Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sandra's Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
9.4

We stayed in a three bed room, with en suite. The room itself was basic but clean, however, the communal kitchen, with complimentary tea, coffee, cereals (many different types), and bread, butter, jam was a massive bonus. I've never stayed in a hostel before, and I had some trepidation, but this experience has changed my view. All the staff we met were incredibly friendly, and helpful. Hello to Ian who was part way through cycling through Britain, and then off to cycle the world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Aug 2017
9.4

Good clean basic accommodation....... real value for money as breakfast was included in the price ........ conveniently located and easy to find

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2017
6.9

a very dated building, locks to the kitchen area & outside door to the bedrooms didn't lock but the main bedroom did overall i was pleased with my stay as i was a single motor bike rider staying one night then move on. not sure i would like to stay there more than one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
8.3

I stayed with 3 children and would gladly stay there again. It was the first time I had stayed in a hostel so was not sure of what to expect. We had a room with its own bathroom , which was needed with the kids. Everywhere was clean and plenty of food was provided for breakfast. The only niggle for me was there is only on street parking and had to park in the next street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

It was a great place to stay! Staff was very friendly and helpful and I loved the personal tour we received instead of fending for ourselves and figuring things out on our own. Was a good place to go with kids. Our room was clean and the bunkbeds were surprisingly comfy. Thanks for the hospitality!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Hot taps were not working properly but we discovered from the owner when we left that the hot water was feeding the cold taps/shower and Vic's versa The breakfast (inclusive in the price) was excellent and plenty eating places on the doorstop Most impressed with the other rooms - all en suite Would go back again as was extremely good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay at Sandra's Backpackers and would recommend the hostel to anyone needing a bed in Caithness.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Lovely, cheap and cheerful hostel. Hassle free, clean and good facilities. Good location in Thurso. Ideal for anyone on a budget

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

everything was fine. quite cozy. the hostel guy named james was really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
9.1

External doors not always locked, internal bedroom doors are though. Only other complaint was that doors are very noisy, you can't account for inconsiderate guests staying in other rooms though. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Comfy beds, descent shower, all very clean. Great kitchen facilities, with two cookers and kettles, a microwave and loads of fridge space. Has a reasonably priced laundry facility and a drying room. Would recommend and will definitely be staying again in future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×