Hostelworld.com

Santos Express Train B&B

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

We had an excellent stay on the Santos Express and will definitely return. The view of Mossel Bay was fantastic and waking up to the sea was beautiful. Excellent facilities and staff were really helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Good staff, good place and very nice views, good price for services.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
4.6

We stayed in the dorm train. There was no electrical outlets, the WiFi only worked in a small area nowhere near our dorm, there was no hand soap to clean your hands, and there was some garbage left from the last person underneath my pillow. However it was right on the beach which was cool.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.3

No communal area or lounge to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.9

Location depends on the weather: nice weather - great location, bad weather - bad location ;-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.6

Loved this place! Quirky, alternative and unconventional. Not the quietest night's sleep, but perfectly comfortable. And right on the beach. So glad we stayed at Santos :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.3

Amazing location, you can see the gorgeous beach from the bedroom window! Staff were helpful and assisted us to book activities. Convenient that the restaurant was next to reception. Dorm room was small and cosy but had lockers and was more than manageable for one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jftravel
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
7.1

Doesn't deserve the National Geographic top 10 unique hostel recommendation it received. Yes, it's an old train, but security wasn't great. Our door lock broke and the gate to get into the area was consistently left open. Wifi was terrible as well. Breakfast was small and not awesome. Good vibe though around the bar, close to the beach, and the fact it was a train was still pretty neat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
12th Nov 2016
7.1

We didn't get a very warm welcome and our room (twin) was tiny with no where to put bags. Maybe to be expected as it is a train. There isn't any common area to hang out in except the restaurant/bar so we always felt like we had to buy a drink to sit there and use the wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
8.3

amazing location and in an old train no kitchen , on the beach close to all facilities i recommended to everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.