Hostelworld.com

Seoul Base Camp

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.7
Seoul Base Camp Located at The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Seoul Base Camp
South Korea
Seoul 121-885 The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu
88% 375
37.5491154 126.9122815
Seoul Base Camp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2016
10.0

It was exactly as advertised. With waffles for breakfast. Who can complain?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

No surprises. That's my motto when it comes to service. Thank you! - Jake

9th May 2016
4.0

There was hardly ever anyone at the front desk. I had read reviews on here that said that, but I didn't think it could be that bad. It was. There was no one there when I tried checking in, no one there when I checked out (both were times when the staff was scheduled to be there between 8am-11pm). I couldn't get the deposit for my adapter back when I left. Wouldn't recommend/stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm very sorry to hear that. We will send you the deposit for the adapter right away. Of course, it must have been a frustrating experience to not be able to find one of us when you needed. That is why we promise to be on site from 8am to 11pm. Although we can't know for sure as we don't have surveillance cameras but I imagine the problem might have been that the staffs were either away doing work in another part of the hostel or at their meal break. Our staffs are given a lunch break at noon and dinner break at 7 for an hour each. They are also asked to go on a patrol of the building every hour to check up on the cleanliness and comfort of guests. Being a small hostel of 30 beds, this shouldn't take more than 5 minutes but occasionally the work takes longer and the staff is kept away from the reception for an extended period of time. So we invite the guests to give us a call with the phone at the reception and we are always carrying our phone to receive calls at anytime. I'm terribly sorry that all of these weren't communicated to you clearly at the beginning. We will be coming up with a better system to never let this happen again. Please accept our apologies and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Seoul otherwise.

6th May 2016
9.7

Seoul Base Camp Hostel in Seoul-Hapjeong was a great choice. Located in the Hapjeong area with many cafés, shops, and street food places, I enjoyed staying there. The hostel itself is located less than a minute walk from the nearest metro station (Hapjeong). Hostel staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast is great (waffles!) and their rooftop with a pig is without words :) Rooms are rather small but the common room is huge! Showers were clean and pretty good. All in all I'd stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. We are happy to serve. Have a nice day! - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th May 2016
10.0

Highly recommend! Very close to hapjeong subway station and only a short walk from Hongdaes main shopping and clubbing area. Rooms are plain, but clean, very nice hangout area and rooftop. Bonus points for Hamlet, the pig living on the rooftop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice location and facilities. One of the staff was impressive. Good place for socializing, but a bit noisy during my short stay (can't blame the hostel). Cleanliness was in doubt with ppl wearing shoes inside all the time. Overall was just good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, N. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Base Camp is like a home in Seoul, the place is nice with good vibes, the staff is really nice and helpful and location is great. I stayed both in 4 beds and 10 beds dorms and I can say that everything is clean, bed is fine. Hot shower with shampoo, soap and towel included was relaxing. Waffles and toast for breakfast is the best to wake up in a good mood ready to visit Seoul. The big plus is the atmosphere, especially at night on the rooftop. Thanks for the stay and see you soon !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
9.4

No Complaints :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
9.1

Really close to metro, staff friendly and helpful, nice common room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Staffs are where we really shine. Thank you and come again! - Jake

10th Apr 2016
5.4

Staff could have Been more helpful and friendly! Not much happening around the Hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm very sorry to hear that. We will look into our management of the team and fix what we can right away. Hope the rest of Seoul was a positive experience for you. - Jake

10th Apr 2016
8.6

Staff were super friendly with online questions I asked before I came to South Korea but were somewhat aloof during my stay. I know that one of the owners was away during my time there so probably just an off day due to stress. The location is great, easy to get to from Incheon or Gimpo airports, and lots of things nearby to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm sorry for the aloofness. I planned a 2 week vacation and just after my departure, one of our staffs had to fly home suddenly. Being short staffed, our team was under bigger work load. Normally, our staffs are where we really shine. Hope you enjoyed everything else and wish you the best in the rest of your trip. - Jake, one of the owners.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.