X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel Reviews

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1042 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A great Hostel. Been there multiple tomes and I have met great people there, staff and guests. Highly recommend it.

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best Hostel ever. Really chilled out atmosphere but excellent organized. The breakfast is very good. You can rent surf boards, nice chill out area, great kitchen and always everything very clean. Sometimes problems with hot water, but that was not too bad.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review!

97%

Once again OB did not disappoint! Having stayed in other areas of SD, this is by far the best..superb location, great atmosphere, excellent choice of bars (lots of local brew!) and the beach is a stone’s throw away. The hostel is superbly run and the staff are awesome - Hannah who welcomed me at check in, instantly made the place feel like home and was always happy to help throughout my stay as were the rest of the team. With more renovation work on going, I can’t wait to stop by next year!

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great comments!

91%

I've always loved that hostel and I keep going back every year ! The beds are perfect (for a hostel) and I like the fact that there's curtain. The emplacement is awesome and the employee are always smiling and do a perfect job. If you go at this hostel say Hi to Hannah at the front desk, she's the best ! The only think that I could hope for a change its the showers because they're kind of sketchy.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'll be sure to tell Hannah you said hello! New management has taken over OBI and showers are on our list of things. So hopefully when you come back again next summer, you'll be pleased. In the meantime, we are keeping them clean and the water hot.

89%

I was very happy to have found Ocean Beach Hostel and overall it was great! My one dissatisfaction was that on several nights there was a lot of noise into the late evening and early morning.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We apologize about the noise. Seems some of our guests were having too good a time and we've worked to rectify that. We're glad you had a great stay overall.

100%

Everything is perfect and crazy in OBI hostel. A great place to stay in san diego


100%

LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF MY STAY :D

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is the best!! Very laid back, staff is awesome, location couldn't be better, 5 min walk from the beach.


91%

Great Staff, nice location at the beach, very relaxed atmosphere, cheap surfboards, beachtowels... to be continued. If you want to stay at Ocean Beach, do it here!


69%

If you feel that you dont have to stay close to the beach and all the bars, stay in the hostel in Point loma instead!


86%

The only bad thing about this hostel is the cold showers with a pull cord you need to hold in order for the water to work so a cold one handed shower, apart from this minor issue it was a great place to stay!


97%

It was the third time we were here. the atmosphere is very good and very nice.Staff ( Kendra ) en the rest are friendly. We will definitely come back ;


91%

Great place. Very chilled.


94%

Best hostel have been in California! Friendly staff, meet new people, a lot of activities planned every night and close to the ocean beach!


57%

everything is very old, uncomfortable beds, dirty bathrooms, strong urine smell, old and dirty kitchen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. New management took over the hostel in September 5, right before you arrived and we have been making lots of changes to the hostel. We hope you come by next time you are in San Diego and see the differences. Happy Travels.

80%

Staff were great, location fantastic. This is a very social hostel, with plenty of spaces that facilitate meeting other travellers. Not the quietest place, and could be described as a party hostel, but a pretty chilled out one. Awesome porch for people watching.


51%

This hostel is very small and the building and facilities are very old. It is near the sea, but it is not a good location for me because there isn't many convenient stores near by.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry that you didn't find the array of shops, restaurants and bars right on the street we are on convenient. Generally guests find we have quite a selection of places to go shopping. The hostel is not extremely large but with 112 beds, it's a pretty good size, we think. And the outdoor patio space is rather large too. Unfortunately there are no really large hostels at the San Diego beaches.

94%

Great place to stay, loved the beachy vibe and helpful staff! Was a very cool place, although shower was not that warm

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was a little dirty in the common areas, the rooms were fine though. The computers didn't work, the shower was fine though. They organized a bonfire 2 times within 4days which was nice. It is located right at the beach, so nice if you are planning to be at the beach a lot.


86%

Really fun place would definitely stay there again. Great location right next to the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful and the nightly organised activities were great and social so the place is good for solo or group travellers. Clean facilities and pretty decent wifi.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback