X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sandrock Holiday Hostel Reviews

Port Ronan, Malin Head, Inishowen Peninsula, Donegal, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

97%

Rating
207 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Lovely hostel, the charm of a b&b with the price of a cheap hostel ! Amazing view from the living room and great location to visit the northest point of Ireland ...and eat lobster.


100%

It is the best hostel I ever been! No words to describe how perfect it is!

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Genuine hospitality, coziness, and comfort await you here at Sandrock Holiday Hostel. Margaret and Rodney always welcome guests with a pot of tea and biscuits. The hostel itself is very well equipped, and a gorgeous "Wood Stanley" stove adds real homeliness to the cozy ambience. The sea view is to die for gorgeous, making this hostel the ideal place to 'get away from it all'. Great walks abound also, and the fresh sea air will do you the world of good! Very highly recommended!


100%

Very nice, the owners are both wonderful, very peaceful and beautiful breath taking views , would recommend to all ages!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely stay, stunning location. Rodney and Margaret excellent hosts.


80%

One of the few hostels where I actually found other visitors willing to interact. We had some fun with some people who were trying to cook a lobster. Our host was incredibly helpful. He gave us a hand-drawn (but very accurate!) map of Malin Head and showed us which way we should drive and where we should stop for maximum sightseeing. Wish we'd been able to stay longer.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel in Ireland.


100%

Amazing hostel!! The best I have ever stayed at. Rodney and Margaret were so welcoming and friendly to us. It was so clean and homely, I could have easily stayed way longer than one night! Got a great informative talk and map about the area when we arrived and the space and facilities in the hostel really are brilliant. The view is amazing from the living area. Very peaceful and tranquil. Thanks for everything, I will definitely be back!

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Hosts were so welcoming and lovely. Great chilled out relaxed atmosphere in a beautiful location. Friendly locals and lots to see and do on this tiny northern peninsula on of Ireland.


100%

Stunning views, charming place, best hostel of our trip! Couldn't recommend more highly. Malinhead is definitely worth a visit.


94%

Excellent hostel, I would highly recommend it !


100%

one of the best hostel i found in europe! thanks to the nice people met there" melissa

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely staff, perfect setting, definitely value for money.


100%

Very nice hotel. The two owners were really friendly and welcoming, and we really enjoyed our short stay. We will definitely try to go back when we have the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is a mix up with this review. These guests did stay with us at Sandrock Holiday Hostel on the date mentioned and we would like the review to stand.

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! Amazing location, friendly people, squeaky clean and a warm, welcoming atmosphere make this a really awesome place! Thanks very much :)

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

An amazing two nights, lovely staff, very welcoming and homely

  • 11th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome atmosphere in a lovely place. Perfect for those who are looking for quite, calm and peace.


94%

Best accommodation, best place in Ireland, nice people, good walks around...


100%

Very dedicated, friendly and helpful staff. You will be served with tea/coffee and cookies when you arrive. Very nice loation, the view is fantastic and Malin Head is a great place to spend a while.


89%

Vey quiet and peaceful and relaxing.The pier beside it is beautiful and a most wonderful view.It is very quiet and a wee distance from pubs or Malin Head itself,but worth the walk in the summer months.Great Big Kitchen and lots of history and interesting articles about the area as well as superb info from the owners about the area.

  • 18th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(156 results)


View all Donegal Hostels

Please give us your feedback