Hostelworld.com

Santiago Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.0

A good location for exploring Santiago. We enjoyed our stay here. You get a key for your dorm room and a locker. Beds were comfortable and rooms spacious. A variety of items at the free breakfast made a nice change from the standard toast at a lot of other hostels we'd stayed in previously and the free dinner was a nice touch, even if it wasn't the greatest food I've ever eaten. Wifi is generally good although there were a couple of times it was painfully slow! I'd stay here again if I returned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
7.1

Good location. $20 for key deposit. But why? I asked, the door did not lock. So they put a liock on the door. Comfortable TV lounge and good wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.1

The hostel is okay and with a nice atmosphere, but unfortunately the bathroms could be a bit cleaner and the girl on the reception was very unfriendly when we arrived late at night and she didn't give us any information...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
6.9

Location is ideal, however do not stay in the 6 bed ensuite form downstairs. It's right by reception where they are continually playing (often terrible) music until 1am. No reading lights which was annoying as people had to turn main light on while others were sleeping to do anything. The bathrooms are pretty dirty, kitchen is okay. Free breakfast is a bit of a joke. The dorm rooms upstairs looked a bit nicer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.4

A beautiful renovated house with large airy rooms. Lovely kitchen which allows many people to cook and socialize together. Walking distance from pretty much anything in central Santiago. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

The building was nice. There was one sketchy looking roof and three of the four femaleshowers were out of service but besides that everythingwas clean. it has a kitchen and the breakfastwas decent. Bedding was provided. You can onlyenter or exit if someone buzzes the door. There were loc,kers in the dorms that you could lock with a small lock. Easy walk to Lastari and Bellavista, both of which I would recommend. Santa Lucia was really cool too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Good hostel! Great volunteers and enjoyed the organised dinner and the free breakfast is awesome. Cheers guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
10.0

I was positively surprised - such a nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Very helpful staff who made recommendations. Close to grocery store, large kitchen. Not very many English speaking guests were there when I stayed there but I suppose that varies every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.3

Friendly staff and good location! Private dorm was very nice with TV and small table for eating, would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.