Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
Shangrila Boutique Hotel Located at Thamel, Jyatha, , Kathmandu.
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
Nepal
Kathmandu 446001 Thamel, Jyatha
83% 131
27.7137549 85.3138375
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Great hotel for the money. Located in the heart of Thamel, a bit hard to find at first, but is located on a quiet street close to all the restaurants. Had a nice cozy room that is small but full of light. Hot water works well and the internet is better than most other places. There was no heat, but the bed came with lots of thick blankets. The restaurant has a nice rooftop deck but I stayed in low season so there hotel was nearly empty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
10.0

My cousin and I stayed in Shangrila Hotel for 6 days and it was fabulous. At first we were scheduled to stay for only 3 days but once I saw the roof top lounge, felt the friendly atmosphere, and its location in Thamel, we instantly extended our stay. We were staying in a 2 person suite. I have stayed in lots of hostels in various countries and this place had the cleanliness like a nice hotel and had the cool environment/vibe like a hostel. Not a party place, very cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adambuchanan101
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.6

Nice budget hotel at the entrance to Thamel. Comfy beds and great staff. Didn't stay long enough to see much of the rooftop or try the food but looked good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
7.7

A good option though there are probably better dorms out there. Its in a great spot in Thamel super close to the tourist bus stop. The staff is very motivated to help you plan your visit if thats what youre looking for. Only downside was that the bathroom was a bit too small for a shared facility. If there were more people there it would have been a real pain.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
9.4

My stay at the Shangrila was fantastic! The staff are very friendly and helpful! The hotel/ rooms are very clean, bright and colorful. This hotel is tucked away from the busy streets of Thamel and was nice and quiet. Even tho many resturant a are near by, they serve delicious breakfast/lunch/dinner. Great hotel for value! Thank you Shangrila :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
10.0

You simply won't find a better hostel with such friendly helpful staff! The owner Keshab can help arrange anything and everything you want to do in Nepal, the rooftop is the best hangout, and you're directly in Thamel. Bright and clean atmosphere. Had one brief issue about my room only giving boiling hot water from the shower but it was quickly resolved. Will absolutely stay here next time I go to kathmandu, and you should too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Sep 2016
8.6

I was made to feel incredibly welcome here, particularly as a solo traveller. Staff and management went over and above to make sure I was looked after. Ideally located in Thamel and walking distance to most central attractions and the shopping district.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
9.1

We stayed here a few times over the course of two weeks, between various trips. Triple room was good. Staff were excellent, got on with them really well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
10.0

My home in Kathmandu... Stay here, you wont be disappointed. Best chill out place by far! Thanks brother for the Awesome stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
7.7

Fairly nice rooms in a good location in Thamel. The hotel is a bit away from the main road, which reduces noise during the day but since it is in a cluster of hotels, you'll get a lot of bar noise and music in your room during the late evening. Facilities are a bit worn, but fine for the most part. The rooftop restaurant is quite nice, though there isn't much of a backpacker atmosphere, if that's what you're looking for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.