Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sax Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.6

The pub was amazing and had great drinks. The location was a bit of a walk from the bus/train station but not too much (20 mins) I was a little miffed when I took the bottom bunk when I checked in (habit: I have paranoia of falling from the top bunk) and went out - only to return and find out that someone else had been checked in and given the bottom bunk despite me explicitly taking it and telling the staff at check in time. The ceiling was way too close to the top bunk and overall not ideal

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.1

Good location, nice bar out front. Clean facilities, friendly staff. Only real downfall was at about midnight we came to realise that the front door was left wide open and there was some random guy sleeping on the sofa outside of our room.. Strange situation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
10.0

We had a wonderful stay at this cool hostel, would certainly recommend to everyone; great location, wonderful host, clean and cosy hostel, and super cool pub! And ljubljana is a gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Always a pleasure to stay here, see you again next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Perfect hostel. Very good location, friendly and helpful staff, nice clean dorms. Big lockers with padlock provided free of charge. A very cozy pub in the same building. The only negative thing is that there is no kitchen!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
9.1

Everything is great about Sax but you can hear the music from ths bar below. Best for folk who intend to stay up beyond 1am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Great place, great staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.9

Really cute 'home' type hostel. Super clean the whole time we were there. We were in a double room which was really nice and the dorm rooms looked spacious. No communal area in winter (except Sax Pub) and no kitchen, both weren't a problem for us but may be annoying for others. About a 5 minute walk from town on a cute riverside road with lots of cheap restaurants/bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.9

Very helpful staff , especially with marathon preparation e.g. Baggage storage and a shower after checking out easy to find in the city, would benefit from kitchen facilities . Would definitely use again .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.