Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sax Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 571 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Aug 2017
6.9

Sax hostel was nice and clean, with no bunk beds in my dorm! However, it was much further away from the town than all the other hostels, about 15 mins walk (25-30 from the bus station). The front door is very difficult to open so don't come home too drunk! And although there's a front door key, anyone can enter each dorm room. Lockers/keys are provided. The lady who checked me in was not very friendly, and there was not much atmosphere in the hostel, although to be honest I wasn't around much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.7

A funky hostel for sure. The dorms had so much character - in the attic and were clean and spacious. A locker for each bed and air conditioning. The hostel is a short walk from the city centre and in a lovely neighbourhood. It is a manageable 25 min walk to the train station with a rucksack and very scenic along the river and through the town. Our favourite hostel so far!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
9.4

I stayed here just for a day. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful, baths and toilets were so clean, AC was working but the best part of this hostel is that it has a pub. Do not leave there without drinking something at the pub.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kcrosssss
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
7.7

This was a great spot to stay for a few days, since it's a short walk from the city center and right next to the river. The pub downstairs was fun, but we were sad we didn't hear any sax or jazz music the whole time! The downside to this hostel is that there is no kitchen, just a table with a hot water kettle and mugs for tea. Not even a small fridge or anything. Loved the many outlets and reading lights at every bed. Would stay here again, if they get a fridge!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • carlyrose
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2017
7.4

Not a bad hostel! Pretty clean and met some cool people here :) Although was very disappointed as I booked it for he live jazz music and apparently they don't have it anymore .. little bit of false advertising on their behalf but still had a good stay 😊

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2017
9.7

Fave hostel in Ljubljana (stayed in another excellent one also). The room had AIR CON, the rooms were spacious, NO BED BUNKS, everyone we met in the hostel was awesome. Which is very variable I realise but defy contributes to the review. The bar downstairs is also good, and they do events sometimes. Also a short walk into town. Everyone in our room was travelling and a good mix between solo travellers to groups of 5. RECOMMEND!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • RobHenry97
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
7.1

staff were nice when they were there, which wasn't too often, and no kitchen but that is stated beforehand. 10min walk from centre, not had as ljubljana is small city. the rooms and the building was very nice and lively but not too loud to be able sleep at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
10.0

it was relatively empty during my stay, i'm traveling alone so i was kinda bummed. otherwise it was very clean, staff was nice, it's a short walk by the river to town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jul 2017
8.3

From the outside to the inside of the hostel the overall look of the place was really cool and really liked that the room we were in had no bunk beds for a change! The only downside of the room was that the wifi did not work upstairs, which was annoying. The hostel was slightly further away than we thought, but if you don't mind a 20 minute walk into the centre it's fine. In terms of atmosphere the hostel would benefit from a common area inside as it was hard to get to know others in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.3

No kitchen, but very clean and cozy atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.