X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
859 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

There were ants all over our room.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We've spent 4 fantastic days in Istanbul, thanks to the hostel, our stay was very nice, after the long day trips we could have rest and reload for next day. From the roof terrace we got a wonderful view on the city, and on Bosphorus bridge with its red lights by night. The hostel has a very good location, everything ,what is for tourist, is in the neighbouring streets. The staff was always extremly friendly, gave us always tips and hints what to see and do in the city, thank you guys again!!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect stuff, perfect clean rooms, great atmosphere, delicious breakfast (and sometımes homemade dınner by the stuff) and best locatıon very close to sultanahmet and galata. hıghly recommended, best hostel ı have stayed so far. MEMO IS THE BEST

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had an amazing week in Istanbul, made so much better by The Second Home. The location is fantastic for seeing the sights, and the staff are fantastic for seeing a more local side of life. Looking forward to coming back.


100%

The staff was so great. Very welcoming and nice. Istanbul we felt was a little unsafe but the staff made us feel welcome and offered to take us out at night and show us around. Location is also perfect with plenty of shops and food close by as well as short walk from most of the sites. Highly recommend.


91%

Nice hostel, location was perfect (3 min walking to sirkeci and 10 to eminonu stations, most touristic spots at walking distance) and facilities good enough. Friendly staff. Only "downside" was that the private double we booked was in an other building (very close to the hostel though); nothing to complain about the room, it was probably bigger than the ones in the hostel.


60%

We stayed 4 nights as we wanted to see old Istanbul, which is really worth it. The hostel is more like a small hotel no real hostel atmosphere. Kitchen is more a tea kitchen. Common area is more a hang out for the people working there. Staff is not really engaging and not interested in creating a nice experience. This is a good place to stay just do not expect hostel atmosphere. We had our bicycles with us which was no problem so that was nice. www.twistingspokes.com

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The guys at hostel are really friendly and hard workers, they do all posible to help and make a good stay. The room for a one person was ok, a little bit tight as no room to walk around it, but as all places, if you are just coming to sleep is good, bed sheets were just ok, need to renew some of those.


86%

Great location! the best ever! Stuff is very friendly and Memo answer to almost all your questions about the city, public transportation and the atractions of the city. The breakfast is a little bit poor, but enought to put you on the road. I would definitely stay there again.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

Very central location that you can walk from hostel to all historical sides. The rooms are really clean and comfort. They also serve Turkish Dinner some days to show their traditional kitchen, make an atmosphere for the guest, it was the great mood though. Staffs ( Memo, Kaan, Can, Omar and Huseyin ) are really helpful and they give you tips in the city. They also provided Turkey tours for me, especially Cappadocia was great, i recommend everybody ! If i come back to Istanbul, i know my home !

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed one week at this hostel and I loved it....The guys are excellent hosts, I felt warmly welcomed and had a lot of fun with the crew! Showers are hot and baths and the room clean.a little bit loud from outside, but if you close the window there is a ventilator in the room.I stayed in 4beds female Dorm.


89%

Great hostel. Great location, met lots of other really nice travellers, nice size and the guys that worked there were really nice. Definitely recommended for other travellers - both in groups or travelling alone.


100%

Hi guys, Thanks for such an awesome time and keeping me company :) Good luck with everything and I hope to be back some day!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

thanks to all friendy and helpfull people at the hotel :)

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff here were so welcoming and helped us with our bags as soon as we stepped into the building. Facilities were all good, location was fine if you don't mind a bit of walking. Would stay here again.


100%

Amazing place! Excelent location! Best staff ever!!! Thank you very much guys! We have had a great time!


100%

It truly feels like your Second home!! The most amazing & friendly staff! Great location, all the main sights are in walking distance, tram station just down the road. It is without doubt, the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Should not hesitate with booking it! Thank you guys for your hospitallity, you are forever in our hearts. Tina&Luka


89%

Really friendly staff, helped carried our bag up the stairs! As we were staying 5 nights they gave 3 of us a large 5 bedroom room to ourselves so we had plenty of room. Nice breakfast included and awesome location to the tram stop and the main attractions.


91%

Great location, right in old town, close to the water and several amenities. Walking distance from Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar. Staff was friendly and helped with our lost luggage, rooms are nice and facilities were cleaned every day. Highly recommend this place.


100%

Definitely the best place to stay in Istanbul. Centrally located, cozy (and quiet!) rooms and good brakfast served until 11.30 (!). Rooftop terrace to relax with amazing view...I had an unforgettable time at this place and never experienced so much hospitality before. Everyone here is really welcoming and caring. Every weekend they cook dinner for all guests and afterwards there is the opportunity to explore Istanbul nightlife together. I recommend it to everybody and will definitely be back :).

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(572 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback