X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Samsen Skyline Hostel Reviews

62 Samsen Road, Phranakhorn, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
95 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Main reason we loved this place was because of the rooftop terrace. We met some great people and it was a great place to have a drink before heading to Khao San Road. We were offered a private room because we are a couple which was nice. Could have been a bit cleaner in the bathrooms. There was a bad smell on the level we were on. We also felt it was a bit pricey for the quality of the hostel but we still had a great time.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I stayed in both a single room and a mixed dorm. The bed in the single room was pretty uncomfortable and there was a cockroach (but only one). The bed in the dorm was a bit better. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were always pretty gross but that's what you get with the whole open shower system in Thailand. Good location if you want to party on khao san road, it's close but not so close that you'll be up all night.


80%

My main objection is that there's no expectation by staff that guests cut down the noise after 11pm or midnight or so, no signs to that effect etc. It's pretty much a constant party in most of the common areas, and it would have been nice if there had been some expectation of respect for guests who aren't there to get as drunk as possible every night.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Samsen skyline was in a great location, not far from the khao San road and temples. The rooms were well air conditioned and the staff were very friendly. The roof top terrace was good for meeting new people too.


86%

I really enjoyed it here, friendly staff and the roof top is a great retreat to chill out on. Good distance away from khao san road and loads of street side food just outside.

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Your typical basic dorm. Clean, has wifi, about 10 minute walk from the tourist area of khao san rd. Only thing was that staff seemed to mix up things or was confused as i had extended a night but the other receptionist didnt seem to know about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Trang , Thanks for the stay . Thanks for reviews . Was a new receptionist & was the first day he working . Apology !!

60%

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was a little dirty and not cleaned in 4 days. The beds are very very hard like sleeping on wood.


66%

The bathrooms were not that clean


77%

Decent hostel in a good location. Felt secure but could do with a locker for every bed. Staff were helpful and friendly, definitely not the kind that push you to sign up for trips. Also serve decent meals to front. Would stay there again if I'm ever back in Bangkok.


89%

Excellent staff and location! I had a really nice stay here at Samsen Skyline! Would recommend it to anyone!

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Hostel is very good located, the rooms are fine. Bathrooms are a bit dirty badly equipped tho Staff is helpful, they can give you tips about Bangkok, tell you how much taxi rides cost, warn you about scams etc I would recommend it

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Christopher , Thanks for reviews & comments . See you again !!!

86%

Perfect location and great staff. Stayed here twice and would happily stay here again!


100%

Great hostel. Stayed here twice when in Bkk. Location is perfect as it's near Khao San but far enough away to be able to sleep. Staff are super helpful in finding anything and even helped negotiate a cheaper motorbike taxi for me! Also great for meeting people!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Ryan , Thank you for leaving us a great reviews & always welcome from Samsen Skyline Hostel .

94%

Great location... staff are very helpful... there is a party terrace on the roof and the dorms have A/C and are quiet. Great Thai food served on location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Mr. Gabriel O ' Fearraigh , Thanks a lot for reviews & hope to see you again !!!

100%

Excellent guesthouse with some of my favorite staff in southeast asia. The food served in the restaurant out front by the lady who works there is some of the best you will findx te rooftop has an excellent view of the city. I dont go anywhere else in bangkok,

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear , Thank You for great reviews . Always welcome from Samsen Skyline Hostel . See you again !!

91%

Very helpful , friendly staff, on the main road very easy to find, simple facilities but great aircon, comfortable bed and very friendly people. I will definately come back when I'm next in bangkok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear B . H , Thank you for the review . We really appreciate it . Always welcome to Samsen Skyline Hostel . See you again ....

97%

Stayed in Samsen skyline for roughly a week in total whilst i was waiting for my indonesian visa to come through, it has everything you need, air con in every room, free wifi, the bathrooms are so close to the rooms they are basically on suite. But the best thing about the place was the staff who were incredibly helpful. The two guys at the desk speak perfect english (a rarity in bangkok) and are able to help you get anywhere, cheaply. you can also store your bags there for 20 baht per day.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joe , Thank you for your time & reviews !!!! We so happy to know that you had great time & convenience during your stay. We would like to say thank you and happy to see you again.

83%

Great place to stay that os near Koh San Road without being stuck on Koh San Road all night. Clean, friendly, no complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kira , Thanks a lot for reviewing us . We glad to know you like hostel's location & services . See you again !!!

89%

Stayed here for a second time during a short revisit to Bangkok. As before, great staff, great location, and all-round satisfying stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear J . L , We glad to hear from you and feel happy that you had good stay at Samsen Skyline Hostel. Thanks for the review & See you next time .

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback