X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sandra's Backpackers Hostel Reviews

24 Princes Street, Caithness, Thurso, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
215 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

All good people, all good......


77%

The biggest hostel disadvantage is lack of car park in the neighbourhood. Everything else was fine and our stay was nice.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

it is what it is 16 quids worth

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Very convenient and I was made welcome.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel has wi-fi though it's listing does not include wi-fi as a listed amenity.


46%

This hostel was alright. It was warm and dry and had a warm shower. It was nothing special, and the staff member we interacted with was strange.


31%

Extremely messy. Unfriendly aggressive staff. Worst hostel we've stayed in.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Extremely dirty, unbelievably worn and holed mattresses, one of thee worst hostels which I have stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
all mattresses were replaced on 3 07 2015 and we find other comments unreasonable

83%

I was very impressed that when I phoned to report that I had been mistakenly charged twice because of an admin mistake (I paid in cash on arrival and was also subsequently charged on my account), they were very helpful and prompt in refunding the overcharge. Very good customer relations!

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a comfortable room and the communal kitchen was really handy. Yes I would recommend Sandra's Hostel.


31%

Shittie staff and hostel... Very very dirty and old and bad.. Dont stay here


57%

It is not one of these hostels where you will meet a fellow backpacker who just opened his own hostel. With a separated reception area and a backyard that is ugly it is quite anonymous. We had problems with clean linen but got the money back in the end. The owner told us that they will renovate and get new beds. That is absolutely necessary as the price is far to expensive for the beds and service provided. It can be compared with hostels charging 9 pounds per night. The free breakfast is ok.




View all Thurso Hostels

Please give us your feedback