Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sandra's Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
Sandra's Backpackers Hostel Located at 24 Princes Street, Caithness, Thurso.
Sandra's Backpackers Hostel
Scotland
Thurso 24 Princes Street,, Caithness
77% 266
58.5908037 -3.5197448
Sandra's Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
8.3

With the kitchen and common room combined, it could sometimes be crowded if several guests were cooking at the same time. Toilet and shower in each room was a great advantage. The breakfast included in the price was an added bonus. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Very basic hostel. Probably good for NC500, near beach (2 min) and rail station (5 min). Common room is lacking, stuffed with chairs, but having toilet and shower in each room was nice. Some weird smells in places

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

Brilliant staff, very good selection of breakfast provided. A little cramped in bedrooms but expected from a hostel :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
4.3

Bathroom was very mouldy and had flies in it. Mattresses were stained. When we said we were not staying to the male member of staff he didn't care and said "suit yourselves".

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jul 2016
5.7

Staff were friendly enough. think I might of got biten during the night which isn't good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.9

Very pleased with accommodation and especially with James.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.6

Sandra's is probably your best option when staying in Thurso as it's a small town and only has two or three backpackers. It's conveniently located in the centre of town so everything is easy to access. Rooms are fairly basic with multiple beds and an ensuite. They could definitely include locked storage for people staying and improve the ventilation in the bathrooms. The owner is also rarely at the reception so be prepared when arriving that you may need to call him so he can check you in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
9.4

Perfect for my 3 day trip to Thurso. Would suit anyone passing through to Orkney or Shetland. I found that I could use the hostel to suit me. Central for transport needs and eating out. Dorms fine and breakfast no problem. Would recommend and use again. GREAT STAY.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
8.0

Very quirky hostel. Right in the center of town and if you are looking for an interesting night out Thurso on the weekend is a hoot. Expect to have a lot of interqctions with the locals which is a great time. Had an issue with my credit card and the owner and his son were extremely helpful with getting it resolved. Definitely good honest folk and they gave us some great advice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
4.9

We had to phone the number on the door in order to get checked in and when we had questions. At all the other hostels we stayed in, there was always someone visible at the front desk. The interior appears to be uncared for, the hallways narrow and dim,the eating area is overcrowded with furniture. Though we were given a key for the outer door, others never locked it. The location appears to be near a bar as the loud music made it impossible to sleep. Neither of us felt comfortable staying there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.