Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sandeman Allen

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 605 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
7.1

Good value for money. The atmosphere feels like many people are living there and not travelling. Be prepared for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
6.3

There is no reason to stay at this hostel other than the price. If you can get over the dirty facilities, it isn't horrible, especially given the price and the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
6.9

All good but bathroom and bedding were not really clean, very good price though and amazing location! I checked in at 11.50pm but the receptionist was not there, he came in 10 minutes anyway and he was very nice. Thanks I'll come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • amitmantri2020
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.0

I stayed for 2 nights. This hostel is located in a prime location. Room was spacious not a bunk bed kind which is rare to see in hostel. I didn't had my breakfast there bcz timing of breakfast was 9:15 am which was totally ridiculous for Traveller to wait for 9:15. Not so fun atmosphere but I would recommend for price which is superb. I would recommend if u need a bed to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
6.9

Jacob the receptionist was really nice and helpful. The hostel itself was quite run down..well your typical London hostel..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.4

Great staff and great hostel! If you plan to stay only for a night or long term, the Sandeman Allen House is a nice place to stay. Planet Organic and Wholefoods Market are only a 10 min walk, Bayswater and Queensway Tube Station as well as buses are around the corner. The showers upstairs are really small, but they were always clean +hot water. Thank you !! xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.6

Unbeatable location and price. The staff are fairly polite, but only part of them are helpful. Facilities are really old and needs refurbishing. There is a place in the corridor where water is dripping from the ceiling. The corridor floor is not flat. The steps of the old stairs groaned under my weight. It's quite clean though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.3

Great location, everything cleaned regularly, very quiet as most residents live there long-term, the showers are good but you may have problems with claustrophobia as they're basically in cupboards, weekday breakfast is cereals, toast, hard-boiled eggs and tea or coffee. Couldn't fault it apart from it would be good to have mugs or cups provided in the rooms and the plumbing in room 124 needs fixing as it makes an extremely loud gurgling noise which kept waking us up in the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.7

Great location close to 2 tube stations and plenty of eating and entertainment options. The 3 bed female room was super cosy and warm in the night. Super safe. Price unbeatable for the area. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
9.1

This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Only negative parts: the breakfast and the bathroom conditions. Other than that it was great. The double room was so comfortable and clean it felt like a real bedroom, not a busy bunk room. My stuff was safe all day in the large locking wardrobe. Right across the street from a tube station. As a girl traveling alone, this was a huge safety feature. Not to mention the street was safe & beautiful. Any time I come back to London I hope to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.