Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santos Express Train B&B

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
8.0

Everything was wonderful, except the restaurant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great place to stay for atmosphere. So fun sleeping in a train and you can see the beach from your room!! The beach itself is also v nice. During the day you can walk into town via the Dias museum but in the evening this way is shut and the walk is quite long. The twin room was a bit small, but managaeable. It was one shower for about 12 people so there was always a queue in the morning! Generally good stay, would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ayse_ozkaya3625
  • Turkey, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.9

Amasing view, good restaurant service, helpful stuffs. İ like it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Feb 2017
4.3

Beware - this does not have a common room or a kitchen. You're literally paying for a bed which makes your stay a lot more expensive. Security was slack - people were robbed when we were there as no one shuts the gate. Staff were rude apart from the night guy. We booked shark cage diving (which was amazing and a must-do!) which was totally undersold by the staff and they acted very put out when we asked them to help us book. However, great to wake up on the beach with great view!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

We had an excellent stay on the Santos Express and will definitely return. The view of Mossel Bay was fantastic and waking up to the sea was beautiful. Excellent facilities and staff were really helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Good staff, good place and very nice views, good price for services.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
4.6

We stayed in the dorm train. There was no electrical outlets, the WiFi only worked in a small area nowhere near our dorm, there was no hand soap to clean your hands, and there was some garbage left from the last person underneath my pillow. However it was right on the beach which was cool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.3

No communal area or lounge to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.9

Location depends on the weather: nice weather - great location, bad weather - bad location ;-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.6

Loved this place! Quirky, alternative and unconventional. Not the quietest night's sleep, but perfectly comfortable. And right on the beach. So glad we stayed at Santos :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.