Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samesun Vancouver

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3814 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.6

If it's your first time booking a hostel, you won't be disappointed. I was a little scared at first but the staff was great and so were the people that were staying there. I already recommended it to my friends! Plus, there's free breakfast and cute guys . Can't go wrong with that !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
16th May 2017
8.3

The window in the girls' dorm doesn't close properly,big gaps all around the edge. Hope they fix it before winter! Otherwise it was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2017
7.4

Samesun is very busy, so note that before booking your stay, guess there stay ~250 people? The room (nr300) vvery pretty small for 4 people, and there was no option to open a window (except to open it to the hallway, not a real outside) so it was sweaty in there. Breakfast was AMAZING. Lots of activities organised

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2017
9.7

Wonderful experience at the Samesun! Staff are very friendly and helpful and I love that there are daily activities to join run through the hostel. Great location, would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
4.9

Staff was hit or miss. They can be friendly or just ignore you depending on who you get. Building seems worn down, smells like wet carpet. Construction still going on for the restrooms. Rooms are tiny to the point people's stuff is overlapping someone else's. Room had a fan that didn't work, lockers also tiny. Noise level was wayyyyyy too high and staff didn't seem to care. Sadly this hostel was no where near as advertised.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello We always train our desk staff to acknowledge guests who are waiting in the lobby even if they are busy with another guest. I will follow up with all of them to ensure that this does not happen in the future. We did upgrade you for free to a 4 bed dorm, I'm sorry to hear that you felt the room was still too small. The lockers in the rooms are meant for small valuables like laptops, passports and other things of this nature. We do our best to enforce the quiet hours in the evenings, and we always encourage guests to let us know what they thought of their experience during their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Cheers,

11th May 2017
7.7

The rooms were decent but the bathrooms were under construction. The finished bathrooms were very nice but they were pretty crowded while the others were being redone. The common space seemed pretty crowded at all times and the group activities are a great way to meet people and see Vancouver.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.6

Excellent location and very friendly staff. The building is a little old, but everything works well (currently undergoing renovations too, so will soon be improved) Wifi is strong, especially for a hostel. Their daily activities are great to see Vancouver and meet new people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
6.0

Great location & good place to meet other people if travelling solo. Prices are extortionate.. booked sat & sun night at a cost of 114 CAD!! I asked why it was so expensive compared to when I had booked it online before to be told it was Summer season now. Funny smell in the hostel all the time and bathrooms still under construction which means you will wait for a shower etc. I did enjoy staying here & most likely would again but I will book well in advance to avoid extortionate prices.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
6.3

Good points - nice staff / good clean toilets and shower with excellent toilet roll !!! / great breakfast / safe in private rooms / Bad points - noisy at night especially in private rooms opp showers and toilets as they have ridiculous door closures that cause doors to bang loudly every time someone uses them which is not great at night ! - get better door springs or foam on door architrave/ wooden floors mean noise / rooms corridors not painted this century / OVERALL = wont stay again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
8.9

I had a great stay at the samesun Vancouver! The common room and bar was awesome and a great way to meet people! The location was in the center of everything, so you could walk to a lot of the cool sites in Vancouver. And Vancouver Warehouse with 5 dollar menu for food was right across the street, so that was awesome! Great tours from the hostel and the staff was so great and helpful. Only downside was that bathrooms were under renovation, so had to wait in line to the bathroom sometimes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.