X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
763 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Location was good if you want to be near sites like blue mosque and aya Sophia. Bit far from the night life, but I walked there and back everyday and night so can't complain. Hosts are fantastic, helpful, nice, caring. Beds comfy, rooms clean. Showers had hot water at all times.


80%

Great hostel and very well located! it takes you about 10 minutes to get to other attractions.

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was very nice and the breakfasts included a hard boiled egg. They invited us to join them for dinner when we 1st arrived and it was delicious. I can't think of anything that was a problem and we enjoyed their rooftop terrace which is shaded from the sun.


91%

Hello! This is the best hostel ever! If you are planning your trip to Istanbul and checking this hostel, you must stop searching and go to the Second Home Hostel immediately! I'm definitely coming back! I would've never enjoyed my trip that much if I stayed somewhere else! Good luck everyone!

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Pretty good location and great friendly and helpful staff

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The Location is good: near to the Topkapi Sarayi etc., tram, buses and ferries. The Price was too high for this oppressive room. Staff was very polite, helpful and friendly even if they were concerned about making extra money by offering us help with services.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were really great here. Trustworthy and friendly and helpful. The only downfall was the first night we only had one PowerPoint which the fan was plugged into and the shower was open for anyone to walk into with two showers in the one bathroom. We had no safe or lockers either. Otherwise excellent! Would recommend and stay again.


94%

Second Home Hostel is a great stay in the old part of Istanbul. It is a short walk (10 mins or less) to most of the sites you set out for in Old Town. It is located near lots of restaurants. The rooms are on the smaller side but clean and well equipped, and the rooftop terrace is really fantastic. But more than anything, the staff here go out of their way to make your stay incredible. Everybody there is an exceptional host and very friendly. They even cooked us an amazing dinner one night!


89%

Friendly staff, very handy location, the room was clean

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It was also nice thing in istanbul.

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location; just 10 min walk to palace, blue mosque, etc. Staff was awesome as well! They made it easy to be social and hosted some good times on the roof top terrace.


100%

I would like to tell the boss of this hostel, that he/she has really wonderful employees and I sincerely hope, he/she is aware of that.

  • 16th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel... Staff are friendly welcoming and helpful. Have recommended and will stay again!


89%

Very nice staff, they were very friendly! The hostel is well located, 10 minutes walking from the major sights. Great city to visit. I wish I spend more days there....


89%

This was great hostel to stay in. The location is really close to all the interesting sites in the old part part of the city. The staff here are what make it, they are a really friendly and helpful group and create a fun social vibe.


89%

Great hostel. Good value for money. Fantastic location.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel has an amazing atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and fun to be around. They went out of their way to assist with further travel plans in Turkey. The roof terrace was excellent and the hostel often had Turkish dinners up there which was a great way to meet people. It was walking distance to all the main sights and in a safe area. I will definitely stay there again next time I go to Istanbul.


97%

Great hostel. Wonderful and friendly atmosphere. Especially enjoyed the rooftop after dinner and the homemade meals.

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Location is what makes this hostel excellent. It is right beside Topkapi Palace. It has it's own tramway stop at Gulhane. It's near Sirkeci train station. It's near the Eminou ferry stop and Galata bridge. So if you want to tour Sultanahmet, cross over to Taksim on the other side, or go anywhere in Istanbul, it's very easy. The hostel itself is professionally run. It has strong wifi everywhere. It's clean. It's fair. Shout outs to John, Jason and especially Memo. Good work, guys! :)


100%

Excellent staff and hostel, really feel at home!


(511 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback