Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sandeman Allen

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2017
7.7

Only complaint is the long term residents that make you feel like you are intruding on their room/home. Otherwise great hostel with a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
5.4

Unfortunately, some people live in the hostel long-term and have fridges in the room which is very noisy. Further, the hostel ist run-down and smelly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Kiwii3912
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2017
6.3

The location and the facilities is value, but the management system needs to be improved. The cleaner threw my stuff away due to she confused which bed had been checked out. When I checked out, the reception couldn't find my £10 deposit of the key. so I need to back to hostel at 3pm again, which made me miss out my bus, cost another £28 bough the new ticket. The hostel didn't do any thing with my lose towel, but thanks Hostelworld game me some credit for booking next time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
5.7

Many of the residents at this hostel live here semi-permanently. This makes the hostel feel very unwelcoming to begin with. There are no couches or quiet places to chill apart from in the rooms. The showers were tiny and dirty, with incredibly poor ventilation. Sanitary bins were overflowing. Rooms themselves were ok for the price however the poor facilities and lack of atmosphere made it an uncomfortable stay. Bearable for the price, great position but overall disappointed. wouldn't recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
6.0

Bathrooms were dirty, location was excellent. My friend and I were in a 3 bed all male room. Our other roommate was rude. He walled off his side of the room from ours which prevented us from using the window or sink. He also would turn the light on in the middle of the night, many times, and would leave it on. Our last night, I counted 6 times he did this, each time I turned it back off. He also passed gas loud and obnoxiously and watch porn on his phone. That guy ruined our whole experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We use feedback like this to try and improve on the service we provide to our guests. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as planned due to the 3rd person in the room. We have taken action since to ensure this will not happen again. Kind Regards Sandeman Allen House

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
3.7

The staff was just shocking. Probably the worst customer service I have ever received, and I work in customer service. It took an hour for us to check in as despite ringing the bell and the accommodation contact number no one came to the desk. After an hour a women came by and couldn't hear the bell or phone as she had her headphones in in another room. She did not apologise and was generally rude, we asked which door to go through she just said 'I dont know'. Took 15 mins to check out next day

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience here wasn't good. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay here. We have already taken action with the member of staff that was on duty that day. Let me assure you this is not the way we conduct business. Kind Regards Sandeman Allen House

10th Jul 2017
7.7

Good pot pluming needs lots of help. Guy next door was complaining about normal noise. I looked at him and said ur in a hostel mate. Goto the ritz.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the feedback from our guests and will use it to further improve on the service we provide. Regards Sandeman Allen Management

28th Jun 2017
9.7

The light in the shower keeps turning off(motion detection light) when the shower curtain is closed requiring a wave every 20 secs to turn on

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the feedback from our guests and will use it to further improve on the service we provide. Regards Sandeman Allen Management

17th Jun 2017
8.0

The biggest draw of this hostel is the gym and the back patio. The front desk staff are friendly and patient despite the verbal abuse I witnessed toward one from a guest. The rooms are quiet, spacious and airy; beds with good mattresses; closets, drawers, tables and chairs; wide windows. Security: excellent throughout. Bathrooms: awful; smell of mould; covered in limescale; slow water flow; not cleaned properly; ditto the toilets that haven't seen bleach in years; cracks & holes everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. We are happy to hear that your experience here was mostly positive. We will use the feedback to make improvements to our service. Regards Sandeman Allen Management.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
3.7

The staff are unkind and impatient, especially the receptionist! Also, the toilets are not clean enough, still got some dirts and smelly as well l. Overall is bad impression to me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience. We appreciate your comments and will use the feedback to improve our service. Regards Sandeman Allen House

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×