Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2017
8.0

Good place to explore the city! Chill atmosphere, good breakfast

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
5.7

The room smelled like anti-fests spray, when I told the employee she said it's just the floor's cleaning smell. Was almost impossible to sleep and when I woke up I had tons of bites, itching for days :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
10.0

I was only here for one night before a flight but could tell the place had a really good atmosphere. Lots of outings planned making it easy to meet people if you're travelling solo. 8 person dorm was huge and beds very comfy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Super nice hostel!! Loved staying here. The beds were the most comfortable I have found in South America. There is tons of cool rooms and spaces to hang out in, and the staff are super nice and helpful. Super close to plaza de armas and just a metro ride away from the bus station. The breakfast was super good and they even had peanut butter which made me so happy cause I hadn't had it in the 4 months I've been traveling!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alejandrinca8179
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Mar 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed staying at Santiago Backpackers, mostly due to location and helpful staff. The breakfasts were OK+ (pancakes!) and whatever would be there missing/being fixed, helpful staff was always there to explain and help. The only thing I could complain about was the cleanliness of the bathrooms. I understand that they want travelers staying to be more involved in the live of hostel, but 'tell us when it is not clean enough' policy cannot be enough to keep the bathroom clean ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
6.9

I had a relatively nice stay at Santiago Backpackers. I met great people. The Hostel isn't in the safest area at night, but is very centrally and conveniently located in relation to the city. My main concern was the cleanliness of the bathrooms. A few were missing hand soap and toilet paper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • samwestoby
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Feb 2017
5.7

Not amazing. One Colombian woman in particular was beyond rude - strange as usually Colombians are very nice indeed. Wifi was rubbish, place felt dirty, we had things thrown at us by the next door neighbours, dorms were filthy. Great breakfast though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
8.3

A solid hostel where I'd stay again. Security is great: lock on front and room door + large locker per person. Located in the middle of EVERYTHING. Staff weren't rude, but seemed uninterested in most guests. Good atmosphere fostered by events like free dinner, etc. Lacking on cleanliness: dirty bathrooms and really dusty floors in the rooms. Pretty good val for $ considering other options. Nice premises. Rooms aren't hot in the summer; try Buenos Aires and then come back and compare. Haha.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
9.7

Excellent location, comfy beds, great breakfast and friendly staff. Wifi could have worked better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

Very helpful stuff, great location, all the recommendations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.