X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Hollywood Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
89 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Everything was perfect, spacious room convenient location But I don't know why they arranged a man to live in a female only room on the last night of my stay


91%

Great location, super friendly staff.


80%

The Location is just amazing right on Hollywood blvd ... Nothing else to say


51%

The room floor and the shower were dirty. Lots of hair clog the shower. Not a lot of space in the shower to put your clothes, only one bench to share with other people. The breakfast were disappointing. There were no paper towel and bread left, I had to ask the staff.


89%

Location, Location, Location! Same sun is fantastically situated while it also boasts a very chilled out vibe and laid back staff. A grunge look echoed throughout the property, cleanliness ticked all the boxes, while the room was simple and pleasing.The common room / hang out space was really good. A modest free breakfast was offered (white bread, oranges & coffee) & tea available round the clock. The main thing that could be improved on would be staff more recommendations & maps from staff

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, wifi in all th areas would let the common area be more social or doors for th common room so pool can be played longer would be fun! Apart from that great hostel. Everything very new and clean and perfect location

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, I was arranged into a staff' room when I checked in, then later the reception changed the room for me. When they gave me a new room, they gave me the wrong key, they changed, then again the wrong key, the third time, the staff went to try another key with me, but didn't work. Up to my checking out, I didn't have a key with me. The breakfast ended up very early, 9:00am, when I arrive in the kitchen on 8:55, nothing left. We wait for one hour, crazy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Free breakfast is offered to all guests from the hours of 7:00 am-9:00 am. Customer service is very important here at Samesun, and staff members try to accommodate guests as much as possible. Since this incident, check ins have been altered to ensure there are no hiccups during a guest arrival. I do hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future, and safe travels to you. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

51%

Very bad hostel. Very dirty and noisy

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location at Hollywood. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staffs are helpful. This would be a good choice if you're planning to stay in a hostel at Hollywood.


86%

Nice hostel in a cool location

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Amazing location. It's situated directly on the Hollywood blvd. it's easy to reach the most important places with public transportation. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was amazing because of a busy lounge. Had a great time.


49%

Very noisy even during quite hours and I am not talking about the noise of the street but some music coming from the lounge. No one came to take our trash for 3 days. Bathrooms were not disgusting but very uncomfortable to use because the showers only had curtains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Here we have housekeepers on staff from 7am-3pm, 7 days a week, as well as staff who enforce quiet hours from 11pm-7am. If you ever need assistance regarding noise in the hostel, please see the front desk, they will gladly help you out. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

86%

Samesun is the best location for you if you're looking for a place in Hollywood. It's close to the Metro station and the famous Walk of Fame is just on your doorstep, so all major Hollywood attractions are within walking distance. I was staying in a spacious 6 bed dorm and there wasn't one single time I was queuing neither for a bathroom nor a shower. The staff at reception is helpful, you've got a basic breakfast and it's a good place to meet people - what else do you need?

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I think breakfast should be better, it would be nice to have more of a selection. Not just bread and butter! There's a lot of people staying there who are hungry and at most time in a budget. The portions provided to residents isn't sufficient.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Carlos was super helpful!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Overall negative experience. The hostel wasn't clean at all, the rooms were incredibly hot and the beds were falling apart. There is a club nearby so if you can fall asleep with music shaking the floors, you'll be fine. On top of that, there were wet boxers in my bed, so I can imagine the bed wasn't changed. Don't stay here!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us feedback regarding our hostel. Cleaners are on staff from 7am-9pm cleaning hallways, bathrooms, as well as every room in the hostel. During this time guests are checking in and out of rooms. Not all travelers are as clean as we would hope unfortunately. As far as noise, Hollywood Blvd. is full of life during the weekend, which may cause for a little extra activity throughout the night. Hopefully you return to the hostel in future months. Tahj General Manager

89%

The hostel personally to me was great, amazing location right in the middle of Hollywood, I could see the Hollywood stars from my room. Also it had a real hostel vibe to it, but my friends would've preferred it a tad more modern but I liked it. It's kinda of a younger crowd hostel


94%

Great hostel located in the center of Hollywood area. Always clean, not much noise, i really enjoyed my stay


71%

Has potential to be a great hostel soon, give it a month whilst they transition ownership, complete renovation/decoration and embed a activity program...sure it will be no. 1 in LA. Amazing location right opposite Chinese cinema/walk of fame/Hollywood blvd/ hollywood&highland metro stop


71%

Great location Fairly clean common areas, very clean bathrooms Some staff were friendly although most were in their 'click' No actives No vibe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. As of right now, an Activities program has been installed into the hostel with group events ranging from Runyon Canyon Hikes to Club Crawls. This should help encourage guest to come together for an entertaining night in Hollywood. Hopefully you return and take advantage of the hostel activities offered. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

(47 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback