Hostelworld.com

Santa Mix Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 394 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
Santa Mix Hostel Located at Rua Santa Cristina, 89, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro.
Santa Mix Hostel
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20241250 Rua Santa Cristina, 89, Santa Teresa
81% 394
-22.9213568 -43.1830759
Santa Mix Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jun 2016
6.0

The good: it was the low season and I was the only guest, there was a sweet hostel cat, the owner brews beer (but none was ready and he wasnt there), nice dorms that werent too packed The Bad: cold showers, breakfast was just bread, butter and coffee, cant flush tp, found floaters in the toilet (twice), staff dont speak english very well, its in a dodgy block, but just around the corner from a main street in santa teresa, water from the bathroom sink isnt potable, no bikes to rent

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Mar 2016
10.0

It´s a really nice place and is not crowded with people, so I can stay in a dorm and still be confortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2016
8.0

A lovely home hostel located in a residential area just 10 minutes away from Gloria metro station and 20 mins walk from the Lapa Steps, Santa Mix was a great respite from the madness of Carnival. Beds are clean and connected to the wall so you don't feel your bunk mate moving at night. Nice but slightly unkempt rooftop terrace.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
10.0

Wonderful hostel, stay here! They make there own beer!!!! Ya that's right, you read this correct. Hostel beer how can you go wrong and it's good too! Good location and good people running/working the hostel. Stay here, stay here, stay here!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2016
7.1

every things was ok exept that very hot in the hostel. The air condicionar is only for the nights and its only in the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2016
8.9

Lovely hostel with great location, nice staff and really good breakfast. The place was clean and secure. Nice and chilled atmospere. Recommended!:)Will try to stay again when back in Rio!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, great location, and great atmosphere when I was there. I only got to stay one day but I definitely regret not staying longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sprior0232307
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jan 2016
9.7

What a wonderful, homely and inviting place! Made to feel completely comfortable as I set foot in the door. Sleeping on the beds is like sleeping on marshmallow silk sheets that are imported from heaven. The owner brews delicious beer that is a rare commodity in a place like Brasil. The hostel attracts an excellent community of people. It is not a party hostel but people still drink socially on the terrace. The staff were all incredible. Marcella is an absolute angel and golden star. Obrigado!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2015
9.1

Friendly and helpfull staff, great breakfast, close to Metro, Nice common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2015
3.1

One bathroom with one shower for all guests. Very rude staff. I was rushed out when I checked out (after spending 7 days and $250 + dollars.) And because of that, I left some very expensive electronics. Staff has refused to return it. It will be hilarious if they leave a comment here because they haven't responded to my last 5 emails.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.