X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping Reviews

schutzenbach, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

61%

Rating
29 Total Reviews
  • 56%Value For Money
  • 44%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 52%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

We went into it expecting a campground, and that's what we got. The rooms are a little musty but that is to be expected. There was a bar but we didn't check it out- yes the place is full of rowdy Aussies, which is fine. If you can get your own room, fight for it. It's no extra. Would have been happy enough but there was no staff when we tried to check out at 10-11am. The sign said "back at 4". Not acceptable. They also didn't have our reservation when we arrived but managed to squeeze us in.


77%

No locks on doors or to lock up personal belongings. We were allowed to keep important things behind the desk. Friendly staff!


71%

It's a campsite for bus tours, a different one comes and goes nearly everyday, so atmosphere depends on the type of people in that day. You have to pay extra to use the showers and the cookers in the kitchen and you only get 30 mins of free wifi which only works in the reception and is terrible anyway, but there's a few free wifi restaurants in town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Robert We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We would like to point out that a full breakdown of services that cost are posted on the website and that you received a welcome brief also stating these costs.

49%

I was less than impressed with Schutzenbach. It is clearly a hostel aimed at Top Deckers and as solo travellers, we were not made welcome at all. The post on Hostelworld is misleading as everything apart from the bed is not included - paying to use the showers!!!! The kitchen is barely a that, only hotplates which we had to pay 2 francs (!!!) to use for a measly 15 mins. Finally, upon checking out we were treated very rudely by the staff behind the desk.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We would like to point out that a full breakdown of services that cost are posted on the website and that you received a welcome brief also stating these costs. The type of atmosphere at Schützenbach is made clear on the website with all guests staying being similar age to yourself. On your departure day the managment were very diplomatic when all your credit cards were declined and we are not responsible for your lack of funds.

54%

Negative experience here. The staff was dismissive and aloof. There were no lockers (not a big deal) but also no locks to the dorms at all. Any random person could walk in. The bar downstairs was noisy and worst of all, there was an alarm/buzzer in the room that went off every hour and disturbed my sleep several times. I only stayed one night. Checked out the next day, eating up the full cost for the nights I didn't stay, but it was a good decision.




View all Lauterbrunnen Campsites

Please give us your feedback