Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Great location, comfortable and secure dorms, great restaurant (really great!) and very helpful staff. Everything you could want!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Amazing property! We had a blast with Nicky and Ronny, very sweet staff members at the resort restaurant. Gorgeous views and just a short 10 minute walk from Orangutans and Sun bears! Front desk is super helpful with arranging transportation, answering tour/activity questions. Ended up staying here an extra night after our Kingabatangan cruise because we loved it so much! Best buffet breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
9.4

We really enjoyed our stay here. The beds were clean and comfortable and each one has a locker with plug socket. Big bathroom with hot shower. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing! The resort has such a beautiful setting in the forest and is a ten minute walk from the orangutans so location is great. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • eviatnyenrode6761
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.1

The staff is amazing. That's the highlight. Also, the layout of the dining hall above the pool is aesthetic. The "pool" is very small and shallow, and the rooms have very little space for backpacks and luggage. The main problem was with access...no early/late pick-ups or drop offs, requiring very expensive taxis. A second problem relating to access is that you more or less have to take your meals at the lodge - very expensive - unless you brought your own supplies with you...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

Nice place with friendly staff and good food served in the restaurant, not all that cheap though. Dorm room was clean and the shower was good. Close to the orangutan samctuary too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

The staff were incredibly friendly and the resort was really great. So much so that I cancelled my flight to stay another day there. Fantastic location in a walkable distance from the Sepilok attractions and a tranquil retreat from my otherwise busy travelling. It was amazing value for money (and good quality too, not just cheap and cheerful), and I'd definitely stay here again should I ever find myself back in Sabah!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.6

Our stay here was great, the staff are what makes this place! They are really friendly and always smiling :) the food is great too, and very close about 10 min walk to the orangutans and bear sanctuary

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.9

This place could have been great but unfortunately they allow school trips to stay here- meaning loud screaming from big groups of teenagers also staying in the longhouse rooms/dorm. This really ruined the tranquility and peace and quiet. It also meant the eating areas were used for lessons/meetings and showers/toilets were packed (I had to walk outside to another building to use the toilet as they were so full for hours with school kids). Generally not what you want on your holiday!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
9.4

this resort is absolutely value for money. I would definitely go back and this especially for the location in the middle of the jungle and the amazing food they serve.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing place! Great food, atmosphere, clean, comfy, Nice staff, great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.