Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Seoul Base Camp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Seoul Base Camp Located at The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul.
Seoul Base Camp
South Korea
Seoul 121-885 The 3rd Floor, 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu
86% 424
37.5491154 126.9122815
Seoul Base Camp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Oman, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
9.4

It was a great staying, and everybody was collaborative especially staff guys Really I would like to stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Please come and stay again! - Jake

12th Aug 2016
5.7

Fairly well located just off the main Hongdao area and is generally clean with the bonus of breakfast. However during my stay I found some of the staff's behaviour to guests truly unacceptable. I would like to stress not all, the owner is exceptionally helpful and Dominic was also on hand to help. However this was massively let down by others of the team. Aside from that, atmosphere really wasn't great and there were certain unfinished feelings to parts of what could be a very nice hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, we are very sorry about what happened. After the incident, we had a internal review and let go of the offending member of the staff. Again, I'm very sorry and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.9

Although Seoul Base Camp is a very affordable place to stay in Seoul, it is located on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator to help carry up any heavy luggage. My friend and I stayed in a small 4-bed mixed dorm room, which had rickety metal bunkbeds. The showers are separated with rotting wooden walls and moldy curtains. Despite the facilities, the staff are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello I'm sorry about the lack of elevator in our building. We will do our best to upgrade our facilities as soon as we can. Thank you for your stay. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.0

lovely staff! Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much! Staffs make the place. - Jake

19th Jul 2016
5.4

Facilities are really bad , the doors and beds are ready to collapse . The other guests didn't follow the rules of quite time and they were messi and smelly . Furthermore there was a huge big on the roof , next to the kitchen and in the place they were hanging the laundry, a lot of health issues .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry to hear that. It gets loud sometimes in the summer season as we get a more youthful crowd. We will do our best to enforce the rules. Thank you. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.3

Great location and nice atmosphere. Staff was very friendly and there's a lovely roof terrace. Friendly people and nice atmosphere. However, room was really small with no window. I would recommend it for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the feedback. When we first opened this space, our guiding philosophy was to focus as much as possible on the communal and social aspect of the hosteling. To create the best space for backpackers to hangout, all under $20 per night. I'm sorry the dorm area wasn't as awesome as the common room. We will look into ways to improve upon it. Thank you. - Jake

  • Leeeee
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Best location and friendly staffs.It is a wonderful place to stay in Seoul!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh wow. Couldn't ask for anything better. Thank you! - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

The only issue with this place was that the beds have no cushion and that there is only 1 single air conditioner in which it can get really cold, unfortunately my friends and I got sick and a little back pain; however, the location is the closest to Hongdae the party town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that. Yes, we have one A/C in a room each and we keep the temperature at 24 degrees. Some guests find that too cold and some find that too warm. We provide extra blankets so we can make every guests happy. We will find out a way to make the whole thing easier and better for everyone. I hope you enjoyed everything else. Thank you for the feedback. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

Good location, it's walking distance from subway about 3 minutes, 15 minutes from Hongdae (clubbing area). Directions on how to get to the hostel from the airport were clear. Jason & Jake were super helpful & friendly. Good ambience and love the rooftop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much :) Jason will be happy to see this. - Jake

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.1

The base camp is a sweet place to stay for three reasons: 1. They aren't trying to be fancy. It's all really simple - sleeping "cubbies" and curtains for privacy, counter-weighted doors, one sink for dishes and hands, and an open floorplan. 2. Location. Walking distance to the always-hip Hongdae neighborhood and literally a 100 m walk to Hapjeong station on the No. 2 green line. 3. Waffles. If you can get a place to sleep and free breakfast all for less than $15 USD, life is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for this review. We do simple things but we try to do them well. Thank you. -Jake

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.