X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Second Home Hostel Reviews

Hocapasa Mahallesi Ebussuud Caddesi No : 19 Sirkec, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
882 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Sehr zu empfehlen! Das Hostel hat alles, was man für einen perfekten Urlaub in einer atemberaubenden Stadt wie Istanbul braucht: gemütliche Zimmer und Betten, ein gutes Frühstück, eine perfekte Lage und eine Staff, die nicht nur sehr hilfsbereit ist, sondern sich auch Zeit für die Gäste nimmt - natürlich nur wenn man will! Es war schon mein zweiter Besuch im Second Home Hostel in Istanbul und wird bestimmt nicht mein letzter gewesen sein!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing staff, hostel truly holds up the name as one feels at home. Superb choice, will recommend without a doubt and will repeat whenever in Istanbul,

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very warm and easy-going environment with enough staff to chat to anytime.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was a very clean and good accommodation. They served very good breakfast in the morning with tea, coffee, eggs , vegetables, fruits and so on. The location is perfect to check out all the important sights of Istanbul afoot. The atmosphere in the hostel was amazing. The stuff was very very helpful in any situation. They had good recommendation to every time and every question. I can absolutly suggest to stay in SecondHomehostel. Everything was perfect for a short vacation in Istanbul.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Das Hostel hat die perfekte Lage um schnell und zu Fuß alle Sehenswürdigkeiten Istanbuls zu erreichen. Die Zimmer sind super sauber. Es gibt ein ausgezeichnetes Frühstücksbuffet mit Kaffee, Tee, Eiern, Obst, Gemüse und allem, was man morgens braucht. Die Atmosphäre ist spitze. Super Personal, dass sich immer um einen kümmert, egal welche Anliegen man hat. Ob einen guten Tipp für ein Restaurant, eine Kneipe oder Bosporustour. Sie haben immer eine gute Empfehlung. Es war eine großartige Zeit!!

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great stay. I was only in Istanbul for 20 hours and wanted to cram as many sights in as possible. This place is in the heart of it ALL. I was able to hit the Blue Mosque, St. Sofia, cisterns and spice market. All of this major attractions are within a 10-15 min. walking distance. Awesome spot. I stayed in a single private which was pretty comfy and not to overpriced given the awesome proximity to the sites.


97%

Welcoming, friendly staff, gave us a second home for those six nights! Helped us with every questions we had and made the "turkish-anti-cold-tea" for us. The dinner nights they organize once a week are fun and good to meet other travellers. Located close to historic sights, mosques, bazars, eminönü harbour, supermarket, etc, everything within walking distance. Nice roof top terrace with view, kitchen for use and common area with good atmosphere to meet people. Drawers in the dorm can be locked!


100%

The location was great as it is an easy walk to the Bosphorus, Hague Sophia, Grand Bazar and other main sites. There are also many bars and restaurants in the area. The staff are very friendly and helpful with bookings or advice. The free breakfast was adequate and there is also free wifi. Make sure you take up an offer for a meal at the hostel as the food they cooked me was great and you will sit down to eat with locals. There is a roof top lounge area which is great on a nice day.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best people, best location, best cats


100%

Hallo Leute,wir waren 2 Mädels 25 und 26 Jahre, wie kamen nur aus Zufall am Second Home Hostel vorbei,da wir in einem 3 Sterne Hotel waren und es eine absolute Katastrophe war. Für uns steht fest das wir ab jetzt immer ins SHH gehen werden. Wir haben in einer Familien Suite gewohnt, es war super sauber.. nein eher Hygienisch rein,da man noch das Klorix riechen konnte :) Preis ist Top,da die meistens "Hotels" da viel teurerer ist als ein Hostel.Es war alles Super, ich kann es nur an alle Emphelen

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good hostel close to the major attractions. Our room had a vent to the toilet next door it seemed because when the guy was sick at 3 in the morning ..your could clearly hear the details. Food was ok. Average hostel in a great location.


94%

Really enjoyed my staff. Staff very friendly and helpful. Relaxed atmosphere. keep up the good work !

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very welcoming staff ! Breakfast is brilliant with free teas and coffee! Rooms are spacious and clean.If you are a solo traveller, you should come here and feel atmosphere as they provide dinners to make people together, thank you guys ! I will definetly come back !

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice hostel! Well located and super staff! I would definitely come back;)


83%

If you're looking for a place in the old town, this is a good option - close to everything and the guys are nice. Pro tip: take a cab from Ataturk rather than the shuttle, it'll be cheaper. Also, I would recommend only staying on the old town side for a couple of nights, and then switching to Beyoglu/Taksim side. It's much less touristy and there's a greater variety of restaurants and bars in the evenings (cheaper ones, too).


80%

Staff was kind and easygoing. They always smiled towards us.Rooms were quite clear.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This place doesn't deserve the rating it has. It's frankly not a very good value. You can stay at far nicer places that have better breakfasts in better locations for the same price or cheaper.


91%

Memo, the hotel manager is the man. Super laid back, helped us with everything that we needed.


100%

A nice place to stay in Istanbul.


100%

The hostel is perfectly situated and very clean. We felt like home and the staff was lovely and helpful! We very much recommend it!


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback