X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Saqua Hostel & Surf Reviews

Rua Pitatunga, 800, Ita�na, Saquarema, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
62 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great guy and cool Hostel in Saqurema. About a five minutes walk to the beach.


97%

Jose is awesome! Super chill, tranquilo atmosphere. Recommended for a relaxing stay and good surf!

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice and chilled place ... highly recommended !!

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

The place is 20 minutes walking from the beach en 30 minutes walking from the Rodovaria, and so far from the center city. Our taxi didn't know where it was, and to go back to the statio, we had to walk with our big bags because there was no taxi or other solution. We wanted to rent bikes at the place but they were all broken!!! That 's a good place if you want to be in a calm place.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

The hostel was really basic - it has a poor breakfast, is 500m away from the beach (the only attraction in that neighborhood, unless you have a car and can go to Saquarema), and is also really small, with very few guests (as it does not have many rooms). The place is good only if you want to relax or get a few surf classes. Apart from that, the only good thing was the not-so-expensive price - although they don't accept cards.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ola Fabio, I just think people who don't like sun and beach should find a place on the mountains to stay. But no problem, I do understand some people are not happy at all. Hope best wishes in your life.

80%

Realy nice hostel. I would recommend it.


77%

Great atmosphere, friendly, relaxed, "home from home" Great host. Fantastic coffee Nice spaces to hangout: lounge, upstairs balcony Single bathroom lead to congestion/ not so clean etc...only really negative point

  • 3rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Lovely 2-day side trip to Saquarema. The 4-bed dorm room and the downstairs was spacious, clean and comfortable. The beach is a close 5 min. walk, with restaurants and a great view of the Church in town. Quiet streets, horses grazing, 40 miles of beautiful beach and huge surf (can hear the surf from the balcony at certain times). We walked everywhere from the hostel, safely, even at night. Jose was a great, laid back host who was interesting to get to know. Would definitely go back.


94%

Saqua hostel and surf is a very relaxed place. It's a nice and spacious house that offers everything you need. Jose is a really nice guy and very helpful! I stayed 3 nights and absolutely loved it, excellent place to chill out! Close to the beach and not too far from the supermarket. I definetely recommend it!


26%

This is the worst hostel we been to in South America. There is no internet, no kitchen-table, it´s dirty, the man who owns the place couldn´t call a taxi for us so we had to walk the 2,5km (with heavy backpacks) to the busstation. The location is far from the beach and veeery far from city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lina, I feel sorry you are the first (maybe only) person who don't like my place. It's a shame because people should be happy travelling but I understand some people are strange and never happy at all. Here I try to answer all your complains .. about the internet you knew there was a problem before you come, about the taxi you ask me to call it at last moment and I could not call and please do NOT lie about far from the beach because there are 2 beaches, Massambaba only 200 meters and Itauna (surf spot) 300 meters from the hostel. Saquarema is a place to the people looking for beach, sun, surf, fun, making friends ...

86%

We had such a great time at this hostel. Jose is a wonderful host and helped us with everything we needed. The beach is 3 minutes away and is pristine with great local restaurants and surfing, town is a 20 minute walk or 5 reals on a bicycle taxi. The rooms are spacious, there is a great book and dvd collection in the lounge and you are able to hire surf boards or boogie boards to take down to the beach with you.

  • 25th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Totally chilled out place, nice and quiet but near to the beach, good for surfers. Jose is very relaxed and pretty knowledgeable about whats whats around.


77%

If you wan´t to take it easy, this is te place to be. Located in a quiet town. There is a nice beach just few hundred meters from the hostel and you will find very few people there. We stayed in a double room which was very nice with lots of space. Two nice dogs also hang around the house.


60%

It´s more like staying at your boyfriends best friends house than in a hostel. If you wanna hang out and relax it´s good otherwise a bit far away from basicly everything. Good surfspot of advanced surfers, not so much for beginners.

  • 19th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Jose is very friendly, and helpful. Here is more like homestay, very quiete. So it is a very good option if you want to spend some peaceful days. Have a good trip.


87%

Very nice hostel and a quiet and calm location. The owner Jose is an absolutely likeable guy, so we just felt like staying at a friend's place. He picked us up from the busstation and even brought us there when left. The hostel is just a few minutes away from the beach and you can also relax at the patio very well. Breakfast was fine and the rooms clean. Excellent place to get some rest! Best wishes to Jose. Tommy and Anna

  • 23rd Mar 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple
  • (1 review)


83%

It was more like homestay, small hostel with very cosy living room. The Dorm was very basic, just beds, no shelves or hangers. The owner Jose lives in the same house and is very helpful and kind. Good place for those who want to take time out, just relax. The house is very close to the see. I loved my days there even I was not lucky with the weather.


100%

This is an excellent hostel. Very relaxed and friendly. Jose, the owner, does everything he can to make your stay better and is a great host. I highly recommend it as a place to stay. Andrew Thompson


77%

The guy that runs the hostel is amazing. The hostel was a bit boring, but could have been because we were the only people booked. Very basic, but clean and good service.


90%

Great host with good intentions. Offered to pick us up and drop us off at destinations, also drove us 15mins to Bacaxa for an appointment on our departure day. Very close to an all you can eat BBQ restaurant on the beach for only 12.90R's and close to the best surfing spot in Saquarema.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Saquarema Hostels

Please give us your feedback