X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Francisco International Hostel Reviews

140 Mason street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2244 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Chill ppl

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is in an excellent location. The staff were very welcoming upon arrival. Some friends and I had a 4 bed dorm with an en suite and for the price we paid it, again, was excellent. If we return to San Francisco we will definitely use this hostel again.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

All in all very good hostel. On some evenings even free beer. Pool was very good as was the staff. The restrooms could be nicer and more clean. Too many male dorms. Should be more mixed dorms


97%

i like the attitude of the people they are always ready to answer question whatever it is i surely be back here next time around


97%

needs tlc but love you guys!


51%

Horrible! My room does not have a window, or a traditional window per se. There is a fake window facing impluvium. And here came the worst part: when you open the window, what you saw are used condoms, lady's bras, underwear (with blood and unknown stains...), used water bottles and so on. Every where....! You feel the breeze comes from all these garbage, or you choose to close windows to endure horrible air in a closed room. So, think about it~


80%

What you pay and what you get is a good deal!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Reading the other reviews I found, I was nervous to come- but it was great! Friendly staff, things ran smoothly and it was an awesome location. Things were old but fairly clean.

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

it was pretty cool place and nice it was located well near union square and the staffs are very friendly and kind

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel is in the Tenderloin (which is the most dangerous part of SF, but most hostels are there anyways) but it is on the outskirts in close to nicer areas. The worst part about this hostel are the bathrooms. There are too few showers, and the sinks are in the rooms, and not in the bathrooms, which is strange. The toilets and showers are two to a floor, which could have 50 or more people. It is difficult to get a shower in the morning or at other busy times. But the best thing is cheap!


89%

Best price in town! Be sure to bring some earplugs as the streets are quite noisy even by night. I had a good stay!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I really like my staying in the hostel, they have great parties, nice environment and the food is good!!! They helped me when I needed assistance! The Hostel is very close to a lot of nice places to visit!!!! I'll definitely stay there next time in SF!!!! There's just one thing that is not so good about the hostel, it's not very clean! Bathrooms were always dirty!!!!!!


49%

Tenderloin. Google: Tenderloin. It's a scary place. Facilities are poor, if existing. No breakfast; you can make your own pancakes, but this means standing in line to make scrambled pancakes because the pans are old and your pancakes will fail. This place is only for those on a tight budget.


63%

Worst hostel I've ever stayed. Other hostels provide towels, you have to buy a towel from this hostel for 4$l. And worst part is, a floor only have 1 Shared bathroom. Other hostels i've been at least had 3 shared bathrooms a floor. Showers are not working, such a lousy place to take a shower. All the knobs are broken. I wont recommend people to stay. Only the best part about this hostel is the location. Very strategic. Close to the tram n busses. Free Breakfast? ITS DO YOUR OWN BREAKFAST.


54%

The shared restrooms are really bad, but the location is good. Don't expect something amazing. Two friends were stolen. Take care about your stuff.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice Hostel !! Be worth :D


66%

You get what you pay for with this hostel is all I'll say.


89%

Second time staying here. The location is the best you can get! It is near everything! The architecture is nuts! You really feel the history of SF.


54%

Some of the staff were extremely helpful and others were unnecessarly rude to the point of regretting my decision to stay here. Location was great but hostel facilities eg. shower pressure / hot water were pretty bad. Hostel has too many rules and regulations. Overall stay is okay but you can defnitely find better accommodation elsewhere :)


89%

Facilities in common space seem to be provided well enough for both short and long stay, but I would rate the "facilities" better if there are more power outlets in each room. The location is perfect and I didn't feel any worries when walking alone even after getting dark. (still, be careful!) Really worth paying for. if I have chance to visit San Francisco next time, I will choose here again.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(110 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback