Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2017
9.4

Our stay in Lauterbrunnen was phenomenal. Myself and three others made the trip down to hike in the Alps for a day. The hosts made everything so easy and provided us with all that we needed. The rooms were very clean with lockable doors, showers were warm, and views were stupid pretty! We had great conversation with the owner (Deb) upon our arrival and the next night when we headed out for dinner. She was wonderful & had a lot to say about a lot of things; one of the cooler people I've met!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.7

I can't say enough about this hostel. Due to some sort of mistake I was booked when they weren't open. They opened the hostel SPECIFICALLY FOR ME, and couldn't have been nicer about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.1

The staff here opened in down season just for us due to a mix up with Hostelworld booking. They were super friendly regardless and made our stay super comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Great place. About 20 minutes from train station. Has kitchen but you have to pay 2 francs to use burner for 15 minutes which isn't enough time for a proper meal. So Cooking here to save money might want to rethink it. Other than that this place is all you need. A clean bed, showers. They don't lock the rooms which could cause an issue, but I had none in my 3 night stay. Cool place on a gorgeous area!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

Great place to stay, just beware of that you have to pay for a hot shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.4

They call it a "party hostel" but don't hold your breath. To be honest you won't want to party and wake up with a hangover in such a beautiful place. The place is immaculate and had fantastic facilities with so many toilets and showers. Very comfortable dorms. Best value for money, so much cheaper than Jungfrau and better. Walking distance to everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
5.7

No security.. The dorm didn't even have a lock and there's no keys provided. Wouldn't think it was that hard to put a lock on the door! That said I didn't feel unsafe. Not sure if the sheets are clean because there are no assigned beds/ you don't give your sheets back so how would they know what bed has been used. No real atmosphere. Good location- 15 min walk from town. Have to pay to use the stove (2 frank-15 mins) & shower (.50 for 5 mins). Not bad but nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
5.1

We had originally requested a double bed, as I was traveling with my partner, but they instead gave us a room with two single beds. Fine, a bit disappointing but not the end of the world. We woke up to realize the place was covered in bugs! My partner was bitten everywhere. What a disaster! We had planned an early excursion and so weren't able to see the staff in the morning. On our return, their office was closed (they have awkward hours). They also never answered their emergency number.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.