X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sandy Hostel Reviews

Via Cavour 136, 00184 - Roma, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
681 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great location!! Fellow travelers were great, staff was very helpful and fun (both girls that were working at the time were awesome). Yeah you got to walk 5 stairs because the elevator is broken but Europe is all about walking! Shower and kitchen were ok, nothing great. Other than that this hostel is highly recommendable!


77%

The staff here was very friendly, but the facilities are baaaaasic. People also get moved from room to room depending on each night's bookings. Everything seemed clean. Kitchen facilities amount to a fridge and microwave, there is no common area, computers, or towel rentals. Decent enough for the money, though.

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very well located, near to the train station, easy to walk to main attractions, metro in the corner and a nice young and fun neighborhood. Very honest explanation about the place in the main page. The place is more to rest and have a shower, not to spend time in there, but who wants to stay in a room with all Rome outside. No common area but can meet people in the room and cheap place to have breakfast beside. Still need improvements in the shower, better pillows, fix elevator...


57%

I honestly cannot understand how this hostel rates so highly. It is 1 corridor at the top of 5 big flights of stairs. It doesn't have all that many rooms which is a good thing but only has 1 shower that doesn't really work properly. There is no reception desk, common room or proper kitchen (there is a fridge though). We had a drunk woman come into the room in the early hours looking for her bed, we later found out from another guest that it was a staff member.. Besides that is was quiet.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thanks again for a lovely stay! It definitely added to te overall amazing experience that I had in Rome.


83%

Very kind and nice staff! The hostel was well located, near Roma termini station. Toilettes were clean and the mattress was very confortable.


100%

Great value for money! Excellent location (between Termini train station and Colousseum), clean room and bathroom, nice staff. You will find everything you need (locker, hairdryier, fridge, boiler..) Definitely a great choice! Definitely recommended

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

No communal area, no kitchen to speak of, just a microwave and a fridge. couldn't even find a glass to pour myself a drink into! basically a shared room with ensuite bathroom, but it was clean, and is in a good location, not very far from the colluseum. not good for meeting people, but fine for sleeping in if you are lout and about all day.


66%

The location is nice, but it is up a few flights and the 5 cent elevator is annoying. The staff were reasonably ok but could have been friendlier. There wasn't really a common room to hang out in or anything, but my bedroom was sufficient. Basically, it's a pretty mediocre hostel with a good price and good location.


69%

Basic hostel, but in a great location for the price - 10 minute walk from Rome Termini train station, 15 minute walk from all main monuments, etc. It is hard to find, several floors up in an unmarked apartment building, but clean and serviceable.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

If you are staying here you will need to bring your own towels. Doorframe was questionable at best. Mattress was worn down on one side. Unfortunately, every room must vacate during middle of the day for cleaning.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

We stayed for two nights. The place does not has a area where ppl can seat and meat each other. Therefore it is not the right placebo get to know many ppl, however it is the right place to just spend the night. It is cheap but has good location, it is clean and confi.


91%

I've stayed in 4 hostels since my visit to Sandy Hostel and Sandy was the best one. In addition they have a nice staff. Their rooms and toilets were totally clean. Wi-fi works properly. But there is lack of athmosphere. Still Sandy is the best for my friend and me. - Be careful, there is no sign on the the building, hostel name is on the ring bell.


71%

We were lucky to get upgraded to a private double room after booking and paying for a 6 bed mixed dorm. Interesting that it wasn't fully booked in busy summer tourist season. There is no atmosphere here. Lockers are plastic cupboards which don't inspire confidence but it was clean and quiet and staff were friendly and helpful. Kettle, fridge and microwave available for use.


71%

Decent and quiet hostel - slept very well. Facilities are basic (e.g. BYO towel) but the infrastructure works well: showers, fast internet. The hostel doesn't seem to be continuously staffed as I couldn't find anyone when I left, but it's quite easy-going and I could just drop off my keys. In brief, decent value for money, excellent location, good for some overnight stays if you don't intend to meet new people in the hostel (no hang-out place).

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I was greeted by a bored young man, who took me to my room. There was no interaction, and it felt like a business transaction. The rooms were basic cots in a whitewashed bare room. There was no kitchen or common space, so unless you were in your room, you had to go outside.


91%

No kitchen but that didn't bother us we had out own private bathroom in a 3 person room, very happy with hostel would defiantly recommend! Staff are fab!


69%

Although I liked some aspects such as cleanliness, location. I am complaining about the elevator (assenssore) that was out of work on Monday 30 in June. Unfortunatelly I had to carry my luggage for fourth floors.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel is in a good location, directly on the Via Cavour, between Termini and the Imperial Forum. It's a very small hostel, with only around a half dozen rooms, and no common area, so you'll generally only have an opportunity to meet those in your dorm if by chance you are there when they are. The room was simple and clean; bedding is provided, towels etc. are not available. Wifi was free and worked fine. I needed a cheap place for just one night, and so for €20, it was good value.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It's a really good and friendly hostel. I really recommend it.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback