X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sao Sebastiao Hostel Reviews

Rua Eduardo Cassio, 77, Sao Sebastiao, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
26 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 100%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Family run large hostel helpful staff and I really enjoyed swimming in their pool in the evening of a hot 35c day after my return from wonderful Ilhabela.Much cheaper to stay here than Ilhabela though about 20 mins walk to bus stn or 30 mins walk to Balsas where the ferry leaves passing large supermarket ideal for self catering.You can take a bus to Balsas on the main rd if you don¨t fancy the walk.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Good price for what you get.


54%

It seems management thinks "hostel" is an excuse for no atmosphere/extra charges. Sheets supposedly come with the price of the room, but really it's just the bottom sheet; the top sheet and blanket are each charged extra. Included breakfast is two pieces of sliced white bread, stale cake, & an apple. Most Brazilian hostels give at least some cheese & decent bread/fruit.Staff untrained in cancellation/refund policy, which is also made up on the spot. Exorbitant price for facilities, service, loc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Shannon. After checking in, it's part of our Cancellation Policy not to refund the nights you've already payed unless you let us know 24 hours in advance. Our breakfast, as mentioned before, is a courtesy and it's not included in our charges. About the exorbitant prices, please let us know about the charges and I will check that for you, because the most expensive service is the laundry ($1.00 per shirt). We apologize for the inconvenience. Best regards, Melissa.

49%

I was really disappointed with this hostel. We selpt in a not-yet-finished building with a lot of trash outside. You couldnt close the window, so everybody could easily enter our room. We had a private double room with a private bathroom inside, but the bathroom had no ceiling, so could hear everything :) The badest thing about the hostel was the breakfast, I was really angry about this. You get two pices, with a bit of butter! A joke and really brazen. The location was also not that good!

  • 2nd Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Our breakfast is a courtesy. We offer 2 slices of bread, butter, one fruit, one piece of cake, juice, coffee and milk. It's a hostel at the beach and part of our decoration is rustic but sorry about the inconvenience of hearing everything and thank you for sharing your experience. Best regards.

63%

Internet prices on Hostelworld are a rip-off. You get about 30% lower prices when reserving at the hotel directly. The staff is very unhelpful. It takes about one hour from arriving at the hotel until beeing able to enter your room. Lots of bureaucracy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. We apologize about that situation. Yet we thought the problem was solved after the money return. Thank you for sharing the experience and we hope to see you again soon.

83%

Nice place, clean and confortable, staff is very very nice, but the breakfast is very poor and bad!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ana Rita, Thank you for sharing your experience on our hostel. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services. As we already mentioned, our breakfast is a courtesy and we are working on our taxes to include a complete breakfast. Best regards, Melissa Morimoto

80%

There wasn't anything particularly outstanding about the place. Everything you could possibly need was walking distance from the hostel-supermarket, bank, restaurants, rodoviaria, even the ferry to Ilhabela. I liked that the neighborhood was quiet. The hostel is very spacious. The staff was approachable. My only real complaint is that the breakfast was severely lacking-just two slices of bread and a piece of fruit...I know breakfast isn't a big deal in Brasil, but the Hostel could do better.

  • 27th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your experience on our hostel. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services. Our breakfast is a courtesy and we are working on our taxes to include a complete breakfast. We apologize for the incovenience and hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Melissa Morimoto - São Sebastião Hostel.

83%

Nice hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Location is a little distant; about 25 minutes from busstation and from the pier to Ilha Bella. Rooms and bathroom are clean and spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your experience on our hostel. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services. We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Melissa Morimoto - São Sebastião Hostel.

74%

Greeted warmly when arriving by English-speaking staff. Reception staff were not quite as helpful, but were friendly. Strange amount of rules, and signs about said rules. A very new hostel, and perhaps some bugs to be ironed out still, but our stay was pleasant enough.

  • 3rd Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your experience on our hostel. Your opinion is very important for us to improve our services. We apologize for any incovenience and hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Melissa Morimoto - São Sebastião Hostel.



View all Sao Sebastiao Hostels

Please give us your feedback