Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

Great hostel to stay in - has option of quiet/loud dorms. Note that while security is low, Lauterbrunnen is an incredibly safe place so lockers/keys aren't necessary. You do have to pay for usage of hotplates and showers (you can have a free shower if you don't mind cold water). This hostel is used a lot by tour groups - Topdeck, Contiki etc. so be prepared for some noise, especially if you are in main cabin area. Sort walk to centre of town/train station. Wifi not available in all areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jul 2017
7.4

Very/too expensive

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • annaking55
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.1

There are no lockers in the rooms but it is a very safe location. Some of the information they provide is confusing. For example we we were told the kitchen was open 24 hours but the sign on the door said it closed at 10pm, but it never ended up closing. The kitchen has everything you need. The only thing you have to pay for is the hot plate. Overall this place is very pleasant and clean with beautiful views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.3

This was a great place to stay, facilities were clean and available all the time. There was no locks on dorm rooms but the place felt very safe, would definitely recommend! The views were amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
9.4

I stayed in the hostel part of this place (most are cabin-type dorms). It's a super safe area, but the dorm didn't have any locks on the doors and a small enough town that you can walk everywhere. While I was here, a bunch of tour groups came and they really got the party going in the bar that's there. It was a lot of fun! You do have to pay for the showers, but it wasn't super expensive. The hostel was such a great deal for Switzerland!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2017
8.0

It is a party hostel and alot of happenings (drinking, chillax, cooking, bar, party etc). Good view of the waterfalls and the valley from the property. We misjudged the google map distance and it is quite some walking distance from the train station with the luggages. But there is public bus to reach the property at chf3 one way if you do not have any passes. Room is tidy and cozy. Clean toilets. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
8.0

We had a great stay here in a private bedroom with shared bathrooms on the same floor. Good basic amenities however do keep in mind that using the stove, microwave and washing machine costs money. Overall, we had a great stay and it was good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.0

No security at all. could be cleaner Have to pay for showers, cooking, even the kettle - it was a little much. the room was spacious and the beds were quite comfy - the staff were friendly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.1

Was absolutely great, staff were really helpful and friendly. While security wasn't as good as other hostels I have stayed at, I never felt my stuff was at risk of being stolen because of the friendly atmosphere in the dorm and the safeness of the area. Facilities were great and there was a lively atmosphere in a really good location. Would definitely stay here again especially because of the value of the hostel in a very expensive area of Switzerland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

Such an amazing spot, great showers, beds and cooking facilities. The rooms had no locks or locker but you had a choice of locking your stuff up at reception. We had a very comfortable stay. What a beautiful place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.