X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sandakan Backpackers Reviews

Lot 108, Block SH-11, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
90 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I had originally reserved two nights at this hostel but checked out in the middle of the night (2am) my first night there because the beds were full of bed bugs! The girl on the bottom bed of the bunk woke me up she was scratching so much and we looked at her bed, it was swarming with bed bugs, killed 8. Then I saw them in my bed. The first clue should have been the missing mattress from one of the beds in the room. Told the staff we wanted to leave and they immediately refunded the full money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Melissa, thank you for your review to Sandakan Backpackers. The night staff that in charge during that day, said there is no guest that checking out at 2am. You wrote also we refunded full money to you. But in our record here, you paid and there is no refund. Maybe there is a mistake review here. We hope you can explain to us about this review. Thank you.



View all Sandakan Hostels

Please give us your feedback