Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shangri-La Lao Shay Youth Hostel Reviews

Shangri-la, Yunnan, Jinugu Village, Blue Moon Valley(Si Ka Shue San), Shangri-la, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained


68 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 97%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel is right in front of 石卡雪山, a scenic place that should be visited when you're in Shangrila! It is really homely, with a pool table, golden retriever and friendly staffs! We booked a family suite and the room was clean, nice and simple with hair dryer and electric blanket (you need that for winter!!!). The only downside is that there is no heating in the room; hot water for showering was too hot and cold water was too cold (no in between), making it hard to shower.


Perfect location and friendly helpful staff!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Very typical Chinese managed hostel, improvement is needed if hostel manager wants to host more foreign visitors.


The location is not a walking-distance to the town, but you can take a taxi for around 10 RMB to take you here. The surrounding is super good, you can see the snow mountain just right behind the hostel. The male staff is nice though he always concentrate to play on his computer. By the way, the hostel can pick you pick to the train station or airport, but you have to reserve it earlier.For the improvement, I think the kitchen can prepare more food for eat coz they are lack of ingredients...


This hostel makes us very pleasantly surprised, although the city six kilometers away, but there are shuttle service (just pay 4 yuan), because the hostel is on the prairie, so the surrounding scenery everywhere, the staff was very patient, we are very happy to stay here.


Staff were very helpful and friendly at this hostel. This hostel's location is inconvenient as it is out of townHowever, a helpful pick-up and drop off service is provided by the hostel which is helpful. The shower in our bathroom was in a poor state . Good to have electric blankets, but heating is only available during the winter period. Perhaps the cost and availability of heeating is a limitation, but this affects comfort and we felt the cold.


Lovely countryside and wildflowers in summer. Absolute peace and quiet and fresh air. No need to bring your food, inhouse restaurant is good enough.


“Excellent rapport Qualité/Prix, Bon Acceuil et Service, Chambre et Salle de Bains Propre. Excellent Value/Price, Good service and reception, Hostel, Room and Bathroom clean and Bed confortable. Good Service friendship to help foreigners to discover the city"


I have stayed there for three times because of the mallow at the front yard. In summer, there are lots of little yellow flowers and they all change into red in autumn; when the winter comes, the whole world covers with snow. It's absolutely pretty. The location is excellent; though it is far away from the town centre (which i like best) I enjoy cycling around. If you enjoy the nature as I do it is a place for you.


This is a very special hostel, at about 7km from the town on the prairie a Tibetan architecture. Traffic is not convenient, but do not worry, this hostel has a mini van shuttle guests to the city, just pay 0.4 euros fare. Walking in the hostel surrounding beautiful nature, I also went to the nearby village stroll into the Tibetan family. No shops around, but the hostel has great drinks and foods. The room was clean, water is also normal.


The place could be much better because the location far (8km) from the city center is an interesting option and the common areas are good. The rooms are also spacious with a nice views. But it is not as isolated as the photographs lead us to think it is, and therefore, it is disappointing if you think you'll be isolated in a meadow among the yacks, which is not the case. Second, there is no flushing toilets and you have to use a bucket to flush it, and there is water only from 7:00 pm to 9:00 am

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. You mentioned the time limit for water, on July this year that your staied in that period because we live in grassland and lots of villages without water conditions often lead to water stress occurs, we have our own house well, this happens only rely on wells water supply, so only a limited time, hope you can understand. And than later this situation are not happen, thank you for your stay.


the staff was so good even we reached there at the late night time

  • 14th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


great hostel, all the other guests were chinees, staff works really hard and is helpfull. Nice to stay in the field outside of the city. Good chinees kitchen!


I enjoyed the location for a day, and appreciated the scenerey surrounding the hostel. They were very good about getting us in and out for the stay, and that made things all the easier.


The location is excellent for walking or cycling. Our room had a large wet patch near the bathroom-room had great views but was the shabbiest out of 6 different hostels used in SW China during the last 3 weeks.The main receptionist (dont recall her name but she is pregnant) was extremely pleasant helpful and spoke good English.Other staff were less helpful to us & seemed to prefer dealing with and concentrating their service on the majority Chinese pack-packers.Log fire should be lit all day!


So peaceful, so relaxing, so delightful hostel near Shangri-la. Eco oriented. I so enjoyed my stay at Lao Shay hostel that I would clearly recommend it to anybody who seek for a peaceful place to stay in and just enjoy view of meadow, snow mountains, ... Lovely place.


I had an amazing stay here and loved the fact that it was situated away from the town. Being in Tibetan settlements was a great experience to see and witness. Cycling up to the Temple behind the hostel was awesome and the snow capped peaks made it perfect for me. I really enjoyed cycling everywhere to see everything that interested me in particular just passing through small settlements where the people want to talk to you and try to help you as much as they can with no English


staffs of hostel are great,helpful and friendly.Two dogs are so cute. Generally atmosphere is so nice,quiet and surrounded by many beautiful mountains.We will come back again if we have opportunity.

  • 2nd Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Just about everything was a mixed bag. With a few exceptions, the food was oily, bland and a little overpriced. The setting was serene, but small children, teenagers, and mice running around in the walls were factors. The lady of the house was perfectly lovely, helpful and spoke good English and French, but the guy at the desk acted like everything was an imposition. The shuttle service to and from town, on call, was great at 3 yuan per trip. Dorms were well-priced, but private rooms overpriced.


I stayed here three times in less than two months. If you want to enjoy beautiful scenery combined with silence, then this place is for you. If you are looking for long drinking nights, then this place is not for you.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)

View all Shangri-la Hostels

Please give us your feedback