Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ndjiajun
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
8.3

Staying at Schützenbach is one of the better decisions I've made. Sure it is a walk from the main station but it's a scenic walk. My room window looks out to Staubbach falls and I can climb the stairs to see the mountain in the distance! Yes, you have to pay for hot showers and the stove but it's not a huge deal, it was enough for me to cook a meal and take a shower. As for security, yes there are no lockers or locked doors but there was only one guy with me. Might be a problem if it was full

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
7.4

My family of 5 were travelling around Switzerland (2-50 yr olds, 2-20+, and a 16 yr old). I had booked through hostelworld no problem. Upon arrival I was told the hostel was for 18-35 yr olds and a party hostel accommodating many tour groups. I was told it would be noisy and the bar is open til 3 am. With no other recourse due to the 7 day cancellation policy, we stayed. Yes there were two buses of young people but we had no problems- slept well and the tour groups were well managed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.1

We stayed here in mid-May and had a fantastic experience! While it is a 15 minute walk from the train station, a bus is available to drop you off at the hostel of you wish. The reception hours are odd (8am-noon and 4-8pm), but the staff is very friendly and helpful. The bar is open late so you can check in after hours if needed. The views of the valley from our window were stunning! Easy access to the whole Jungfrau region and all it has to offer! For the price, I will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

We loved our stay here. The woman who owns the place is one of the nicest, chilliest people we've ever met. You get a yummy chocolate when you check in an out. Keep in mind that a double bed in this part of the world is two twins pushed together and two duvets, which is a bummer but it's standard. I think it's a party hostel because top deck tours can use it as a base, but it was quite quiet when we were there. I highlyyy recommend staying in Lauterburen over interlaken - it's magical and centra

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
7.4

Paying for warm water was the only drawback. Otherwise the cost to value was pretty good. Great staff and fun atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
2.9

Rudeness from the manager and receptionist. The first thing she said they had no reservations for that day. The heating in the room wasn’t working: she said it would work but never did, she said THIS IS A HOSTEL, NOT A HOTEL. Very cold, we sleep with jackets on. The password stopped working for no reason??? and one couldnt ask to fix it because reception opened randomly 4hs per day. Funny that no sugar was given to us unless we bring down a plate from the room. Hidden charges

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you know your reservation was canceled due to lack of funds. But we were kind enough to let you stay! At no time were we rude or unhelpful towards you! All the other guests had a great time as did all our previous guests.

  • hakimcheharun
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

Its the first hostel I have been which I need to pay for everything. There are coin machine for the shower and stove, its unlucky if you didnt bring some swiss franc coin, you wont be able to cook or having hot shower. The reception is not 24hr, close early, need to wait in the morning, anyway the staff is very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Oops. Were a mature couple. There is an age restriction on this hostel and we didnt know. This is a party hostel, by the way. On the hostelworld site says nothing about this. But we had a great time, no complains. The staff was great. The only party we saw didnt bothered us at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.9

The location is perfect....Cozy atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Sophie0206
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Shutzenbach is great. We stayed in a private room which was recently renovated and was really nice. Shared bathroom was also really good. Staff were really friendly. The late check in was a bit annoying but probably our fault for not noticing that it was how it worked. Can easily get bus to main shops or walk - not too far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.