Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

  • No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.2
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel Located at No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai.
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200120 No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District
69% 400
31.2391874 121.5271139
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Sep 2016
5.4

SHGYH has potential, but at the moment left plenty to be desired. The whole place could use an update to give it a more comforting vibe. There were holes in the wall of my room. Many of the movies they claim you can watch for free are just empty DVD cases. I would compare it to a cheap motel in the US. It didn't help that a metro line was being constructed on Pudong Avenue. Once complete, they will have an excellent location. It could be a really nice place, but needs a fair amount of work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
7.1

The beer fridge isn't cold but the price is good so if your trying to save a little coin stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
6.3

Just stayed a night here ´ cause I had to go to PVG. It´ s about 15 minutes from the nearest subway station, the neighborhood is not very nice, and the place lacks of cleanness. The bathroom didn´ t look clean and smelled. The staff is very friendly and speaks English. This would be one of the last places I stay again in Shanghai unless there´ s nothing else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
7.4

The shared bathroom reeked of stale urine, a situation doubly troubling because the bathroom was in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

Came here for second time. Nice location, friendly staff, good value for money. I love this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
7.4

The staff were incredibly helpful, organising to arrange a late pickup for us (1AM) from the airport ahead of our arrival which was much appreciated. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk to the nearest metro station. It's surrounded by residential areas and building areas which were quite noisy late at night/early morning. The rooms were well equipped but quite old - beds and pillows weren't the most comfortable. Good value though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • TheBeardedManc84
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Apr 2016
2.6

DO NOT BOTHER BOOKING HERE! The room we were in was damp literally EVERYTHING was wet the beds the walls the sheets your clothing after just a few hours in there it was horrible! The hostel has a couple of families living there with children who just run round all day annoying anyone in sight! The food was disgusting. For the money it's really not worth it to stay somewhere so bad! I've never stayed anywhere this bad (the staff were polite and friendly thought) only plus really

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.3

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times already. First Hostel we stayed at in China together so it has good memories. The staff has always been friendly and the rooms are what you pay for. Not top of the line but just good enough for the night. We always stay here when we are in Shanghai, we will upgrade when we have enough money though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
4.6

Friendly staff but it's hidden down a back street with no signage. It's not a clean hostel, the bathrooms are disgusting and smelly. The reception team were very friendly though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
7.1

Mostly Chinese speaking guests, fewer international English speakers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.