Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samesun Vancouver

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Samesun Vancouver Located at 1018 Granville St, , Vancouver.
Samesun Vancouver
Canada
Vancouver BC V6Z 1L5 1018 Granville St
87% 3498
49.2789066 -123.1231570
Samesun Vancouver
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Scores well in my book! I was just stopping through for 1 night between a flight and bus trip, found it to be in a great location between the two and a great location in general (lots of bars, clubs, restaurants in the area). Facilities and staff were very good. Pluses: electronic key cards, pool table, a tasty breakfast and a bar downstairs. The bottom bunk earned a lot of points, one of the more comfortable mattresses I've encountered on the road for awhile and a clean, warm comforter.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
5.7

My wife & I stayed here. We both have traveled the world & have stayed in many different hostels. This experience was horrible. The facility was disgustingly dirty. There were hairs and pubic hairs all of the bottom of the shower and the shower walls. The entire room was coated in dust. The housekeeper announced their arrival to clean the bathroom across the hall entirely too loudly around 0600am waking us up after a not so restful night. The hostel was extremely loud all night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for staying with us. As you were arriving early and asked if there was a room ready for you, we did send staff and housekeeping in to check on your room before you arrived, so apologies if it was not up to your standards. We have checked the room since your stay and have not seen any dust or hairs. Hopefully you continue to stay in hostels on your future travels. Cheers, Pete

26th Nov 2016
6.9

The breakfast was great! The bathrooms need a serious upgrade!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the feedback. We actually began our bathroom renovations two days ago. We are only doing one at a time so as to not disrupt our guests too much. Thanks for your patience while we work on this project and I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Cheers, Pete

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Great place in a great location. It was pretty clean for a hostel of this size. It was slightly difficult to sleep as the walls are thin, but the hostel activities were great. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere! Staff was very

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Great location and nice enough hostel. The beaver is a great place the meet people. Food specials are good but spirits in happy hour are a rip off, don't expect more than a quarter shot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • richsoul442093
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.3

Overall a very cool spot right in the Center of Vancouver. Lots of activities and an awesome mix of real hostel folk. On the bad side there are only 1 room with washrooms and showers on each floor (with sth like 30 rooms) with only 3 shower cabins. Not to mention that the facilities are very old and could def use renovations.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Nov 2016
9.7

Comfy as beds, brilliant compared to other hostels I've been in. Bar is good to meet people. Great cheap restaurant across the road with better food than the hostel bar. Pretty happy all up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.3

As far as hostel living goes, its fine for a few days to a week, Our room (8 Room) was extremely dark and smelly ( this could have been a guest ;-/ ) with only 1 little window that was broken. Showers and bathroom were clean. Staff weren't overly cheery or helpful in reception but bar staff were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.3

Even though the hostel seems a bit filthy (it smells funny, the bathrooms are dirty and the bedrooms doesn't really look comfortable) it is a really nice place to stay to explore Vancouver and to get to know new people. The location is perfect, they have free breakfast (the bagels and muffins are awesome!!) and fast wifi, and the best part is that they offer many guided tours. Also, you can book tours with the moose bus right at the Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.