X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sandy Hostel Reviews

Via Cavour 136, 00184 - Roma, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
729 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Only cold water ! No cleaning of the room (in 4 days). The only strong point of the hotel is the location.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Internet was poor, i used internet only 1 day for 3 days.They wanted me to pay extra 3 euros per night(Taxs).Location is close to Rome Termini


91%

This is your average European, apartment-style hostel. 4 beds to a room and a shared shower. All was generally clean and the woman was very friendly. ONLY thing I would ask is that they put a sign out front! You have to look for the building number and then guess which floor, there are no signs or markings to let you know where you're going. Otherwise, a good place at a good price, and right around the corner from the Colosseum :)


74%

Only disappointment was the lack of hot water. Unbelievable location.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Super friendly staff! I would recommend


26%

This hostel was the most terrible hostel that I've ever seen. 1. no hot water 2 .no print 3. bad bed 4 only 1 shower room for about 7 rooms(about 20 people) 5. no trash can inside room


49%

They don't have any service, there's no common aerea. No kitchen , a microwave and a fridge, just to boil a tea (but does not work well). The internet is not so good. The hot water only works at 7:30. I couldn't get a hot shower in the night or at 9am.


77%

The staff were wonderful, and the hostel is only a short walk from the train station and the Colosseum, which was convenient.


97%

Clean bathroom and clean rooms. Hot water. Excellent position, 10min by walking from Termini station. Good price.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Only stayed for a night but it wasn't a too badder hostel. Staff were very friendly and spoke English. Real close to the central train station, good restaurants and bars nearby. Good wifi, no kitchen. Could lock the room doors and the hostel itself was secure. Good for a short stay!


51%

I booked a 4-bed-dorm, and was in a 5-bed-dorm (with 5 people). City tax was 3 instead of 2 euros/night. So they should renew their website. You can't lock the toilet.

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostels World should ensure what is published and what is actual provided.The booking confirmation mail says the check-in is available from 7.30 hrs to 23.30 hrs but the actual is that if you land up between 11.30 to 2.30 pm you will be denied check in on the pretext of cleaning up.Secondly it says about city tax of 2 euros per day but they actually charged you 3 euros per day. Also lift usage is charged extra. And if you questions these things with the staff it leads to ugly humiliating talks.


54%

well the staff was very good and helpful but the property and facilities itself was pathetic. 1) Foul smell always - not so clean 2) No pressure in shower or basins tap 3) You have to climb f***king 100 odd stairs to reach the hostel (located at 4 floor), the lift requires 5 cent coin (which is hard to get) 4) Bed makes noise when you move 5) Rooms were very small for a 5 bed room - hardly any space 6) there are no charging points next to bed (only 2 entire dorm room) Location is okay

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location is perfect,near termini,staff is helpful,facilities is average,no kitchen,sometimes the hot water is no really hot.


74%

We only stayed for one night in a 2-bed room. The hostel is located very close to Termini. It is clean, small and there isn't a common room. There is an elevator but you need a key and change to use it so you have to climb 4 floors with your luggage. Very friendly hostess!


83%

The location of the hostel is just simply awesome. The Monti area is the best and you can practically walk everywhere, the Colosseum is just a block away. Our room was great, clean and the beds were comfy (the pillow could have been a bit thicker, but that's just me ;)), it was great to have a bathroom just for us three and you even get a little workout to get up to the fourth floor if you don't want to pay the five cents for the lift. Next time I'm in Rome I will definitely go back there!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel is very central (midway between Coloseum and Termini ) but doesn't have much in the way of facilities. Despite the fact that it is near the train station it is a nice neighborhood. The hostel does't have a kitchen or common room but it's clean and has wifi.


77%

The position is good. The staffs are nice. But the worst thing is the elevator! First time being here we have to climb up to the forth floor for the key to the elevator which needs some coins for working!!!


69%

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for one night. It was all we needed or so we thought. It is within walking distance from the train station and is close enough to the metro to connect you with the rest of Rome. The girl who works there was extremely friendly and helpful and the room we booked had 3 beds and an ensuite bathrooms which we believed to be good value for money. The only issue is that although the hostel seemed clean there were bed bugs in all 3 of the beds in our room. We were n

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We have stayed in a private 2-person room which was clean and featured air conditioning (useful even in October, go figure). If we were missing anything, it would be some bedside tables with lamps on them - even some cheap Ikea ones would do the trick. One more thing, for some reason there was a problem with hot water in the shower. No matter what time of the day, water was at most barely warm. Other than this, staff was friendly and location was fantastic - we enjoyed our stay!

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback