Hostelworld.com

Santos Express Train B&B

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.8
Santos Express Train B&B Located at Private Bax X5, # 254, Mossel Bay.
Santos Express Train B&B
South Africa
Mossel Bay 6500 Private Bax X5, # 254
78% 189
-34.1784354 22.1380734
Santos Express Train B&B
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Apr 2016
7.7

The staff at this place are really nice and helpful. I wasn't feeling well when I arrive and ended up getting worse and they helped me find a doctor and a taxi. The view from the rooms is beautiful. Found it odd that there's no hand soap provided in any toilets in lodging. Tbh I wouldn't recommend the restaurant. Service was great but all the food I tried was fairly terrible. Overall a fine place to stay for just a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
5.7

Some friends and I slept in the dorm for 16 people. There was only one bathroom and toilet and only two plug sockets!!Very stressful if you want to charge your phone.After a horrible night we went to the reception and booked a double room. No one told us that breakfast is included while staying in a double room. So we paid for it the next morning and found out a few days later that it was included. No response from the hostel to my email till now. Only the location next to the beach was great.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Mar 2016
9.7

Precessional and on point with everything. Responds to emails and inquiries if there are any issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our stay in the Royal Suites, the restaurant food was great, we've already booked two rooms over Christmas due to our great stay!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
4.9

I didn't get a very nice welcome from this hostel. The dorm was nice but there isn't a social area where you can meet new people apart from at the restaurant. No kitchen facilities to cook your own food didn't enjoy my stay here thankfully I was here

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.4

Perfect! Loved the way that they tried to keep the original coaches as far as possible. Brought back fond memories of my childhood. Will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
7.7

I loved the train rooms and the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jan 2016
8.0

The cabins are cute but compact so be warned, try not to take too much luggage! The whole Place is kept very clean, the breakfast is good and the restaurant serves meals throughout the day and night which are reasonably priced. Location is excellent! Right on the beach and close enough to walk into town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • melrose_83
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
11th Jan 2016
6.9

Had a nice stay. The dorm room is quite squishy, not much room for your bags, there was only 4 of us when I stayed so wasn't a major problem but if it was full it could be a problem . The carriage was very hot during the day, it did cool down for the night but couldn't image on really hot days in the busy time. 1min to the beach which is a bonus. Easy walk to town. No secure luggage storage if u leave later in the day (it stays in front of the reception desk)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jan 2016
5.7

OK, booked into the 'express train' because the main place was full. The novelty of the sleeping on a train is pretty much what gets you through this - I had a bed in a no fewer than 16 bed dorm with one toilet and shower to go around. Yeah - that sucked, I didn't even try the shower I'm the morning, just a quick swim (Santos beach is lovely) Mossel Bay town itself is dull as nuts too, everything was shut pretty much all the time... and I was there in supposedly peak season?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.