Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

  • No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
4.3

The property is too dirty, no food available in the hostel and unhelpful staff. There are other hostels in Shanghai with the same price but way better. I suggest you don't stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Dec 2016
5.7

Ugg. Well I guess you get what you pay for. Good price crappy place. Lots of mold and definitely not a clean hostel. The common room was weirdly quiet and everyone sorta just did there thing. Old guy was living in the common room which was super creepy. I suppose during the summer the space would be nicer since there is an outdoor courtyard. Quite a walk from the metro but it is a good location to get places. The only redeeming quality is the AMAZING Jian-bing on the way to and from the metro!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Nov 2016
4.9

Rooms wet and cold, first two lockers did not work, third was questionable. There was no atmosphere, a happy hour might help

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
8.3

To get to the hostel you need to go down a dark alley. At night it might be a little dangerous. But the location in the city is good. It's very close to Pearl Tower. And the facilities are clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
8.3

Good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
4.3

The staff were friendly but that was about it. The location is in a dismal back alley near a construction site. What you will save in money you will make up for in needing to buy everything else. There is no soap in the bathrooms, the floors were absolutely filthy and the the mattresses were old and decrepit. The shower room I was using had no door. Honestly unless nothing else is available avoid shg. I take no pleasure in giving a bad review but this hostel needs a wake up call.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
3.7

There were giant cockroaches inside the dorm. The door didn't lock, which let in mosquitoes. The bathrooms were probably the worst I've experienced in China. The district is within walking distance of tourist highlights but the area directly around the hostel is grungy and unkempt, and I can promise at night it looks like the trash itself is moving. I checked out a day early. For the money, it's a place to stay. For safety and any kind of comfort, I would not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.3

I wasn't expecting anywhere to lavish when I booked this hostel but it was a bit of a surprise. I was put in a dorm which was over all okay but we had no lock on our door and people just seemed to walk in and out, and we had no lockers. The showers and toliet facilities were exceptable but weren't the cleanest. It is also hard to find. The directions given on the website are not very helpful. It is down the bottom of a lane which isn't well lighten at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bfusco
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Sep 2016
6.6

Dirty hostel quite far from all touristic attractions. Be prepared for very uncomfortable beds and dirty showers. on the plus side the prices are cheap and the staff really helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.