Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sequoia Lodge Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 696 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Possibly one of the best hostels we've stayed in NZ so far (out of 6) - were just there for one night but felt very communal and homely. The breakfast was toast and jam and cereal, would have been nice if there was some yoghurt or fruit or something. Location was close to the lake front but not close enough to walk in the dark. The only downside really was that the wifi wasn't working in the evening but was back by morning. Overall lots of hidden pluses, like hot water bottles!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
8.9

Easily one of my favourite hostels. The complimentary breakfast, soup, and pudding was a really nice touch and added to the welcoming vibe of the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
9.4

Great little spot in the heart of Picton, easy walk to the ferry and bus. Environment and staff were friendly and easy going, fast wifi and even had a hot tub available in half hours increments.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, friendly staff and the soup, chocolate pudding and ice cream are definitely a good addition, only thing is that there's only two wall-sockets in the dorm I stayed in for 6 people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joyce_yong20033516
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
8.0

All in all a great hostel, most of the facilities are very good. Free warm vege soup in the winter is awesome and yummy. The only thing I am not very happy with is the wifi cannot be connected in the dorms and everyone is out in the common space to use their laptop. I would love to lie in the cosy bed to use my laptop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2017
10.0

Really good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place and free ice cream and pudding delightful! All in all great place only stayed a night but enjoyed it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
16th Apr 2017
6.6

The man that checked us in was absolutely welcoming and kind. However, the older lady that was working there was not so nice. She communicated pretty rude when we had a question about anything really. (also a guy late at night he was the security I think, was not amused because I had a cold and it bothered him). But to be honest we didn't really mind. 10am check out, basicly means get off our property! Hostel itself could use some renovations, but it has character Good things: Pudding, Hot tub!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place. Cosy, and appreciated the hot pudding and use of spa. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

First hostel where I got a free-to-use towel and soap in my bed. Then we were greeted by chocolate pudding and ice cream. The owner seemed a bit 'annoyed' by so many people, but was quite nice apart from that. We had our own shower and sink in our dorm and everything was clean. Less than 5 min drive to ferry terminals

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.