolute minimum. Items got stolen. After around the USA for three this is by far the worst hostel iv stayed in.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Your feedback is very important to us here at Samesun. Housekeeping cleans all rooms on a daily basis, and we ask that if a particular guests has made a mess, to please contact the front desk. We currently have a lost and found storage to hold an items left in rooms after guests have checked out. Feel free to contact us here at the hostel to see if we can retrieve your item. I do hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

29%

Most awful experience in a hostel in the US. Staff: unfriendly and useless, didn't even get shown around they just sat behind the desk and gave us incorrect bus info. Rooms: no aircon, stuffy, very very smelly and dirty, thin windows make them very noisey due to location. Breakfast: about 10 plates for the whole hostel and big queues. Toilets: very dirty and disgusting. Common room: small for the amount of people staying. Can't stress enough not to stay here. I cancelled my 3rd night DO NOT STAY

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Here at Samesun we pride ourselves on customer service and I will be following up with my staff regarding this issue. To avoid the heat, ceiling fans are installed in all dorm rooms in the hostel. Since your stay we have added extra equipment to ensure all enjoy breakfast. I do hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

91%

Location is wonderful. Enjoy yourself at Hollywood!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel has best mattres, no joke, I've ever slept on. I mean for a hostel, my matress was excellent. (Not thin)


66%

Overall is was a good stay. The shower was blocked and filled up with water but the bathrooms were fairly well maintained otherwise. Great location in you want to be in the centre of the Hollywood craziness and close enough to Runyon Canyon to get away from it all and go hiking. I think you should make it clear tax is added to the room rates, not included at the booking stage.


83%

Good and fast checking in and out.


31%

It was like been at jail. The room was dirty, noisy, without proper ventilation. The place smells as if cleanliness and hygiene are not priorities. The neighborhood might look good on TV but in real life it shows racism, violence, and feels unsafe all the time. Absolutely non existing value for the money paid. Never again. Not recommended if you are looking for a place to relax and have a good time.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. To help with ventilation of the hostel, ceiling fans have been installed in every room, and common room. Housekeepers enter all the rooms to clean beds and check for left over trash from previous guests. Our 24 hour front desk agents do not allow entry to any unregistered guests, and ask all guests show their key upon entry. Los Angeles is known for it's diverse groups of people, and it's beautiful weather. Hope to see you again at Samesun Hollywood. Cheers, Tahj GM

60%

Unfortunately this hostel wasn't the best, not very clean. Great location though.


80%

Nice place, specifically for the location! I recommend host here, absolutely. :)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback