X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Diego's Ocean Beach International Hostel Reviews

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1020 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was the best location to the beach. Staff were very helpful with local information. Breakfast great, I would recomend this hostel to everyone. My stay was 9 day, I will be back again.


86%

Great location and staff. Good atmosphere. Rooms were extremely hot and showers were ordinary but generally good.


89%

Showers are terrible, however the atmosphere, organised activities and the location are amazing.


97%

Amazing stay at this hostel. Couldn't recommend it more. Perfectly located just off the beach, the atmosphere is amazing, the food and entertainment is awesome, couldn't fault it. So sad that we had to leave!!!! 5*


89%

I had an amazing time at this hostel, the staff were really friendly and the atmosphere was great! They have incredible free breakfasts with eggs, pancakes, fruit, toast! They also provide free dinners on Sundays and Mondays which was great for us as we were on a tight budget! If we hadn't already booked out next hostel we would have stayed for at least another week! 5*s!!!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best hostel in San Diego, no doubt


100%

Absolutely loved our stay!!!!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The place was in a perfect location for beach lovers. I literally spent almost all my time in ocean beach and met lots of amazing people. Only down side was the pull cord showers.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Love this hostel!! Awesome staff, great breakfast, perfect location right next to the beach. You can rent bikes and surfboards for super cheap. Rooms are nice too and it's a great place to meet people.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice place near the ocean, cheap surfboard rentals. Right on a strip of bars and restaurants. Great location for everything else. Very easy-going


89%

Great location right by the beach and surrounded by some great bars and restaurants. Easy to get around with buses going from ocean beach all the way to downtown as well as pacific and mission beach. Hostel was clean and staff very friendly. Rooms were kept clean although it was a bit annoying having to put your suitcase on your bunk every day for cleaners especially when you had the top bunk! Hostel offered surfboard rentals and other beach gear which is great! Good atmosphere will stay again!


91%

Awesome hostel with friendly people and staff, plus nice location.


91%

Good beds, friendly and helpful staff, place for your stuff under the beds. Free bbq on the beach


89%

Great hostel with helpful staff and cool location near the beach. Good atmosphere with plenty of beers to be had in the evenings

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I really enjoyed the events that they have for the tenants. They made it easy to get to know other people and truly enjoy the time spent there.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The amenities were amazing....surf and beach rental equipment, and numerous FREE "loaners", such as guitars and beach chairs. The location can't be beat, and the hostel ensures that there are activities galore.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

OBI had a very special atmosphere. Staff was welcoming and helpful and the house is like a big community (like the whole OB), you feel being part of it the minute you step in. It's not only for hard core partying, you get some sleep as well.


100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Staff welcomes you very professionally and friendly, the bathrooms are the most shiny and clean ever, the breakfast with eggs, peanut butter, jam, pancakes is great, the organized evenings are a lot of fun, the beds are stable and have curtains for privacy, safety lockers, free food and free drinks. This is a hostel not to miss! It is a bit far from San Diego but right at the beach.


71%

GOOD: Staff, close to beach, wifi, free breakfast. Good for those into surfing etc. close to mexico, lots of hostel activities to get everybody together, outdoor seating areas. free water and pretzels on check-in. BAD: Neighborhood a bit sketchy, drugs everywhere, i felt a bit uncomfortable, not my scene. showers very basic, facilities basic, noisy.


80%

Pretty awesome Hostel. Stayed here to find a room in San Diego, had a great time!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(61 results)


View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback