X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
897 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

+Friendly staff, quiet area, Wi-Fi, computer with internet access and possibility to print (1TL) +Clean rooms +Small but sufficient breakfast: eggs, bread, marmelade, cheese, butter, apples, cookies, milk with tea or coffee +Shuttle service for 10€ to Sabiha Gökcen airport; 5€ to Atatürk As negative points: -no lockers -showers with so much chlorine that after a few days, the skin starts to dry and hitch -a cat (Mimi) so affectionate that it starts quick to be really annoying :P


91%

Peferct Location in the old district


100%

Perfect, very comfortable, safe and friendly staff. Wifi was not very strong in my room but I was hardly in and 24hrs internet was always available in the lobby. Otherwise highly recommended!

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The most important part of this hostel is the attention, is excellent, they are always in a good mood and ready to help, the breakfast consist on cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, tea (many flavors), bread with jam, butter and cheese and some cake and biscuits, is not exacly typical but is really good and will get you nice and running, the double bed room ensuite is good but lacks some ventilation, which contributes for some accumulation of humidity, but is not a big deal, 4,5/5 would recommend


80%

The guys working in the hostel really make it what it is -kind, helpful, fun, talkative, make you feel that they care about you as an individual. The super cute kitten (Feb 2015) is a lovely addition. Nice to get a free breakfast, I liked being able to try all of the Turkish Teas. My private room had good furniture but a strange layout, the sockets in odd position in relation to the bed, and bed side lamp would be appreciated. Also some damp in the corners that needs looking at.


100%

I was delighted to stay at Second Home in Istanbul. The location is perfect and the atmosphere is friendly and warm. The rooms are clean and quiet. When you want privacy, you can have it. When you want to be social, you can do this as well. Memo planned a night out for some of us so the guests could get to know each other. It was nice to know that as a single female traveler, someone was looking out for me. I had a wonderful stay and look forward to staying here again.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The is really like a home for me,nice atmosphere,nice bed and nice Turkish teaXD. Also the location is really good for everywhere


97%

In five minutes, you can walk to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque- the location is perfect! . The staff was more than helpful when we had questions. Breakfast was filling - be sure to try all the Teas they offer at breakfast (the apple tea is highly recommended!) Second Home helped us organize a trip to Pamukkale. When the bus arrived late, they were more than helpful when we called to find out if we had missed our tour. They took care of everything, and you can genuinely trust them.


91%

Comfy beds and great atmosphere! Very central. We had a great time playing darts, arm wrestling and having dance parties with Yussuf. :-)


100%

Sehr zu empfehlen! Das Hostel hat alles, was man für einen perfekten Urlaub in einer atemberaubenden Stadt wie Istanbul braucht: gemütliche Zimmer und Betten, ein gutes Frühstück, eine perfekte Lage und eine Staff, die nicht nur sehr hilfsbereit ist, sondern sich auch Zeit für die Gäste nimmt - natürlich nur wenn man will! Es war schon mein zweiter Besuch im Second Home Hostel in Istanbul und wird bestimmt nicht mein letzter gewesen sein!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff were engaging and genuinely interested in your experience. Location was convenient. Breakfast decent. Wifi worked well. Sewage smell from drains was a turn off. Power and lights beside beds would really help. Showers had difficulty maintaining consistent temperature. Please, if you won't pick up a paint brush, at least wash the walls, yuck. I would stay there again.


89%

Great location near public transit and within walking distance of many historical sites. Relaxing atmosphere, cute kitten, and good internet for a hostel. Only complaint is that the first floor hallway smells really foul every evening.


100%

Awesome hostel, staff super lovely and super helpful! Always someone there who can help out with where to go, where to find good food or how to get somewhere! Awesome location, minutes from sites, ferry terminals, main train station, metro/tram stop and markets!! Rooms are good, screens on shower(!!), well stocked kitchen with ample space, good common area and staff ready to chat and make you feel at home after a big day! Breakfast good and included, wifi all over. Will definitely go back here!


94%

Such a good experience with Second Home hostel. They are so very hospitable and help you out in every queries you might have about the city or places. Three people I would really name were Memo, Katherine and Yousuf. They are really good at welcoming you and making you comfortable. I am definitely staying at second home hostel the next time i visit Istanbul

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing staff, hostel truly holds up the name as one feels at home. Superb choice, will recommend without a doubt and will repeat whenever in Istanbul,

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very warm and easy-going environment with enough staff to chat to anytime.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a very clean and good accommodation. They served very good breakfast in the morning with tea, coffee, eggs , vegetables, fruits and so on. The location is perfect to check out all the important sights of Istanbul afoot. The atmosphere in the hostel was amazing. The stuff was very very helpful in any situation. They had good recommendation to every time and every question. I can absolutly suggest to stay in SecondHomehostel. Everything was perfect for a short vacation in Istanbul.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Das Hostel hat die perfekte Lage um schnell und zu Fuß alle Sehenswürdigkeiten Istanbuls zu erreichen. Die Zimmer sind super sauber. Es gibt ein ausgezeichnetes Frühstücksbuffet mit Kaffee, Tee, Eiern, Obst, Gemüse und allem, was man morgens braucht. Die Atmosphäre ist spitze. Super Personal, dass sich immer um einen kümmert, egal welche Anliegen man hat. Ob einen guten Tipp für ein Restaurant, eine Kneipe oder Bosporustour. Sie haben immer eine gute Empfehlung. Es war eine großartige Zeit!!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great stay. I was only in Istanbul for 20 hours and wanted to cram as many sights in as possible. This place is in the heart of it ALL. I was able to hit the Blue Mosque, St. Sofia, cisterns and spice market. All of this major attractions are within a 10-15 min. walking distance. Awesome spot. I stayed in a single private which was pretty comfy and not to overpriced given the awesome proximity to the sites.


97%

Welcoming, friendly staff, gave us a second home for those six nights! Helped us with every questions we had and made the "turkish-anti-cold-tea" for us. The dinner nights they organize once a week are fun and good to meet other travellers. Located close to historic sights, mosques, bazars, eminönü harbour, supermarket, etc, everything within walking distance. Nice roof top terrace with view, kitchen for use and common area with good atmosphere to meet people. Drawers in the dorm can be locked!


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback