Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sequoia Lodge Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place and free ice cream and pudding delightful! All in all great place only stayed a night but enjoyed it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Apr 2017
6.6

The man that checked us in was absolutely welcoming and kind. However, the older lady that was working there was not so nice. She communicated pretty rude when we had a question about anything really. (also a guy late at night he was the security I think, was not amused because I had a cold and it bothered him). But to be honest we didn't really mind. 10am check out, basicly means get off our property! Hostel itself could use some renovations, but it has character Good things: Pudding, Hot tub!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place. Cosy, and appreciated the hot pudding and use of spa. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

First hostel where I got a free-to-use towel and soap in my bed. Then we were greeted by chocolate pudding and ice cream. The owner seemed a bit 'annoyed' by so many people, but was quite nice apart from that. We had our own shower and sink in our dorm and everything was clean. Less than 5 min drive to ferry terminals

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adaraenthaler9522
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Absolutely no complaints about this place, very cosy living area and helpful manager.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.0

We arrived late evening after taking the ferry from Wellington and were met with free pudding (missed the ice cream though). The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The only arse-ache might be the location of the bathrooms if you're staying in one of the outer rooms. You essentially have to go out into the cold to take a leak but that's just nit-picking really. The kitchen area was well equipped and not too crowded. If you're looking for a hostel with a cozy feel, this is it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Small hostel with a friendly atmosphere in a relax kind of way. Perfect for solo travellers who wish to meet some people and take it easy. Highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect after a long drive, there's a hot tub that you can book out for half an hour, the kitchen and common areas are spacious. I booked a triple room and we were slightly away from the hostel and had a little kitchen and a massive en suite bathroom. We stayed twice on the trip as we liked it so much. The staff were friendly and helpful and the best bit - they make chocolate cake with ice cream every night for the hostel!! :):)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.6

Clean and well kitted out hostel. Decent sized rooms, lockers and lock on main door at night supplied, good kitchen and clean bathrooms (could do with one more shower). Short walk to Supermarket, not that close to the port but offer bus shuttles. Hot tub and free choc pudds were fun. Host soured the visit somewhat by being too strict and uptight - 1st time ever I've had someone announce to guests you have 20mins before you need to be off the premises

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
2.6

It reeked of mildew in my room (4) that I kept waking up in the middle of the night gagging. The bunks are built into the wall & my feet were practically touching the person's pillow behind me! The "pudding" was just soggy cake. The bathrooms need to be updated & are communal (no privacy). Showers were in little closets and unclean. Rooms had no locks on them (no security). Have to schedule a 30 min session to use hot tub (so weird). Furniture looked like they raided a second-hand shop.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry your experience was not a positive one but are confused with some of the comments. Firstly our rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day and there is no mildew anywhere. If there is ever a smell in the rooms it will come from the clothing and packs of fellow travelers. We wish we had control over this but it is out of our hands I am afraid. Our bunks are made with pillows at opposite ends so that there should only be feet in the middle so not sure how your feet could be anywhere near the pillow of someone else. When you book in to a dorm bed you pay a price reflective of using a communal bathroom. Private rooms have their own ensuites at a more expensive price. Toilets and showers are all in private cubicles and only the sinks are in an open area which is standard practice in backpackers hostels. The 30 minute booking for the hot tub is loved by most people because it means they can have some quiet private time if that is what they choose. Most people appreciate our furniture and consider us warm & cosy (just like home).

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.