X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Samesun Hollywood Reviews

6820 Hollywood Blvd, Los angeles, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
35 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Location, Location, Location! Same sun is fantastically situated while it also boasts a very chilled out vibe and laid back staff. A grunge look echoed throughout the property, cleanliness ticked all the boxes, while the room was simple and pleasing.The common room / hang out space was really good. A modest free breakfast was offered (white bread, oranges & coffee) & tea available round the clock. The main thing that could be improved on would be staff more recommendations & maps from staff

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Very bad hostel. Very dirty and noisy

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

+ : en plein hollywood bvd - : la salle commune de douche ne sent pas bon car à coté des wc mais pas agréable quand on se brosse les dents x) - : mauvaise gestion des lits. Reveillé à 3h du matin pour regler la situation d'un staff qui avait placé 7 personnes dans une chambre de 6... - : wifi disponible uniquement dans la salle commune à moins que ma chambre soit à coté - : si la chambre est à coté de la salle commune, le voume de la musique est assez forte même après minuit


83%

Amazing location. It's situated directly on the Hollywood blvd. it's easy to reach the most important places with public transportation. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was amazing because of a busy lounge. Had a great time.


49%

Very noisy even during quite hours and I am not talking about the noise of the street but some music coming from the lounge. No one came to take our trash for 3 days. Bathrooms were not disgusting but very uncomfortable to use because the showers only had curtains.


89%

Tolle Lage, super Preis und top Service. Wir waren lediglich enttäuscht das wir trotz frühzeitiger Buchung kein Zimmer zusammen bekommen hatten, aber auch das hat das nette Personal am zweiten Tag ändern können. Aber am Frühstück könnt ihr noch arbeiten, nur Marmelade kann auf Dauer langweilig werden 😉

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Samesun is the best location for you if you're looking for a place in Hollywood. It's close to the Metro station and the famous Walk of Fame is just on your doorstep, so all major Hollywood attractions are within walking distance. I was staying in a spacious 6 bed dorm and there wasn't one single time I was queuing neither for a bathroom nor a shower. The staff at reception is helpful, you've got a basic breakfast and it's a good place to meet people - what else do you need?

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I think breakfast should be better, it would be nice to have more of a selection. Not just bread and butter! There's a lot of people staying there who are hungry and at most time in a budget. The portions provided to residents isn't sufficient.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Carlos was super helpful!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location. Slow wifi.


43%

Overall negative experience. The hostel wasn't clean at all, the rooms were incredibly hot and the beds were falling apart. There is a club nearby so if you can fall asleep with music shaking the floors, you'll be fine. On top of that, there were wet boxers in my bed, so I can imagine the bed wasn't changed. Don't stay here!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us feedback regarding our hostel. Cleaners are on staff from 7am-9pm cleaning hallways, bathrooms, as well as every room in the hostel. During this time guests are checking in and out of rooms. Not all travelers are as clean as we would hope unfortunately. As far as noise, Hollywood Blvd. is full of life during the weekend, which may cause for a little extra activity throughout the night. Hopefully you return to the hostel in future months. Tahj General Manager

89%

The hostel personally to me was great, amazing location right in the middle of Hollywood, I could see the Hollywood stars from my room. Also it had a real hostel vibe to it, but my friends would've preferred it a tad more modern but I liked it. It's kinda of a younger crowd hostel


71%

Has potential to be a great hostel soon, give it a month whilst they transition ownership, complete renovation/decoration and embed a activity program...sure it will be no. 1 in LA. Amazing location right opposite Chinese cinema/walk of fame/Hollywood blvd/ hollywood&highland metro stop


71%

Great location Fairly clean common areas, very clean bathrooms Some staff were friendly although most were in their 'click' No actives No vibe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback. As of right now, an Activities program has been installed into the hostel with group events ranging from Runyon Canyon Hikes to Club Crawls. This should help encourage guest to come together for an entertaining night in Hollywood. Hopefully you return and take advantage of the hostel activities offered. Cheers, Tahj General Manager

80%

The hostel is located in the centre of the Hollywood right across the metro station, the door to the hostel is very small therefore look carefully. The staff was okay, they know their job. I never get an opportunity to eat their breakfast, heard there were a lot of dramas about pancake that day. There are a lot of room in this hostel so probably get a room for your self in a 6 bed room. I will go back there again.


83%

This is in the hollywood! I think this hostel need activity Kind staff, however, no parking lots

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is lot parking behind the hostel where guest can park overnight for a small fee. Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. An activities program is being installed into the hostel at the moment. Hope to see you return to Samesun Hollywood, and join the other guest on one of our hostel activities. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

86%

Gonna come back! A clean hostel with all things you need! Best location !!n(maybe too noisy for some people though) There are some things still can be improved! 1.no bins in the room 2.the bathroom is not private enough ( I saw a guy in the ladies' room this morning!) 3.the kitchen is not big enough

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. We are currently in the middle of renovations to make this place the best hostel in Hollywood, which includes putting new full size lockers in the rooms. We are looking into the bathroom incident as it could have been just an issue with signage. We look forward to seeing you again here at Samesun Hollywood. Cheers, Tahj

100%

The hostel has the best location, with the best people working there. The beds are really comfortable and it was nice to meet amazing hostel guests. It was really great to stay there, I ll definitely come back.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an amazing time at Samesun Hostel Hollywood blvd. The Staff is very nice, Met a lot of backpackers And the Rooms are clean. I'd stay there every time Again!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing location with awesome staff! Everyone was super friendly, met some really cool people there! I wish my stay would've been longer than just one night! I can 100% recommend the Samesun Hollywood!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you had a great time here at Samesun Hollywood, and hope to see you in the near future. Sincerely, Tahj General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback