Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 124 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping Located at schutzenbach, , Lauterbrunnen.
Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping
Switzerland
Lauterbrunnen be 3822 schutzenbach
81% 124
46.5899391 7.9125595
Schutzenbach Backpackers & Camping
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Great place. About 20 minutes from train station. Has kitchen but you have to pay 2 francs to use burner for 15 minutes which isn't enough time for a proper meal. So Cooking here to save money might want to rethink it. Other than that this place is all you need. A clean bed, showers. They don't lock the rooms which could cause an issue, but I had none in my 3 night stay. Cool place on a gorgeous area!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

Great place to stay, just beware of that you have to pay for a hot shower

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.4

They call it a "party hostel" but don't hold your breath. To be honest you won't want to party and wake up with a hangover in such a beautiful place. The place is immaculate and had fantastic facilities with so many toilets and showers. Very comfortable dorms. Best value for money, so much cheaper than Jungfrau and better. Walking distance to everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Sep 2016
5.7

No security.. The dorm didn't even have a lock and there's no keys provided. Wouldn't think it was that hard to put a lock on the door! That said I didn't feel unsafe. Not sure if the sheets are clean because there are no assigned beds/ you don't give your sheets back so how would they know what bed has been used. No real atmosphere. Good location- 15 min walk from town. Have to pay to use the stove (2 frank-15 mins) & shower (.50 for 5 mins). Not bad but nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
5.1

We had originally requested a double bed, as I was traveling with my partner, but they instead gave us a room with two single beds. Fine, a bit disappointing but not the end of the world. We woke up to realize the place was covered in bugs! My partner was bitten everywhere. What a disaster! We had planned an early excursion and so weren't able to see the staff in the morning. On our return, their office was closed (they have awkward hours). They also never answered their emergency number.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
6.9

Absolutely no security. No keys, lockers or anything. Some of the staff were great others were rude and very unhelpful. Despite that it is in a good location with beautiful views.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurentheberger
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
20th Aug 2016
7.7

Great kitchen (although 2 CHF for cookig heat - kettle is free). Staff weren't super friendly - but were relatively helpful. Open dorm, no key or lockers (had my own locks). Close to town - 20-25 minute walk to the Coop (supermarket). Cute (bit more expensive) cafes in town. Lotsa nice walks around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.4

Perfect place to relax. Short ten minute walk into town or a bus ride if you are feeling lazy. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Luckily Lauterbrunnen is a safe town because the dorm has no keys, so anybody could walk in. Valuable sage was available. Also have to pay to cook and shower, which was mild disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
5.7

All in all it was a decent place to stay. Staff were helpful, although there's no lockers which is a worry especially when you're in a 12 bed mixed dorm. I did however feel somewhat safe, although someone had changed my friend's combination on her lock for her backpack which was stressful. Also, there's no airport transfers so if you're catching a flight early, there are no trains superrr early so you'd probably have to stay in Bern the night before...that's what we had to do! Bit of a pain

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.4

Our stay here couldn't have been better. It was in the most beautiful location in the world, the staff was extremely helpful and kind and informative, our room was nice and clean for us when we arrived, and they even gave us Swiss chocolate when we checked out! I would recommend getting a lock for your luggage though since the rooms didn't have any locks on them. Otherwise, this place was awesome! Highly recommend staying here and it was 100% worth the low price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.