X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sandy Hostel Reviews

Via Cavour 136, 00184 - Roma, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
696 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

I booked a 4-bed-dorm, and was in a 5-bed-dorm (with 5 people). City tax was 3 instead of 2 euros/night. So they should renew their website. You can't lock the toilet.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostels World should ensure what is published and what is actual provided.The booking confirmation mail says the check-in is available from 7.30 hrs to 23.30 hrs but the actual is that if you land up between 11.30 to 2.30 pm you will be denied check in on the pretext of cleaning up.Secondly it says about city tax of 2 euros per day but they actually charged you 3 euros per day. Also lift usage is charged extra. And if you questions these things with the staff it leads to ugly humiliating talks.


54%

well the staff was very good and helpful but the property and facilities itself was pathetic. 1) Foul smell always - not so clean 2) No pressure in shower or basins tap 3) You have to climb f***king 100 odd stairs to reach the hostel (located at 4 floor), the lift requires 5 cent coin (which is hard to get) 4) Bed makes noise when you move 5) Rooms were very small for a 5 bed room - hardly any space 6) there are no charging points next to bed (only 2 entire dorm room) Location is okay

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location is perfect,near termini,staff is helpful,facilities is average,no kitchen,sometimes the hot water is no really hot.


74%

We only stayed for one night in a 2-bed room. The hostel is located very close to Termini. It is clean, small and there isn't a common room. There is an elevator but you need a key and change to use it so you have to climb 4 floors with your luggage. Very friendly hostess!


83%

The location of the hostel is just simply awesome. The Monti area is the best and you can practically walk everywhere, the Colosseum is just a block away. Our room was great, clean and the beds were comfy (the pillow could have been a bit thicker, but that's just me ;)), it was great to have a bathroom just for us three and you even get a little workout to get up to the fourth floor if you don't want to pay the five cents for the lift. Next time I'm in Rome I will definitely go back there!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel is very central (midway between Coloseum and Termini ) but doesn't have much in the way of facilities. Despite the fact that it is near the train station it is a nice neighborhood. The hostel does't have a kitchen or common room but it's clean and has wifi.


77%

The position is good. The staffs are nice. But the worst thing is the elevator! First time being here we have to climb up to the forth floor for the key to the elevator which needs some coins for working!!!


69%

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for one night. It was all we needed or so we thought. It is within walking distance from the train station and is close enough to the metro to connect you with the rest of Rome. The girl who works there was extremely friendly and helpful and the room we booked had 3 beds and an ensuite bathrooms which we believed to be good value for money. The only issue is that although the hostel seemed clean there were bed bugs in all 3 of the beds in our room. We were n

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We have stayed in a private 2-person room which was clean and featured air conditioning (useful even in October, go figure). If we were missing anything, it would be some bedside tables with lamps on them - even some cheap Ikea ones would do the trick. One more thing, for some reason there was a problem with hot water in the shower. No matter what time of the day, water was at most barely warm. Other than this, staff was friendly and location was fantastic - we enjoyed our stay!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location!! Fellow travelers were great, staff was very helpful and fun (both girls that were working at the time were awesome). Yeah you got to walk 5 stairs because the elevator is broken but Europe is all about walking! Shower and kitchen were ok, nothing great. Other than that this hostel is highly recommendable!


77%

The staff here was very friendly, but the facilities are baaaaasic. People also get moved from room to room depending on each night's bookings. Everything seemed clean. Kitchen facilities amount to a fridge and microwave, there is no common area, computers, or towel rentals. Decent enough for the money, though.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very well located, near to the train station, easy to walk to main attractions, metro in the corner and a nice young and fun neighborhood. Very honest explanation about the place in the main page. The place is more to rest and have a shower, not to spend time in there, but who wants to stay in a room with all Rome outside. No common area but can meet people in the room and cheap place to have breakfast beside. Still need improvements in the shower, better pillows, fix elevator...


57%

I honestly cannot understand how this hostel rates so highly. It is 1 corridor at the top of 5 big flights of stairs. It doesn't have all that many rooms which is a good thing but only has 1 shower that doesn't really work properly. There is no reception desk, common room or proper kitchen (there is a fridge though). We had a drunk woman come into the room in the early hours looking for her bed, we later found out from another guest that it was a staff member.. Besides that is was quiet.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thanks again for a lovely stay! It definitely added to te overall amazing experience that I had in Rome.


83%

Very kind and nice staff! The hostel was well located, near Roma termini station. Toilettes were clean and the mattress was very confortable.


100%

Great value for money! Excellent location (between Termini train station and Colousseum), clean room and bathroom, nice staff. You will find everything you need (locker, hairdryier, fridge, boiler..) Definitely a great choice! Definitely recommended

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

No communal area, no kitchen to speak of, just a microwave and a fridge. couldn't even find a glass to pour myself a drink into! basically a shared room with ensuite bathroom, but it was clean, and is in a good location, not very far from the colluseum. not good for meeting people, but fine for sleeping in if you are lout and about all day.


66%

The location is nice, but it is up a few flights and the 5 cent elevator is annoying. The staff were reasonably ok but could have been friendlier. There wasn't really a common room to hang out in or anything, but my bedroom was sufficient. Basically, it's a pretty mediocre hostel with a good price and good location.


69%

Basic hostel, but in a great location for the price - 10 minute walk from Rome Termini train station, 15 minute walk from all main monuments, etc. It is hard to find, several floors up in an unmarked apartment building, but clean and serviceable.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback