X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Seadragon Backpackers Reviews

36 Waterloo Street, Brighton, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
254 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Seadragon is a lovely little hostel with very accommodating staff - our stay in the private room made it feel more like a b&b than a hostel :)


97%

Great hostel, everything is well organised and the staff are friendly.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I just stayed a few hours but i like this place. Especially staffs, they all were smiling and try to help travellers anytime. I think only one inconvinience is location. I think it's a bit far from brighton station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi and thank you for your feedback. We think we are in a great location! Within a ten minute walk of the main centre of town but still surrounded by restaurants, shops, late night convenience stores and many others. Bus stops around the corner and of course thirty seconds to the water and beautiful promenade. Whilst it's true that you can choose accommodation closer to the station, with that comes the extra noise from late night revelers and most likely higher rates :-)

89%

I liked it so much the first time I came back on a repeat trip to Brighton. Slept like a baby on a soft soft bed. Kevin remembers everyone that comes through, because he's awesome like that.


86%

Really friendly and helpful staff, very cosy hostel


94%

Me and my friends stayed there for two nights. The staff was super nice and gave us loads of advice of going around in Brighton. We liked it a lot especially the lounge, so nice to chill out and talk with friends.


83%

Friendly staff, SUPER comfy beds, a small sitting room. It's a bit difficult to get in to the shower in the place, with one bathroom/shower on each floor for two rooms each. Great kitchen facilities. It's good enough that there were a lot of people staying long term.


100%

Great place. Rooms are quiet and clean, mattresses are comfy, dorms also have seating areas + shelving which is useful. Kitchen has everything you need plus breakfast stuff is always supplied. Bathrooms on each floor kept clean, good water pressure. Staff were very helpful, manager is nice, overall no complaints. Would stay again.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A very friendly and welcoming hostel. Close to the shops and supermarkets including Waitrose and Co Op. We stayed in a double room No. 1. Lovely light little room with a memory foam mattress on the bed. We had the most comfortable nights sleep ever! 1 small thing though, there was nowhere to hang our clothes. We will absolutely be staying here again.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Nicest hostel I have stayed in to date.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super friendly staff, rooms are basic, but nice and clean. Lovely kitchen! Only 15 min walk from city centre. Recommended!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

My girlfriend and i spent 2 nights here in a private room and we didnt want to leave!! Had an amazing time here! Beautifully decorated, central location, wonderful staff. Kevin was amazing! Very helpful and friendly. Huge selection of complimentary breakfast foods, kitchen is big and has everything you need. Would definitely be back here again!!!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (9 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for such an excellent review! If you visit Brighton again we hope to see you back at Seadragon :-)

89%

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel in Brighton. It was clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

This hostel was a short walk to the beach and 15 minute walk to the pier. The kitchen amenities were great and breakfast was available at anytime. The staff were welcoming and helpful. I could see the ocean from the 4 bed mixed dorm I stayed in. The hostel is beautifully deforested and makes for a great atmosphere.


86%

would definitely stay again if i ever needed a hostel in brighton! the kitchen could do with some extra things… there didn't seem to be a frying pan whilst i was there… but apart from that, it's a super lovely place, near plenty of supermarkets and a little walk to the beach. really cute spaces too - the seating area for breakfast is adorable. really friendly staff!


100%

This place is great, owners and manager are very helpful and friendly, and the place is clean and tidy,. Great value for the money no room over 4 beds, a very nice bathroom on each floor, with unlimited hot water to wash away the travel woes. Nice kitchen and lounge areas, free Wi-Fi. Also they are security conscious, with automatic lighting where needed, like outside the side after hour’s entrance. Terrific location, close to beach and shopping, there's a great co,-op market just steps away.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks very much for a great review! We are constantly looking to improve the service that we offer to our guests so it's lovely to get some positive feedback. Thanks again and please look us up if you head back this way!

91%

Hostel was great, warm and friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Facilities were clean and the place is obviously run very well. Would recommend.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Accueil adorable, hotel bien placé non loin de la plage,du centre historique et de la gare. Si vous avez le sommeil leger, ce n'est pas très très bruyant mais prévoir des boules quies car la chambre donne sur la rue.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely hostel and good location, close to all amenities, really handy. I loved the deco and the atmosphere there, everyone was really friendly, I had a lovely stay in Brighton.


86%

Excellent beds, great nights sleep. Hostel is undergoing renovation which is why it was so cheap, but this did not really affect our trip at all. Overall definitely enjoyed it. Longer reception hours would be preferable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your lovely review! We agree that our beds are extremely comfortable :-) Our renovation is now complete and we are looking at extending our reception hours, thanks again for your feedback, Kevin, manager.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(183 results)


View all Brighton Hostels

Please give us your feedback