X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
844 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great location, helpful staff. Enjoyed my stay!


80%

Great atmosphere and extremely helpful and friendly staff, especially Omar. However our room smelt musty and the mould in the shower was concerning.


100%

Great hospitality ! It is my first experience that staff who are so willing to help plan your sightseeing and assist with every aspect of your vacation. The location is perfect and everything is easily accessible from the hotel. The breakfast is good enough to start to day and great atmosphere with chatting another traveller in the lobby. Wi-fi is really fast even in the rooms ! It is totally SECOND HOME as they make you feel all the time!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Thanks for exelent weekend break. I kindly recomended Second Home hostel. Very good location, clean and big room, very nice stuff. :)


100%

Very welcoming staff, greeted with tea and they went through the surrounding area and what we should see. Also they staff the front desk 24/7 so whenever you have a question or need to get a taxi, someone is there to help. Would definitely come back here.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had a great time! Thanks for making us feel at home.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is great, less than 5 minutes from Gulhane tram station, and all the attractions and important places to visit are still within the walking distance. The hostel staff are nice and friendly and they will answer all your queries even before you arrived there. They let us stay in the same room (private room) rather than the dorm with the same price. In total I stayed there for 6 nights.The room a bit too small and there were not enough locker for dorm room and small too.


51%

There were ants all over our room.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We've spent 4 fantastic days in Istanbul, thanks to the hostel, our stay was very nice, after the long day trips we could have rest and reload for next day. From the roof terrace we got a wonderful view on the city, and on Bosphorus bridge with its red lights by night. The hostel has a very good location, everything ,what is for tourist, is in the neighbouring streets. The staff was always extremly friendly, gave us always tips and hints what to see and do in the city, thank you guys again!!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect stuff, perfect clean rooms, great atmosphere, delicious breakfast (and sometımes homemade dınner by the stuff) and best locatıon very close to sultanahmet and galata. hıghly recommended, best hostel ı have stayed so far. MEMO IS THE BEST

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an amazing week in Istanbul, made so much better by The Second Home. The location is fantastic for seeing the sights, and the staff are fantastic for seeing a more local side of life. Looking forward to coming back.


100%

The staff was so great. Very welcoming and nice. Istanbul we felt was a little unsafe but the staff made us feel welcome and offered to take us out at night and show us around. Location is also perfect with plenty of shops and food close by as well as short walk from most of the sites. Highly recommend.


91%

Nice hostel, location was perfect (3 min walking to sirkeci and 10 to eminonu stations, most touristic spots at walking distance) and facilities good enough. Friendly staff. Only "downside" was that the private double we booked was in an other building (very close to the hostel though); nothing to complain about the room, it was probably bigger than the ones in the hostel.


60%

We stayed 4 nights as we wanted to see old Istanbul, which is really worth it. The hostel is more like a small hotel no real hostel atmosphere. Kitchen is more a tea kitchen. Common area is more a hang out for the people working there. Staff is not really engaging and not interested in creating a nice experience. This is a good place to stay just do not expect hostel atmosphere. We had our bicycles with us which was no problem so that was nice. www.twistingspokes.com

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The guys at hostel are really friendly and hard workers, they do all posible to help and make a good stay. The room for a one person was ok, a little bit tight as no room to walk around it, but as all places, if you are just coming to sleep is good, bed sheets were just ok, need to renew some of those.


86%

Great location! the best ever! Stuff is very friendly and Memo answer to almost all your questions about the city, public transportation and the atractions of the city. The breakfast is a little bit poor, but enought to put you on the road. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very central location that you can walk from hostel to all historical sides. The rooms are really clean and comfort. They also serve Turkish Dinner some days to show their traditional kitchen, make an atmosphere for the guest, it was the great mood though. Staffs ( Memo, Kaan, Can, Omar and Huseyin ) are really helpful and they give you tips in the city. They also provided Turkey tours for me, especially Cappadocia was great, i recommend everybody ! If i come back to Istanbul, i know my home !

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed one week at this hostel and I loved it....The guys are excellent hosts, I felt warmly welcomed and had a lot of fun with the crew! Showers are hot and baths and the room clean.a little bit loud from outside, but if you close the window there is a ventilator in the room.I stayed in 4beds female Dorm.


89%

Great hostel. Great location, met lots of other really nice travellers, nice size and the guys that worked there were really nice. Definitely recommended for other travellers - both in groups or travelling alone.


100%

Hi guys, Thanks for such an awesome time and keeping me company :) Good luck with everything and I hope to be back some day!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(559 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback