X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel Reviews

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1014 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It was the third time we were here. the atmosphere is very good and very nice.Staff ( Kendra ) en the rest are friendly. We will definitely come back ;


91%

Great place. Very chilled.


94%

Best hostel have been in California! Friendly staff, meet new people, a lot of activities planned every night and close to the ocean beach!


57%

everything is very old, uncomfortable beds, dirty bathrooms, strong urine smell, old and dirty kitchen


80%

Staff were great, location fantastic. This is a very social hostel, with plenty of spaces that facilitate meeting other travellers. Not the quietest place, and could be described as a party hostel, but a pretty chilled out one. Awesome porch for people watching.


51%

This hostel is very small and the building and facilities are very old. It is near the sea, but it is not a good location for me because there isn't many convenient stores near by.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, loved the beachy vibe and helpful staff! Was a very cool place, although shower was not that warm

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was a little dirty in the common areas, the rooms were fine though. The computers didn't work, the shower was fine though. They organized a bonfire 2 times within 4days which was nice. It is located right at the beach, so nice if you are planning to be at the beach a lot.


54%

Great location, great staff! Absolute discussing showers and facilities, also way to many! That is a discrase!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Hotel is in a great location if your looking for a chill out time close to a beach.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

right by the beach! good atmosphere! unfortunately not a lot of showers for the size of the facility


80%

If you want to be near a great beach, this is the perfect location. You really can't go wrong. One thing though, if you're planning on going to bed before 2 am at all, make sure you get a room away from the outside commons area.


91%

Staff are great. Very helpful and informative. Free dinner and beer twice a week was great! Comfy beds for a hostel. About 200 m from the beach and the street is full of bars and restaurants.


83%

very good place to meet people and have a great time.. also good to start surfing as the beach is really close !


100%

Best hostel I've stayed in since I've been in America. Everyone is so chilled and friendly. Most nights there are events on which almost everyone joins in on so it's really easy to meet other travellers. 5/5

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel with really cool people and activities in the evening like games or bonfires at the beach! Great to meet new people

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was great, friendly, good suggestions. Helped us get discounts on rentals ect.. great experience! Would definitely go back or recommend to anyone else

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's clear to me that this hostel has been around the block a few times and knows the business well, which contributed to OBI being a pretty well-oiled machine in terms of providing for its guests. While the atmosphere is a little bit dark, it is a very fun place with a ton of folks from all over the place. I also appreciate that this is a hostel that is decidedly international - requires a foreign passport or an American guest MUST be a student/educator from outside of San Diego. Pretty sweet!


83%

I had no problems with the accommodation, the hosts, facilities or location. It was individuals that smoke in no smoking areas and just down to personal curtesy at times. I enjoyed my time there, met a lot of people and appreciate the hostel's hospitality and kindness. Thank you very much.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

They went out of their way, it was cool.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback