X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
909 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Amazing staff---they really made us feel at home with their cheerfulness and warmth, and by setting up activities like hostel dinners. The location is prime as well. Small rooms, but that is to be expected in the heart of Istanbul. Would go back again, if just to see Memo.


100%

Second home is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. The staff are happy and helpful. The breakfast is pretty decent compared to other free breakfasts I've had in hostels before. Best thing is the location. Shops and restaurants just a few metres away, and the main sights of the old city not far beyond that. Easy to get to too, with a tram stop at the end of the street.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and location in the heart of Istanbul! They organize dinner to meet up and fun for all guests, it is so nice to chat with another travelers when you are alone! Highly recommended.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us book some football tickets which is not an easy process in Turkey. Within walking distance of the grand and spice bazaar as well as the Blue Mosque. Recommend the Red River pub if you like a drink.


100%

very welcoming! The atmosphere is friendly and very hospitable. One of the staff memo was very helpful. He assisted with booking my hamam, my shuttle and any other infomation i needed. The rooms were clean and the vibe of the hostel was great with a rooftop terrace to chill. Staying here my third time. Def recommend! Enjoyed all the staff!


89%

+Friendly staff, quiet area, Wi-Fi, computer with internet access and possibility to print (1TL) +Clean rooms +Small but sufficient breakfast: eggs, bread, marmelade, cheese, butter, apples, cookies, milk with tea or coffee +Shuttle service for 10€ to Sabiha Gökcen airport; 5€ to Atatürk As negative points: -no lockers -showers with so much chlorine that after a few days, the skin starts to dry and hitch -a cat (Mimi) so affectionate that it starts quick to be really annoying :P


100%

Perfect, very comfortable, safe and friendly staff. Wifi was not very strong in my room but I was hardly in and 24hrs internet was always available in the lobby. Otherwise highly recommended!

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The most important part of this hostel is the attention, is excellent, they are always in a good mood and ready to help, the breakfast consist on cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, tea (many flavors), bread with jam, butter and cheese and some cake and biscuits, is not exacly typical but is really good and will get you nice and running, the double bed room ensuite is good but lacks some ventilation, which contributes for some accumulation of humidity, but is not a big deal, 4,5/5 would recommend


80%

The guys working in the hostel really make it what it is -kind, helpful, fun, talkative, make you feel that they care about you as an individual. The super cute kitten (Feb 2015) is a lovely addition. Nice to get a free breakfast, I liked being able to try all of the Turkish Teas. My private room had good furniture but a strange layout, the sockets in odd position in relation to the bed, and bed side lamp would be appreciated. Also some damp in the corners that needs looking at.


100%

I was delighted to stay at Second Home in Istanbul. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is friendly and warm. The rooms are clean and quiet. When you want privacy, you can have it. When you want to be social, you can do this as well. Memo planned a night out for some of us so the guests could get to know each other. It was nice to know that as a single female traveler, someone was looking out for me. I had a wonderful stay and look forward to staying here again.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The is really like a home for me,nice atmosphere,nice bed and nice Turkish teaXD. Also the location is really good for everywhere


97%

In five minutes, you can walk to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque- the location is perfect! . The staff was more than helpful when we had questions. Breakfast was filling - be sure to try all the Teas they offer at breakfast (the apple tea is highly recommended!) Second Home helped us organize a trip to Pamukkale. When the bus arrived late, they were more than helpful when we called to find out if we had missed our tour. They took care of everything, and you can genuinely trust them.


91%

Comfy beds and great atmosphere! Very central. We had a great time playing darts, arm wrestling and having dance parties with Yussuf. :-)


100%

Sehr zu empfehlen! Das Hostel hat alles, was man für einen perfekten Urlaub in einer atemberaubenden Stadt wie Istanbul braucht: gemütliche Zimmer und Betten, ein gutes Frühstück, eine perfekte Lage und eine Staff, die nicht nur sehr hilfsbereit ist, sondern sich auch Zeit für die Gäste nimmt - natürlich nur wenn man will! Es war schon mein zweiter Besuch im Second Home Hostel in Istanbul und wird bestimmt nicht mein letzter gewesen sein!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were engaging and genuinely interested in your experience. Location was convenient. Breakfast decent. Wifi worked well. Sewage smell from drains was a turn off. Power and lights beside beds would really help. Showers had difficulty maintaining consistent temperature. Please, if you won't pick up a paint brush, at least wash the walls, yuck. I would stay there again.


89%

Great location near public transit and within walking distance of many historical sites. Relaxing atmosphere, cute kitten, and good internet for a hostel. Only complaint is that the first floor hallway smells really foul every evening.


100%

Awesome hostel, staff super lovely and super helpful! Always someone there who can help out with where to go, where to find good food or how to get somewhere! Awesome location, minutes from sites, ferry terminals, main train station, metro/tram stop and markets!! Rooms are good, screens on shower(!!), well stocked kitchen with ample space, good common area and staff ready to chat and make you feel at home after a big day! Breakfast good and included, wifi all over. Will definitely go back here!


94%

Such a good experience with Second Home hostel. They are so very hospitable and help you out in every queries you might have about the city or places. Three people I would really name were Memo, Katherine and Yousuf. They are really good at welcoming you and making you comfortable. I am definitely staying at second home hostel the next time i visit Istanbul

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing staff, hostel truly holds up the name as one feels at home. Superb choice, will recommend without a doubt and will repeat whenever in Istanbul,

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very warm and easy-going environment with enough staff to chat to anytime.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback