Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Serendipity Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.6
Serendipity Beach Hostel Located at Serendipity Beach Road, Sangkat 4, Modul 4, Sihanoukville.
Serendipity Beach Hostel
Cambodia
Sihanoukville 18000 Serendipity Beach Road, Sangkat 4, Modul 4
74% 588
10.6092032 103.5216057
Serendipity Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Jan 2017
6.3

Overall a useful hostel, not much going on here except to sleep. Location is good, near the nightlife and close enough to the main beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
31st Dec 2016
6.9

Very average hostel. Good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.3

Really nice new building with a great pool and a nice but under-used restaurant. The pool area is great to socialise or chill and rooms and bathrooms seemed clean. Unfortunately the hotel's a bit out of the centre down narrow, winding streets which are pretty dark at night. The one thing that irritated me was that staff would without knocking walk into the dorm for no apparent reason at all times of day and night (once at 00.15am), switching on lights and leaving the door wide open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
8.9

The location of the facility is really good. It is pretty close to the beach, but also to all kinds of restaurants. We had no problems at all and the staff was friendly and helpful 24/7.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
6.0

Extremely basic and a bit rough. A few of the toilets didn't have doors or didn't flush. Bit unclean. Not much of an atmosphere or much of an area to socialise. All outdoors. No lockers in the rooms which is a pain. Alright for one night but wouldn't stay any longer than that. Mosquito nets are broken with holes in. Bunks are a bit old and rickety. Didn't feel totally safe. Its cheap- get what you pay for. But I've certainly paid the same amount for a Much better standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

Good location. Room a little rough

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sophieknight91
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Nov 2016
7.7

The front was a building site, no bar or common area really. When asked about the wifi not working staff were pretty unresponsive. Overall it might be alright when it's finished and if they employ more friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The bar renovation is complete now, but it has been leased to a third party and is no longer part of the hostel although it is still accessible from the hostel. You mean the common area with all the tables, chairs and hammocks under the sunshade in the middle of the Hostel? You probably came at a time when we were moving the Wifi from the restaurant to the hostel and rerunning all the network cables. The staff can reboot the internet if it's slow or malfunctioning, but there's nothing they can do if I'm pulling it apart and putting it back together. You probably confused their unresponsiveness with inability to do anything about it and explain that adequately to hoards of upset internet junkies.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Nov 2016
6.0

The hostel is only ok. The bathrooms were clean but and he location is good but those are really the only good parts. the atmosphere is weird with a number of prostitutes coming in to the property and even into our room (nothing happened). I was on the top bunk in a dorm and my bed made massive creaking sounds with the smallest of movements and swayed a lot. We only came here because it had room but there are much nicer hostels just metres away .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We don't allow prostitutes in the Hostel, this is clearly stated in our Terms and Conditions. We don't allow any illegal activities. It was probably the security guard's night off. We now have 24hr reception on the gate after moving it from the restaurant so it shouldn't be a problem anymore. If you have any problems with your bed or otherwise then please report them to reception and we'll do our best to fix them there and then. If you wait until after you leave then we don't know what bed to repair or whatever.

1st Nov 2016
4.3

Maybe I just had a bad experience of this place. It was dirty first of all. Rats coming into our room. Mosquito nets didn't work - all had holes in them. Staff not helpful. Advertises towels but we never got ours even though we asked for them they said no - clearly saw clean towels behind reception. Much better hostels up the same road. Would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The dorm you stayed in was the last one to have the floor tiled and the walls painted this year so it had probably had a year of use before you stayed there. If you bring food into the rooms then you run the risk of attracting mice and other unwanted guests, this is the reason that food is forbidden in the fan dorms in our terms and conditions because they're open to the outside for ventilation. If you didn't get towels then we probably ran out. We can get them within 1 or 2 hours though so this shouldn't have been a problem. The towels you saw behind reception would have been returned towels so they would need washing before reuse. The implication that the staff wouldn't give you clean towels if they had them is clearly ridiculous! All our mosquito nets have been replaced as a matter of course now.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
8.3

Okay place to stay for a night on your way to the islands. Big bar and live music but no people around. Dorm is okay and clean. Would stay again for a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.