X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sandino Worldimprovement Network Reviews

Sandinostrasse 5, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
324 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This hostel is super fab; a hippie-happy community of greatness. We stayed in the deluxe tent and it was clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were always around and happy to help, and the kitchen/community space was open and home-like. It's a great location too, a bit out of the city so it's quiet in the night but it's also only about 20 minutes via tram to Alexanderplatz. We loved our stay and would definitely return. Thanks Sandino!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Enjoyed our time here. Lovely courtyard area and the chickens are cool. Good cheap beers and definite opportunity to chat with other people if you want. Staff really helpful and friendly. Could do with a bit more cleaning of bedrooms and bathrooms - our duvets really smelled! Proper lockers in the double room would be good. Oh, and the double room is actually a twin room - though maybe there's something lost in translation here? Nice plan with a good atmosphere, just needs some improvements.


97%

Community lives! they turned a factory into a cool communal hot spot in the center of hardcore east berlin. great kitchen and socializing areas. kind and smart staff who are living the lifestyle of real community. comfy beds w good bedding. Real Berlin at its best! A rare and nature crafted community indeed. Wild hearts welcome. snobby whiners may prefer a commercial enterprise elsewhere. Ask about swimming in local lakes. This is the less explored area of Berlin and a worthy adventure indeed!!!


66%

The hostel was a short walk from the tram line. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The kitchen was partially outside which put us off cooking. It was quite cheap for the location.


86%

Stayed for three nights at Sandino in the private, 2 bed studio room - was very big & spacious. Great hostel with many facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, and many lounging areas. Even though it's not located in the city centre, it's only about a 15 minute tram ride to Alexanderplatz. Had an excellent experience here and would definitely return! Thanks Sandino - highly recommended!


89%

Such a great place with an unbelievable atmosphere. Such a shame we could only stay 1 night but I will definitely return!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. The caravan room is great!


94%

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Sandino. I was so impressed with all the little things about it. The staff were absolutely lovely and very willing to chat and to help and our room and the atmosphere of the entire hostel was very relaxed and friendly. If you're looking for a luxury hotel type of atmosphere then look elsewhere, but if you're looking for a real experience and real character this is absolutely the place to go. I loved the chickens and their clever little coop. Lots of love

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Definitely out of the way but makes up for it with atmosphere if you're willing to take a bit of a trek. Common area/outdoor space was really nice and the kitchen has an oven! The place to be if your looking an alternative to the typical hostel stay


80%

Staff is really nice and relaxed. The nearest supermarket is 10 minutes walking. Free WIFI. We've had an excellent stay at Sandino Hostel.


94%

The Staff and environment is perfect for anyone who wants to meet people and see berlin. The location is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city and really easy to find!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is definitely the coolest hostel I've ever been to. Micha and Marco are nice, warm and helpful. As the description says, this is not a commercial institution, but a community with a heart. I also met some new friends as it provides very large open spaces for communicating. Anyway, wanna go back again!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I loved the atmosphere of this place! So relax, so cool! The staff is great. The hostel is a little far from the center but it's worth it. They need to work more the cleanliness part, though ;)


100%

We absolutely loved this place! : ) There is something so unique about it. No - not something - everything! Location, place itself, chickens, people, owner Micha, atmosphere.. We stayed only for one night this time, but still we manage to get a sip of this comfortable and warm home feeling that you get, when staying at Sandino. If you really want to get that cozy, unrepeatable sense of feeling like being at home in such a big city as Berlin - stay at Sandino. : )

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is amazing. I met great people, played with chickens, played ping pong, relaxed, and made some life long friends. The owner, Michael, is amazing. He is open and willing to talk about a myriad of subjects. He greets every guest upon entering and bids them a grand goodbye when they leave. This place is not an impersonal hostel like 99% of the rest of them. It is an intimate experience, and plus how often do you see the owner of the hostel practicing his unicycle abilities?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for joining us. We enjoyed your stay here also very much. Hope to see you once again. Thanks for your good review. Micha

91%

Not so close but not so far from the center. The tram station is in 2' distance from the hostel, something that provides that in something like 20' you can be directly in Alexanderplatz. The hostel's atmosphere is perfect, there is a garden, an open place which you can sit outside, outdoors and indoors kitchen and places to relax. The tend was very clean, and peaceful, the dorms clean and comfortable, the same for all the bathrooms and kitchens, The staff is really helpful and kind!!! - Stevi

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We stayed only a night there, but it's really great place, with good atmosphere, the staff and the people there were friendly. It's a good place to stay in berlin!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is an awesome place! The atmosphere is great, and the rooms are very nice! There is also a great outdoor area to hang out. Everything is clean, and the staff were super friendly and helpful! I only stayed one night, but I wish I could have stayed longer!


94%

Sandino is a perfect place to chill out and meet awesome people. The rooms, showers etc. are big, there are lockers, free wi-fi, ping pong table in the yard and everything. You can get to Alexanderplatz with one tram without changes, but some other important places require one or two changes. The neighborhood is cheap and there are a couple of small lakes nearby. Definitely recommended.


97%

I Have to hand it to Michael he has completely transformed this old derelict building into a beautiful place to spend time, sleep, meet interesting people, read a book or have a beer. I loved my time at Sandino, and have already been back twice. You will be missing out if you don't get to stay here.


(60 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback