X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Hollywood Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
112 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Poor atmosphere. Too noisy. Staff is not cool.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Sick location and loads of fun. Two thumbs up


100%

Wicked location. Everything I wanted to see was in walking distance. All around great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at the hostel. I hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Tahj General Manager

89%

Great location right in the heart of Hollywood perfect if you want to see the sights and be able to walk everywhere. Staff were great although can be noisy at times but this is expected due to location. Would definitely stay here again.


89%

Amazing location and big rooms. Very clean, breakfast very basic, would stay here again.


60%

The staff didn't seem readily willing to help you out, nor did they seem to do a lot. Many of them sat around during the day in the living room and weren't too friendly when I did try to approach them. A friend and I went downstairs to have a cigarette and his phone was stolen within 5 minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I would like to thank you for your feedback. Here we have desk staff on the clock 24 hours a day that are willing to help guests with any inquiries about activities, transportation, or future accommodation. As of now, we haven’t had any phones show up to the front desk, but we will keep an eye out for your lost item. I hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

94%

Awesome and nice staffs. Great location. Very good atmosphere! Its hard to find any better hostel in Downtown Hollywood. The only WTF experience is that there are only one outlet hidden behind the bed on wall with two plugs in my room where four people share. Just put aside that, its pretty good experience living there. Lastly, it will be better if there is cereal in breakfast as its quite plain to only have toasts


91%

Comfy beds and great location. Free pool table was a bonus & fun to play our own music in the common areas. The free breakfast was pretty basic with toast, fruit and tea and coffee. Really enjoyed the hike up Runyon Canyon with Aaron :) Convenient, clean and safe.


83%

Everything was perfect, spacious room convenient location But I don't know why they arranged a man to live in a female only room on the last night of my stay


91%

Great location, super friendly staff.


80%

The Location is just amazing right on Hollywood blvd ... Nothing else to say


51%

The room floor and the shower were dirty. Lots of hair clog the shower. Not a lot of space in the shower to put your clothes, only one bench to share with other people. The breakfast were disappointing. There were no paper towel and bread left, I had to ask the staff.


89%

Location, Location, Location! Same sun is fantastically situated while it also boasts a very chilled out vibe and laid back staff. A grunge look echoed throughout the property, cleanliness ticked all the boxes, while the room was simple and pleasing.The common room / hang out space was really good. A modest free breakfast was offered (white bread, oranges & coffee) & tea available round the clock. The main thing that could be improved on would be staff more recommendations & maps from staff

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, wifi in all th areas would let the common area be more social or doors for th common room so pool can be played longer would be fun! Apart from that great hostel. Everything very new and clean and perfect location

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed, I was arranged into a staff' room when I checked in, then later the reception changed the room for me. When they gave me a new room, they gave me the wrong key, they changed, then again the wrong key, the third time, the staff went to try another key with me, but didn't work. Up to my checking out, I didn't have a key with me. The breakfast ended up very early, 9:00am, when I arrive in the kitchen on 8:55, nothing left. We wait for one hour, crazy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. Free breakfast is offered to all guests from the hours of 7:00 am-9:00 am. Customer service is very important here at Samesun, and staff members try to accommodate guests as much as possible. Since this incident, check ins have been altered to ensure there are no hiccups during a guest arrival. I do hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood in the future, and safe travels to you. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

51%

Very bad hostel. Very dirty and noisy

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent location at Hollywood. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staffs are helpful. This would be a good choice if you're planning to stay in a hostel at Hollywood.


86%

Nice hostel in a cool location

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Amazing location. It's situated directly on the Hollywood blvd. it's easy to reach the most important places with public transportation. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was amazing because of a busy lounge. Had a great time.


49%

Very noisy even during quite hours and I am not talking about the noise of the street but some music coming from the lounge. No one came to take our trash for 3 days. Bathrooms were not disgusting but very uncomfortable to use because the showers only had curtains.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Here we have housekeepers on staff from 7am-3pm, 7 days a week, as well as staff who enforce quiet hours from 11pm-7am. If you ever need assistance regarding noise in the hostel, please see the front desk, they will gladly help you out. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

(56 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback