Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.3

Beautiful location, we hadn't expected our hostel to be a resort. We weren't expecting the little pool or such a fantastic complimentary breakfast. However, no wifi in the hostel, and you had to pay to refill your water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
8.6

The staff were wonderful, always very helpful, welcoming and constantly smiling. The head waitress was especially good, very friendly, funny and efficient. The food was exquisite, but pricey for us personally. The orangutans, sun bears and RDC are all incredibly close and loved the convenience. Dorm was okay, it did get very hot and the mattresses was very sunken. Also my bed was near the porch and had a constant whiff of peoples cigarettes, so a bit unpleasant. Other than that great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.3

Really great place to stay when visiting the Orangutan and Sun Bear sanctuaries. Only a 10 minute walk to both. The little pool is great for cooling off and the restaurant area is really nice. Food is a little on the expensive side but well worth the money. The only downside was our room had no lock just a wooden bar to keep the door closed and the light from the hall way kept us awake a bit. But still highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HarrietHarper1
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Lovely hostel, would have liked to stay much longer! Staff were really nice and helped us out with a shuttle bus and keeping our bags while we visited the orangutan sanctuary. Only downsides were no air con in the dorm rooms so very warm and stuffy, and the wifi was not very good and only available in the restaurant area. Highly recommend as somewhere to stay near the Sun Bear and orangutan sanctuaries!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxbwhite
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jul 2017
5.7

Fine for backpackers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere and delicious food at the restaurant! The grounds were beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • helenwarner6761
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
24th Jun 2017
9.4

This place is in the middle of nowhere, there are no restaurants or shops near by. But that doesn't matter at all, the food, the staff, the atmosphere - everything about this place is awesome. I could have happily stayed there for a lot longer. You can easily walk to the Orangutan centre and there is a pool to chill out next to. Try and eat everything on the menu as it is all amazing. Great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay! Minutes walk away from the Orang-utan sanctuary and the rainforest discovery centre! The staff were absolutely awesome as well! Couldn't have asked for anything better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th May 2017
9.7

Really great stay! Super friendly, professional and helpful staff, gorgeous surroundings, resort feel with affordable dorm rooms, plunge pool, great food, good breakfast buffet, 10mins walk to the sanctuaries, and even booked a 3 day 2 night Kinabatangan river/ jungle tour through them - tour was amazing and professional and extremely well priced! Can't recommend enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
7.7

There's not much choice of hostel in Sepilok but I thought this place was lovely. I spent most of my time in the restaurant- the staff here were just lovely. One guy in particular with a ponytail on top of his head. So smiley & accommodating. There's a little outdoor paddling pool too & the resort is only a 10min walk from the orangutan & bear sanctuaries. Bathroom facilities were pretty basic but the beds were good. There's a little locker above your bed but mine was broken

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.