Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sequoia Lodge Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.1

Great hostel, friendly staff and the soup, chocolate pudding and ice cream are definitely a good addition, only thing is that there's only two wall-sockets in the dorm I stayed in for 6 people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joyce_yong20033516
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
8.0

All in all a great hostel, most of the facilities are very good. Free warm vege soup in the winter is awesome and yummy. The only thing I am not very happy with is the wifi cannot be connected in the dorms and everyone is out in the common space to use their laptop. I would love to lie in the cosy bed to use my laptop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2017
10.0

Really good stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place and free ice cream and pudding delightful! All in all great place only stayed a night but enjoyed it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
16th Apr 2017
6.6

The man that checked us in was absolutely welcoming and kind. However, the older lady that was working there was not so nice. She communicated pretty rude when we had a question about anything really. (also a guy late at night he was the security I think, was not amused because I had a cold and it bothered him). But to be honest we didn't really mind. 10am check out, basicly means get off our property! Hostel itself could use some renovations, but it has character Good things: Pudding, Hot tub!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Lovely little place. Cosy, and appreciated the hot pudding and use of spa. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.0

First hostel where I got a free-to-use towel and soap in my bed. Then we were greeted by chocolate pudding and ice cream. The owner seemed a bit 'annoyed' by so many people, but was quite nice apart from that. We had our own shower and sink in our dorm and everything was clean. Less than 5 min drive to ferry terminals

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adaraenthaler9522
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.1

Absolutely no complaints about this place, very cosy living area and helpful manager.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.0

We arrived late evening after taking the ferry from Wellington and were met with free pudding (missed the ice cream though). The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The only arse-ache might be the location of the bathrooms if you're staying in one of the outer rooms. You essentially have to go out into the cold to take a leak but that's just nit-picking really. The kitchen area was well equipped and not too crowded. If you're looking for a hostel with a cozy feel, this is it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Small hostel with a friendly atmosphere in a relax kind of way. Perfect for solo travellers who wish to meet some people and take it easy. Highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.