X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sentrum Hostel Reviews

Tollbugata 8, Oslo, Norway

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
1656 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Oslo's hostels are little in number, the reviews were not that great, and the pictures looked not very inviting. Me and my friend picked Sentrum in the end, for the location. Clean hostel, but dead. Big common kitchen, but cooking plates were broken, as were the soccer- and pooltable. A lot of old people looking for cheap accommodation, but no 'young hostel atmosphere' (ex. no bar, pub crawl, ...). The building is great though, and clean, but it lacks a soul :D


69%

The place is more like a cheap hotel than a hostel. Oslo is a very expensive city so this place is good for the budget. I wouldn't prefer to stay more than 2-3 days though.


74%

Nice place to stay for two nights. Location wasn't as incredible as we expected (based on reviews) but was still very convenient for travelling all over the city. The place was clean enough and felt comfortable.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

bad wifi


77%

Location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from the Oslo central tain station, and 5 minutes wlak from the city centre. We didn't have to wait for the ckeck in time, they gave us the room as soon as it was ready, and we got linen and towels free of charge. Staff is helpfull, the atmosphere a bit wierd. There is no elevator, I didn't like having to carry my bags three flight of stairs! The room wasn't very clean, a bit too dusty, bathrooms and showers are ok. Kitchen is very well equiped.


54%

Hostel has a good location, close to the train station. Attached to a restaurant with a 15% discount if you stay there but looked kind of fancy. Large hostel, 3 floors no elevator. Not a youth hostel, many old men staying and using the facilities(gambling). Full kitchen on the second floor, half kitchen on the main floor. Mac computer in the lobby and they will print boarding passes for free. Long term and older guests kind of odd, but we had a private room so we felt save. Bathrooms limited.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I went during a pretty quite time of the year (January), but there wasn't really any common/chill areas. Showers were warm, lockers were, small but a great location. It's a couple blocks from the Maine metro station so you can get anywhere in Oslo relatively quickly, even by foot.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

reception open 24 hrs. very close to main train station 5-10 mins walk. luggage room not locked but its good that you can leave your luggage after you check out. rooms are quite spacious.


63%

well, not exactly what i expected - i't is pretty close to oslo s (central station) but also pretty close to the red light district. to the rooms - the interior works as it should but well they need a makeover, all in the room looks heavy used. the whole building and the floor, they need a fix up. the shower worked and they were clean but at all - ther'e not enough for all on the floor. i didn't stay long enough to say anything about the socialroom.

  • 25th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is perfect!

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

As expected from reviews, reception were helpful and lent me a phone charger. Met a cool guy in the communal area who we visited some museums with. Great location.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I stayed 2 nights in sentrum hostel.Hostel has perfect location and close to everything.It is good place for stay short period.Atmosphere is really weird,first time I felt like in refugee or worker dormitory.Every floor has toilet but not shower!!! Security is good,I havent got any problem.if you have locker,you can use wardrope.Except single rooms,I dont offer this hostel for single female travelers.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

An excellent choice!


37%

THERE WAS A THIEF IN OUR ROOM AT NIGHT. ENOUGH SAID. So, me and my friend were staying for a night in a 5 bed mixed dorm along with a Korean guy. At around 3 am, an old person opens the door (he had to have a key access for that) and comes and lies down on an empty bed. The whole time he portrayed as if he was an old man who had come from abroad and had a 2 night booking at the hostel. He was actually a thief who later STOLE MONEY from the korean guy's wallet! DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE.


74%

Perfect location (a few minutes walk from the Oslo central station and the main streets) and helpful staff!


80%

The hostel itself was fine, but what made the stay at Sentrum Hostel a bit weird was the other guests ... there were some (long-term staying?) persons that made me feel a bit uneasy.

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel is perfect in terms of location. You will be close to the harbour, central bus and train station and the main sites. It could be better in terms of bathroom cleanliness but it's not too bad. Very quiet hostel which is what I prefer and good value for money given Norway is expensive


83%

Lockers didn't lock and showers weren't very clean (but it was later in the evening I used them) nice beds. Bit loud on one of the nights as I faced the street and heard all of the street noise. But I like It.


63%

The facilities (shower, toilet) are quite few regarding the amount of rooms of the hostel... Furthermore, they were not as clean as they should have been (probably a consequence from using them with too many people) and there was mould in the shower. The kitchen was ok though.

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Has everything what you want from a hostel and it's in a hreat locatuon too. Definitely recommend.

  • 2nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Oslo Hostels

Please give us your feedback