X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Fermin Reviews

Calle Fermin Calbeton 23, San Sebastian, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
512 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

I'm a solo traveler, it's in the middle of the actions but is safe and easy to find which was great seeing I arrived at night. San Sebastián isn't huge so this place being right in the middle makes it really easy and quick to walk to the 2 nearby beaches as well as the train stations. I enjoyed my stay here, pretty social and would definitely return!


80%

They need to be more clear about their limited desk hours, which are highly inconvenient. Also, the staff was late to check us out and the wifi is spotty at best. We thought it was just poor in the rooms, but it was just as bad by the front desk. The rooms were very nice although some of the lockers are in the hallway. The private bathroom was great and everything was clean. The high-security helped me feel secure, but I feel that it prevented socialization.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, staff is really helpful, facilities are Ok and always clean (great kitchen, good lockers in bedrooms, nice showers). The only thing I didn't like is that I felt like staying in a hotel, with almost no atmosphere, and a common area that doesn't seem very welcoming and is empty most of the time.


91%

I loved this hostel, but the wifi was very poor, bad reception in rooms... I would look into fixing the issue as its a really big aspect for most travelers these days. It would greatly improve the ratings and general thoughts about the hostel.


77%

Great location in the old town around lots of good pintxos bars and close to the beaches. Staff are fine but are only there for limited hours a day. The wifi is poor and does not work in the rooms at all. Kitchen and terrace are big, clean and useful. Not a lot of atmosphere. Beds are small and some are on the ground in the dorms which was a bit weird.


74%

really nice that there was a private bathroom for a 4 person room. that being said, the rooms were TINY and the hostel decided to place all 4 people staying in the entire hostel in one room. that wasnt the greatest arrangement. nice kitchen, however lacking common space.


86%

Great location and great street. Can be a bit noisy late at night but close to the beach and awesome pintxos. There was a very nice terrace and kitchen to hang out in.


71%

So noisy during the night. Stinky smell in the room.


94%

I love how people could hang out in the common room and they have lockers for people who need to check out early but still want to explore the town until afternoon. Plus point we can cook in the kitchen, you just need to buy the ingredients in the market near the hostel.


100%

Excellent hostel! The location is by far the best in the city, and the staff were incredibly helpful. The rooms were simple, but very nice and clean. The bathrooms in particular were great, with great showers. Absolutely loved my stay, and would definitely recommend it!


100%

Really enjoyed this hostel, was really clean and had a great kitchen with balcony, nice for chatting with fellow travellers! The girls on reception were helpful too.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The wifi didn't work in our room which was a big shame but the staff were really lovely!!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! We will try to figure something out about the WIFI, so it reaches the rooms. We really hope to see you again.

83%

It was a very nice hostel with well equipped kitchen for cooking. Location was great, close to the 2 beaches and the nightlife. As previously has been written, the 6-beds room was very small and with 6 people in it it got crowded but it worked out fine. The only negative thing was that some of the lockers in our room did not have a key so you couldn't look your things up.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all, thank you for your feedback! We are sorry about the lockers, did you get to tell the staff? We will check all the lockers to see if there are some keys missing, thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you again!

80%

The ensuite bathrooms were great, the rooms were nicely set up overall. The staff were helpful when they were around, overall it was a nice stay :)


77%

The staff and location were awesome. Not too much going on at the hostel. You have to have your own group there to make it fun on the terrace. Rooms were clean and decently priced. Kitchen closes early and opens late.


46%

No atmosphere, the beds are terrible - the top bunk is so low that anyone sleeping on the bottom bunk has to be a midget. Very difficult to meet people but excellent location in the old town. Not very good if you are a solo traveler.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, First of all, thank you so much for your review. Be sure that we are going to re-check the state of our beds, we apologise for the inconveniences caused. Furthermore, we are sorry to hear that you didnt meet any people in the hostel, because usually our guests meet a lots of people in the common areas. We hope to host you next time you will come to San Sebastian. Best Regards

91%

Incredible location! A bit loud at night -- due to its location mostly. It might be worth trying to get some thicker shutters or something for the rooms that look out on the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon First of all, thank you so much for your review and advices. We agree with you. Sometimes might be a litle bit noisy due to our location, in the heart of the old town. We hope to host you next time you will come to San Sebastian. Best Regards

100%

Felt like I was in a hotel. Spacious rooftop terrace off the kitchen and dining area. Rooms and bathrooms clean. Air conditioning working. In the Old Town amongst all of the bars and tapas bars. 5 min walk to the surf beach and 10 to the main beach.


86%

Nice hostel in the best location in San Sebastián. The four person room with ensuite was spacious and clean, included aircon and lockers. The only downside is that there is no social atmosphere or charm to the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thank you so much for your review. The social atmosphere of the Hostel, depends on the guests who are staying and the occupation. We are sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy the great ambiance that we usually have. We hope to host you next time you are coming to San Sebastian. Best Regards,

80%

The location of the hostel was great. Staff was kind and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all San Sebastian Hostels

Please give us your feedback