Hostelworld.com

Samui Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • emmawerthers
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.3

Easily my least favourite hostel of my entire three month stay in Thailand. The location isn't the best at all and the room smelt faintly of sewage. Wifi doesn't reach to the rooms, only to the common area, which is ok apart from the fact that people are allowed to smoke there, and as a non smoker who has to use the wifi for work purposes, it's not very pleasant to have to sit there whilst people blow their smoke in your face. Cheap, but stayed in much nicer places for less in Thailand.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.4

Staff were friendly. Toilets didn't smell great. Really good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lydiamadeleine
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
4.6

Booked a 6 bed moved me to a 16 bed didn't even apologise 25 min walk from chaweng beach unclean awful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • cjfoxx
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
6.3

Arrived and checked in, was told I was in another building so went there. Walked into the room and it wasn't what I booked at all, 3 ceiling fans clothes everywhere and the smell of smoke and pure damp/mould. I went downstairs and asked if I was able to check out because it was vile and the receptionist laughed. I then complained and was moved to another room which was better but still smelt of mould. Poor security no where to put big bags so slept with it on my bed which wasn't comfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • annamatildahagstrom3713
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.6

The staff is so nice and willing to help you with anything. It's close to Chaweng beach and the night market. We carried around all of our valuables, since we have heard about a lot people loosing money. The lockers on the rooms aren't trustworthy. But the hostel has a big common area, which is the only place the wi-fi works in so a lot of people meet there. They also clean the rooms everyday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kah0ri
  • Japan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
6.9

Close from beach, cheap price and staff is good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
8.3

Over all a good hostel, the rooms could be a bit cleaner and what ever you do make sure you get a room with aircon, we just had 3 fans and bloody hell does it get hot in there! Nice area downstairs where you can meet other travelers and drink before heading out! Second time staying in this hostel and the staff are so friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Sep 2016
7.4

Brilliant for the extreme budget. Wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms and barley works in the common area. Only a tiny locker to put passport and money in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
7.1

Rooms (air-conditioned) were great except the toilets had a bad stench and didn't flush well. If you're not particular about your toilets then this hostel will be totally worth your stay! Common area is nice - you get to meet loads of other people staying there. Only thing is - lockers come with hostel's own locker key and I've heard of a couple losing a huge amount of money during their stay (there is a spare locker key which is kept in the reception and easily accessible by anyone).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Sep 2016
5.1

I'm not sure whether it was the time of year or what but this hostel was dead. No atmosphere only person in my dorm of 6 beds. Extremely clean and felt safe in my room. Easy reach to the beach and food court but I left after 4 days as I was so bored. Koh samui itself is a strange place and I will not be returning. Especially not here! One couple had their wallet stolen out of their locker which by the way has a key which they give you. You can't use a padlock. Dodgey.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.