Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sax Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
8.3

No kitchen, but very clean and cozy atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2017
8.6

Really helpful staff. Good location near restaurants and bars, and a 10 minute walk to city centre and a 20 min walk from train station. Towels provided. Room was really comfy with good air con and wasn't too crowded. Showers worked well and everything was really clean. Would definitely stay here again!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurencoar
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.1

No laundry facilities. Was told to go to launderette. Everything else was lovely. Not the most social atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.1

I loved this place - in a perfect place to access all of Ljublianas treasures and hip and clean. loved it! onlz issue was that there was no main space to make friends, which could be tough if thats what one is looking to do. but with friends, it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Very cool looking hostel, if you are on the first floor people tend to leave the windows open to the backyard and somebody could easily come inside, but since the town is the opposite of sketchy I wasn't really worried about my stuff being taken.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jul 2017
9.1

I really loved the Sax Hostel. I'm travelling on my own & Ljubljana was my first stop, and this hostel really helped me start my trip off well. It's nicer than any other hostel I've stayed at in terms of cleanliness & atmosphere. The garden is lovely to sit in after a day of walking around. It's right at the edge of the centre, but it's a small city so really not that far from anything. The bar is lovely with great music & staff are great. There aren't any real kitchen facilities though. Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • katerena
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel has a great vibe, really charming. It was easy to meet people in the courtyard and the pub. The staff was friendly and offered advice on events that really added a lot to our visit in Ljubljana. the location is a bit of a walk, but it is in a very pleasant neighborhood next to a stream. Would recommend, and would stay there again if visiting in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
8.6

We stayed for 2 nights everyone was really friendly, not to far from the centre perfect location. Only downside was not any real kitchen facilities but there's plenty of good places around for a super reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Tashmellow9
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2017
10.0

Super super hostel, clean and close to town. Meet the locals at the sax pub!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ginamattucci5507
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.0

Hostel is in a great location, a few minutes to the center of town and about 25 to the bus station but still a flat, easy walk. Fair warning though, there is no common space or kitchen in the hostel, and no where to store food or even silverware to just eat a yogurt. There's a cafe / bar beneath the hostel that only serves coffee and alcohol, no food, and they're open til about 2 am so it's incredibly loud in the 9 bed dorm directly above. That said I stayed a week b/c I still really liked it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.