Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 391 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
Santiago Backpackers Located at Mac Iver 661, , Santiago.
Santiago Backpackers
Chile
Santiago 8320050 Mac Iver 661
86% 391
-33.4353808 -70.6471860
Santiago Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

The building was nice. There was one sketchy looking roof and three of the four femaleshowers were out of service but besides that everythingwas clean. it has a kitchen and the breakfastwas decent. Bedding was provided. You can onlyenter or exit if someone buzzes the door. There were loc,kers in the dorms that you could lock with a small lock. Easy walk to Lastari and Bellavista, both of which I would recommend. Santa Lucia was really cool too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Good hostel! Great volunteers and enjoyed the organised dinner and the free breakfast is awesome. Cheers guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
10.0

I was positively surprised - such a nice place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Very helpful staff who made recommendations. Close to grocery store, large kitchen. Not very many English speaking guests were there when I stayed there but I suppose that varies every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
8.3

Friendly staff and good location! Private dorm was very nice with TV and small table for eating, would definitely recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.4

Great Hostile: Its pretty small in a funky house, most travelers were in their 20's and 30's. Right near the main plaza, art museum and several metro/bus lines. Bedrooms and bathrooms were good/clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Its quiet at night, not a party hostel. No bar/resturant but a well stocked kitchen and fridge to make and store food/drinks. Breakfast is quite good: pancakes, jam, cheese, fruit, coffee/tea/juice, fresh bread, cereal, peanut butter, ect. Great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Dec 2016
10.0

Great spot, very central and free breakfast. Internet if wanted or wifi for those who can use it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
9.4

good location, just 3 mins walk from the metro, you can find a lots of restaurants and supermarkets within few blocks. Internet is okay only at midnight, typical in south america, no complain. A big TV room just next to lobby, and i enjoy a great football match with the roomates in hostel, awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
6.9

The wifi is terrible. Not enough seating for breakfast. No windows in our room, so it was dark during the day. Staff wasn't attentive. One night around 1 AM they were all partying in the open area and a guest was buzzing and yelling outside for an hour before a guest woke up and grabbed a staffer. The dorms weren't cleaned, besides turning sheets between guests and lightly cleaning the really dingy bathroom. Positives: Great location and a lot of options for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. We are glad you liked our breakfast, sometimes we have a lot of people coming all together, that's why we have a wide range from 7:30 til 10 am. 70% of the hostel capacity can seat at the same time. Regarding, staff and cleaning, we have talked to the people in charge the days you stayed to make sure these situations won't happen again. We sincerely apologize for that

14th Nov 2016
8.3

Fine for a night. Staff weren't from Santiago though and couldn't help with getting around the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.