Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sax Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fabianlugthart
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
7.1

My friend got into a fight with one of the lockers and lost. now he looks like Harry Potter

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • wannabeaussie6226
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
20th Aug 2017
6.6

A bit far to walk from the bus station, nice little place, the pub was always busy so had to sit inside. Didn't like the low ceiling above the top bunks kept banging my head on it. Free tea and coffee with no milk. would recommend staying here for 2 nights if you want to chill.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
19th Aug 2017
8.6

Good hostel, cool bar and comfy bed. Bit of an error with our booking so unfortunately had to stay at another hostel for a night but other than that no complaints

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
9.1

Very cool hostel and I love the jazz music theme. The staff is friendly and always available to help. It's a small hostel so you won't find activities and recreational amenities like you would in bigger hostels but it works here because of the pub downstairs. Great pub that runs all day with music playing and it offers you a chance to meet people. Start your day with a drink and come back to it at night for a night cap too. Great stay, beautiful small city, I recommend this place to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2017
8.6

Great hostel and bar in a great location. Only downside is they don't have a kitchen or common room area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mitchduncan885275
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
13th Aug 2017
9.7

Super chill spot with friendly people. Close to all the action and good restaurants. Bit of a walk to the bus/train but worth it. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Aug 2017
6.9

Sax hostel was nice and clean, with no bunk beds in my dorm! However, it was much further away from the town than all the other hostels, about 15 mins walk (25-30 from the bus station). The front door is very difficult to open so don't come home too drunk! And although there's a front door key, anyone can enter each dorm room. Lockers/keys are provided. The lady who checked me in was not very friendly, and there was not much atmosphere in the hostel, although to be honest I wasn't around much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2017
9.7

A funky hostel for sure. The dorms had so much character - in the attic and were clean and spacious. A locker for each bed and air conditioning. The hostel is a short walk from the city centre and in a lovely neighbourhood. It is a manageable 25 min walk to the train station with a rucksack and very scenic along the river and through the town. Our favourite hostel so far!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
9.4

I stayed here just for a day. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful, baths and toilets were so clean, AC was working but the best part of this hostel is that it has a pub. Do not leave there without drinking something at the pub.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kcrosssss
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2017
7.7

This was a great spot to stay for a few days, since it's a short walk from the city center and right next to the river. The pub downstairs was fun, but we were sad we didn't hear any sax or jazz music the whole time! The downside to this hostel is that there is no kitchen, just a table with a hot water kettle and mugs for tea. Not even a small fridge or anything. Loved the many outlets and reading lights at every bed. Would stay here again, if they get a fridge!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×