X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
935 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everything was awesome! Hosts were great, very helpful. Room Was perfect! Shower worked well. Location is great.


94%

The directions in the website are very confuse, we didn't know how to arrive there with public transport and they offer a transfer's service for 10€ person from sabiha airport but in the mail that we received was saying more money to the dá-me transfer. Only this is bad, because our stay there was great!


94%

Absolutely great place to stay! The people are extremely friendly and helpful, and the Turkish night is one of the best experience I had in Istanbul! Highly recommended.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful place to stay. A truly second home.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Great breakfast included!


100%

Exactly what a hostel should be and 1 of the best I have stayed in. Incredibly chilled and a great place to meet people. If you need help the staff will always provide or even take you for a night out or a meal if you like. Breakfast runs late which is ideal if you have been up late. The roof terrace is amazing and a great place to relax.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The Facilities are very basic but always clean. The location is extremely good. Nice rooftop terrace. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff were nice and the location is good but the rooftop was filthy and stank. After looking around I realized the smell was coming from cat litter which looked like it had never been changed. There is nowhere secure to leave your bags before/after checkout. They tell you to place them in the hallway.


100%

Spent more time on the rooftopthan on the streets. Friendly staff, great location (very easy to get from Ataturk airport and train station just a few minutes of walk away) and clean. Lucky also to have a great lik-minded travel crew to hang out with.


86%

Great breakfast, great staff, great atmosphere! Really made my stay in Istanbul amazing! I wish there were lights on the bunks and more power outlets, but small change with everything else Second Home has to offer. Great location!


100%

Second home hostel is the perfect compromise if you want to have fun in Istanbul saving as much money as possible! The place is in the city center and very clean and neat. Memo and Can who run the hostel are just cool and amazing, trying his best to help you and to make you feel home. We had an amazing night out with them. They were so kind to show us the real Istanbul night life, going together to a club where Turkish people go, so to avoid the more fake and touristic stuff.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We travelled to istanbul for 5 days last week and stayed in this awesome hostel right in the city center. After leaving our stuff in the room we were invited to visit the rooftop where we found 4 little kittens, an amazing view over istanbul, food, good music and amazing people! We stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm and it was brilliant ! if you're visiting istanbul please stay in this hostel! the staff will help you with everything you need. and you'll be within 2 minutes walk from the blue mosque.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, the stuff is adorable, really helpful and fun! I had an unforgettable time! Thank you!

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Arrived later than expected but they were fine with this. Great place with friendly staff and some cute kittens!


94%

There didn't seem to be any security at all, including unlocked rooms and front door, but I also did not feel unsafe at any point. Welcome tea upon arrival was very nice. Great atmosphere and staff!


89%

Amazing staff---they really made us feel at home with their cheerfulness and warmth, and by setting up activities like hostel dinners. The location is prime as well. Small rooms, but that is to be expected in the heart of Istanbul. Would go back again, if just to see Memo.


100%

Second home is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. The staff are happy and helpful. The breakfast is pretty decent compared to other free breakfasts I've had in hostels before. Best thing is the location. Shops and restaurants just a few metres away, and the main sights of the old city not far beyond that. Easy to get to too, with a tram stop at the end of the street.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and location in the heart of Istanbul! They organize dinner to meet up and fun for all guests, it is so nice to chat with another travelers when you are alone! Highly recommended.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us book some football tickets which is not an easy process in Turkey. Within walking distance of the grand and spice bazaar as well as the Blue Mosque. Recommend the Red River pub if you like a drink.


100%

very welcoming! The atmosphere is friendly and very hospitable. One of the staff memo was very helpful. He assisted with booking my hamam, my shuttle and any other infomation i needed. The rooms were clean and the vibe of the hostel was great with a rooftop terrace to chill. Staying here my third time. Def recommend! Enjoyed all the staff!


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback