X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel Reviews

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
956 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Good beds, friendly and helpful staff, place for your stuff under the beds. Free bbq on the beach


89%

Great hostel with helpful staff and cool location near the beach. Good atmosphere with plenty of beers to be had in the evenings

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I really enjoyed the events that they have for the tenants. They made it easy to get to know other people and truly enjoy the time spent there.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The amenities were amazing....surf and beach rental equipment, and numerous FREE "loaners", such as guitars and beach chairs. The location can't be beat, and the hostel ensures that there are activities galore.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

OBI had a very special atmosphere. Staff was welcoming and helpful and the house is like a big community (like the whole OB), you feel being part of it the minute you step in. It's not only for hard core partying, you get some sleep as well.


100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Staff welcomes you very professionally and friendly, the bathrooms are the most shiny and clean ever, the breakfast with eggs, peanut butter, jam, pancakes is great, the organized evenings are a lot of fun, the beds are stable and have curtains for privacy, safety lockers, free food and free drinks. This is a hostel not to miss! It is a bit far from San Diego but right at the beach.


80%

Pretty awesome Hostel. Stayed here to find a room in San Diego, had a great time!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

what a great hostel just a few steps away from the beach in one of the coolest parts of San Diego. It's a great place to meet people from all over the world and the friendly staff makes it impossible not to have a great stay. Everything is super clean and there is a big kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food. I'd definitely come back!


94%

This is one of the best hostels i've been to. Just a block from the beach and everything you need is right next to the hostel, for example bike rental, supermarket, bars, cafes, restaurants, etc. Staff was really friendly as well:)

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved the location. The breakfast was great; you had a lot of choices. The staff was helpful and they offered a lot of things (surf, bus passes, bike rental discounts, etc...) and organized a lot of free activities. It was great to stay there.


91%

Easy to meet nice people!


57%

The staff is inefficient and not very friendly. The neighborhood is very seedy and filled with panhandling. Impossible to sleep at night with all thoe noise caused by the other renters

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good social side to the hostel, good free breakfast and organised activities


94%

Loved it here and would definitely go back!:)

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I loved this hostel!!! Met great people and stayed a few blocks away from the beach couldn't ask for more :)


91%

Group of Irish girls loved the outdoor area! The atmosphere at night time was excellent. On one night, we got a meal cooked by someone in the hostel for 2 dollars. Staff were really helpful when it came to recommending places to eat, buses to get etc.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel and great location only a one minute walk to the beach. Staff were very helpful and hostel provided great free activities and dinner which was also good. all in all a excellent experience. id definitely stay here again.

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The location really can't be beat, the staff were good, and the place was pretty clean. A few downsides: It's not a youth hostel. On the last night we were there, a coked out 40-something homeless man and his trail of odor were bunking in our 6-person dorm. The water in the shower was always cold. No attempts were made to fix this. There was nowhere to secure your things except a little locker (which wasn't wide enough for my laptop). The bins under the bed don't lock.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Best hostel I've stayed at. The atmosphere is unbeatable- made some awesome mates, and enjoyed the perfect location for beach going. This is a place to chill out and enjoy the Cali lifestyle!


91%

Super chilled atmosphere. Staff are really nice and theres usually a group of people going out every night. The hostel is right next to the beach, a few cool bars in the area. Recommend this place for sure! And tonnes of good places to eat too. The free breakfast is also a very nice touch.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback