X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Hollywood Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
111 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice place, specifically for the location! I recommend host here, absolutely. :)

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Stayed here having lived the Venice location. Staff weren't as friendly, all of the fire escape doors were open all night, seemed like it would be easy for someone to break in


54%

The hostel is old, and in general it smells bad. The bathrooms were not clean enough, and I think that the facilities are quite old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. As posted on our website, we are going through renovations to help improve the guests experience here at the hostel, including in the men’s and women’s bathrooms. As of now, bathrooms are cleaned throughout the day by our housekeeping staff. All guests are encouraged to come to our 24 hour desk agents with regards to any areas that may need attention. I hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future, safe travels. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

83%

Loved staying here, the staff were amazingly helpful, really great vibe and lovely rooms too! Defiantly reccomend!


69%

It was ok but to loud and toilets were not that good but wasnt that bad and location was good!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I really enjoyed staying at the Samesun Hollywood. Free pool table, free breakfast, great location, staff was lovely. It was under reservation while I was there in the summer (July 2015) but it was still a delight, not really a disturbances. it will be awesome place to stay when the reservations are complete. Thanks Samesun Hollywood


74%

More outlets in each room would have been really nice!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

okay rooms and common areas, nothing to complain about but nothing out of the ordinary. Perfect location in hollywood. Nice and helpful deskpeople.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

women's bathroom-curtain was what separated the construction workers and the woman's bathroom?workers could see in-male staff member came into women's bathroom to change paper. did not call out &wait for women who were in shower naked-to call out&say it was ok to come inside. he just said"i'm coming in" &entered.i went down stairs to tell people at front desk-they had excuse that there wasn't a woman to do it &yet there was one at desk when i went to tell them?

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a nice place and great location, but you guys need to think about changing the breakfast, not same food every morning, thank you

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Very noisy area and it may be difficult to sleep at times. clean and secure hostel.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place, great people, great location...

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very well priced, perfect location.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is good. However, there is no air conditioner inside the room which makes sleeping extremely difficult in this hot summer.


100%

Cool hostel, right in the middle of all the Hollywood action. I liked the common room with the free pool table.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This is your typical samesun hostel, maybe even a bit better! They run really good communal things like hikes and taco nights which were good. Clean too. Great location!!!


51%

It was my nightmare staying there. Especially,the shower time!! No door for the shower room, just some sheets and didn't even have any hanger for hanging my stuff. Terrible blanket / dusty bed. Won't go back again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I would like to thank you for your feedback. As posted on our website, we are undergoing renovations to this building, in order to help provide our guests with the best experience possible, which includes our bathrooms. Housekeeping is on staff from 6:30am-5:00pm, and from 9pm-4am. We encourage all guests if there is any issue with their stay or room, to please refer to our 24 hour front desk staff. I hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood, and safe travels. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

74%

Common room was great, rooms weren't great, my 4 person dorm only had one power point in it, it was also very hot in the room as well


34%

This place is so dirty, they never Clean up the toilets. Very very hostel

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I would like to thank you for your feedback. Housekeepers are on staff between the hours of 6:30am-4:00pm in which the kitchen, lounge, and bathrooms are cleaned daily. We encourage our guests to please alert our 24 hour desk staff of any issues that need to be addressed. I do hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

77%

I loved the staff who did the tours, however front desk people weren't really fussed about guests. Also, the wifi is painfully slow! Besides this, the hostel was great! The tours were great and the location is amazing! Would 100% visit again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback