Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Seoul Base Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Seoul Base Camp Located at The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Seoul Base Camp
South Korea
Seoul 121-885 The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu
88% 407
37.5491154 126.9122815
Seoul Base Camp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Leeeee
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Best location and friendly staffs.It is a wonderful place to stay in Seoul!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

Good location, it's walking distance from subway about 3 minutes, 15 minutes from Hongdae (clubbing area). Directions on how to get to the hostel from the airport were clear. Jason & Jake were super helpful & friendly. Good ambience and love the rooftop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Very good hostel, friendly staff and guests. Clean and in a good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Very good review. Friendly and simple. Thank you! - Jake

  • carolineag_5430
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Lovely staff, great location, great people there^^ also close to the YG building which is a plus for any kpop fan :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

C, you are always welcome here. Thank you - Jake

  • lauraheather
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.1

I love this hostel. It's so unique. My only suggestion would be that they perhaps need more sinks to accommodate the guests, and also lockers in the rooms. I would definitely stay here again. Just make sure to reserve in advance since they cannot accommodate a lot of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. We at first considered having lockers in the rooms but soon it became apparent that they are quite a noise makers and can be easily broken into when there is no one else in the room. So we decided to have all the lockers in front of the reception to solve both of those issues. We are actually looking into moving to a bigger location and when that happenes, we will put a million sinks for sure :) - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Good location with a lot of great people there. Also great breakfast with waffles and a cool place on the roof to hang around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. We appreciate your visit. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Jun 2016
7.4

Truly a base camp. Had an AC working in the room all night, terribly noisy. Apart from that, very cheap, nice receptionist, free towels, coffee and toast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, sorry about the noise from the A/C. We will look the unit to see if it needs repair. Also, we encourage everyone to take advantage of the free earplugs we provide at check in. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you had a great time in Seoul. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
9.1

OMG sorry for the late review! Seoul base camp is as awesome as the photos, and it's a great place to make new friends with other guests. The place is 3minutes from Hapjeong station and is a walking distance to Hongdae and the Han river which is great! The staff are also really fun to talk to and accommodating and helpful. unlimited toast and waffles for breakfast and coffee/tea. sitting at the rooftop at sunrise and sunset is relaxing, just be aware of hamlet the pig!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your review comes at the perfect time. :) Thank you for staying with us. It was our pleasure to have you here. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip! - Jake

25th May 2016
8.3

All in all, a solid hostel. The capsule dorms were not TRUE capsules though. Mine didn't have its own plug and no wall on one side so when the person below me was up late and had their light on, it was like daylight for me. Good security; lockers. Staff and atmosphere is great! Location isn't bad, but there is a TON nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yup, we are right next to everything that is Hongdae - bars, restaurants, shops. Sorry about your situation. When we first designed the beds, we were debating whether to put a wall on the end beds. If there was no wall, the person could use a bigger space. We will look into creating a solution where the end beds can have the bigger space and privacy too. Thank you for the feedback! - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2016
10.0

Seoul Base Camp was really awesome, everyone of the staff felt like they were your family and took care of whatever needs you needed. There was a real community feel at the hostel especially with the rooftop hangout area which had a barbecue pit and even the pet pig - Hamlet. They were always well stocked with towels, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and had freshly made waffles every morning with toast and 24/7 tea and coffee facilities. I would definitely recommend this hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much. We cannot ask for a better review. Have a nice day! - Jake

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.