X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Seoul Base Camp Reviews

The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
252 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The main things about this hostel: it has one of the best meeting-other-travellers/people-atmosphere. AND IT HAS A CUTE LITTLE PIG!! Sigh..I miss him. (scratch him below his cheeks--that's his sweet spot). The hostel's cheap, has wifi, great location and vibe. I was there in the winter, where more long term people stay. It seems intimidating at first since they all know each other already, but they're really nice once you get to know them :)


100%

Seoul Base Camp is a great place to stay. There's a rooftop with a great view, it's really close to the subway, and there's a mini pig! Feels like a home away from home. If you're a lone traveler this is a great place to meet people to explore Seoul with.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Base camp is a basic hostel, nothing special. It was easy to find from the subway. I stayed in a room with 10 people and the room was very small.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing Review. We are really sorry to hear the room was small. We wish you stayed longer than few hours. and We do not want people skyping late night. Have a great time in Korea.

100%

awesome place; great vibes and hospitality here. laid-back atmosphere makes for a very social and enjoyable experience. wood-work layout gives the place a warmly earthy aura, as well. one of the owners always shows his nipples, though............


100%

Base Camp is always awesome. I've stayed there 3 or 4 times and never had a complaint.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was nice to see you guys again. See you soon. You guys always very coming at SBC Min

100%

Good atmosphere and very helpful staff. Waffle breakfast is nice and they have a pet pig that makes you feel guilty eating pork. Surprisingly clean and hygienic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. We cant wait to see you again. Have a nice time in Australia. Min Seoul Base Camp Hostel.

97%

We loved staying at Seoul Base camp. 100% recommend it -the owners are great... bilingual and bicultural, super fun and always helpful -the place is really chill...big lounge area and upstairs roof area to hang out -the people are great...I think this hostel just attracts cool people... We met lots of really fun people here -location is convenient...on two metro lines and only about a 3 minute walk from the metro -the building has character...They've fixed the place up in a really fun way

Owner Comment (Hide)
N and J, you guys were really great to have here. Always so upbeat and sociable. And you are 100% right. Basecamp is where it's at. - Jake

91%

Jake and Min were very pleasant and hospitable. They were overbooked by one so they offered their room to me and my friend for the first night of our stay. They kept the place clean and organized. The location is great! Near the train and mall / restaurants.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi K, we are sorry again for the first night. J is our friend and we only felt right to upgrade you guys to a private room. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of all the shops and restaurants nearby. There is no better way to enjoy this spot. - Jake

100%

What an amazing place! I did not want to leave from the second I walked in. Together with some other travellers we had a spontanious BBQ on the huge rooftop terrace at night, everybody was just so welcoming and friendly, had an absolutely great time, thanks!

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you could join us. We really appreciate those two guys throwing bbq for everyone on our roof. We wish you the best in your future travels! - Jake

91%

Strongly recommendable if you want to interact with nice people as well as explore Seoul. The location of this hostel is quite nice since it is super near the metro and the price is reasonable. If you consider choosing a guest house here, don't hesitate and you won't regret :)

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Considering how most Koreans live in Seoul and do not need to stay at a hostel bed in Seoul, we don't usually get Korean guests here. When we do, it can be an absolute pleasure. It is one of the most beautiful sight -as a man in tourism industry- to see the travelers enjoy company of the locals. This was one of those times. - Jake

89%

Nice price and location close to Hangan and metro station. Tasty waffles every morning by friendly reception))) I jut would like to ask the staff about some hook for clothes and mirror in the shower room. Thank you, guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for the suggestions. We are constantly improving our facilities and adding more shelves and hooks everywhere is definitely on our task list. We invite you to our breakfast any time. Take care and we wish you the best! - Jake

86%

Great service

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review

100%

Seoul Base Camp is an amazing place to make friends, feel comfortable, hang out and explore a very happening part of Seoul. Min and Jake are super friendly and became friends immediately. Stay at the Base Camp when in Seoul...! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This reviewer had been nothing but pleasure to host. She was considerate, congenial, and consistent in her positivity. We would love to have her here again anytime. - Jake

71%

Overall it is a good enough hostel (though not as excellent as I imagined from the other reviews). Relatively good location (pretty close to the metro and in the corner of the Hongdae region - best one in Seoul). High point is the atmosphere: one of the few 'party hotels' in the city that I know about. Don't know what's the big deal on the breakfast they offer, nothing more than toast with butter or jam, waffle and powdered coffee. Not bad, but wouldn't highly recommend the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. I agree with you. We are not a hostel built on heaven. Some of the guests thought so and we are incredibly flattered. Our role model isn't Hilton or Ritz Carlton, for that matter. I'm sure there are many luxuries that we cannot offer, as a small hostel of 32 guests. What we excel at is to offer a place that feels personal where each and every guest can be themselves and share the excitement of being in a foreign city. Wish you the best in the rest of your journey. -Jake

100%

Best hostel I've ever been, amazin atmosphere, feels like home. Made people that felt like friends from the staff to the guests. District is just about one of the coolest in Seoul as I've seen so far, and even though it doesn't look like the center it is quite close from mostly everything by subway. The rooftop is awesome, and by summer you might enjoy a long, chillax Soju night with staff and guests. Only one advice: don't give anyone your snapchat. Anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey man, thank you for this lovely review. We had a great time. But you gotta stop sending us sexts over snapchat. Getting inappropriate photos from soju-loving frenchman isn't on any of our staffs' job description. We all know you typed this review with just one hand too. Haha. Just joking. Send us inappropriate stuff any time. - Jake

89%

There was a nice vibe in the hostel, and I really loved how they've made the place up. I especially liked that you got a towel, and shampoo/conditioner provided for. For the price I can't complain really, but staying in the 10 bed dorm was definitely an experience! I didn't get much sleep, and was worried about my stuff down on the floor (there is hardly any room to move) and waking everybody else up when I got down, but the waffles in the morning were all that was needed to placate me!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that you had discomfort in the 10 bed dorm. We try to maximize the comfort by having 11pm quiet hour, providing free earplugs, and providing free lockers. We will renovate the room so there will be more space as well. Otherwise, we are happy that you enjoyed the vibe here. That's where we focus the most since we believe hostel is all about having meaningful social experience. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you the best. - Jake

89%

The staff here is great and is knowledable about the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm glad you had a great time here. We always strive to stay connected to the area we represent and be knowledgeable, not just with the current location of things but also with context and the history of the area. We appreciate you staying here with us and wish you the best in your travels. - Jake

100%

Great Location! Walking distance to Hongdae with lots of shops, food, and nightlife. Also only a few steps from the Subway. This place also has a nice rooftop great for hanging out and making new friends. The Hosts are very friendly and have lots of great information, they also like to hang out with the guests on occasion :) thanks for everything Jake and Min! I'll be back ;)

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great to see you for the third time! See you again soon, buddy. - Jake

69%

Overall is value for money with good location near to subway. The owner Min was very kind to help ladies carrying down big baggage from 3 floor to ground floor. Thank you so much for being so helpful.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ms, thank you for staying here. We hope you enjoyed your stay. We wish you could have joined us upstairs for a beer or two. We wish you the best on your travels. - Jake

94%

Really lovely place to stay in Seoul with awesome touches like free breakfast waffles made for you. The staff were so friendly and attentive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. We are happy to make you waffles any day, all day. We wish you the best on your travels!

« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Seoul Hostels

Please give us your feedback