Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 206 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.0

I had high expectations of the place based on the reviews and since it's a bit more expensive than the other places in Kathmandu I've stayed at. Was rather disappointed, dorm was not clean (which I had to myself though) and bathroom was dirty. I might have had the worst room, tucked away at the bottom next to the staff room. Breakfast was great but I was supposed to have it at seven because of a flight and they only started preparing it then so had to hurry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th May 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel for the Nutella backpacker. Great facilities, fantastic food and the staff are very friendly. Perfect place for the weary trekker or someone with fresh eyes on Nepal. Special mention to Keshab (owner and manager) who makes special effort for keeping his guests happy - at two occasions taking his guests out to local Nepali restaurants. He also just bought kittens. There's a fantastic rooftop for chilling out and meeting other people Staff are first class and are very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for your great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel welcome our guests as family and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that we are saving a chair on rooftop for you and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2017
9.4

The Shangrila Boutique Hotel is one of the best hostels that I have stayed in. The staff are so helpful and the manager will go to any length to get you what you need. The food is also very good, the breakfast is the best breakfast I have had at any hostel. The prices are very reasonable. The location is amazing, situated in a quiet area of Thamel but only a minute walk away from the hustle and bustle. It's a wonderful place and I would definitely stay there again if I am ever in Kathmandu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the wonderful review! We here at Shangri La Boutique Hotel believe in providing our guests with true Nepali hospitality and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
9.7

This hostel was absolutely lovely. The owner is so kind and all the staff are so wonderful. The location was phenomenal, minutes away from Thamel with its great shopping, aweesome restaurants, and peaceful garden (Garden of Dreams), but just around the corner, so that there was a little bit of peace in the midst of the busy-ness of Kathmandu. If you're looking to stop in Thamel in Kathmandu before or after a trek (or even just wanting to stay in Kathmandu), this place has it all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel our guests really appreciate our quiet location right in the heart of busy Thamel and we are so happy that you enjoyed it too. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the near future. Sincerely, Keshab

14th May 2017
9.4

The staff here are beyond kind.. you get a complimentary drink upon arrival, free breakfast and the rooms are really nice. Try and ask for one with a fan as the ones without are quite toasty. The wifi also was sketchy and didn't work a lot of the time but the staff was always trying to fix it and most cafes/food places have free wifi. The bathrooms were ok, the sink water often turned brown. But I came back because compared to other places it felt like luxery, plus the location was top notch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we want to be your home away from home when you are in Nepal and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that we get our water directly from the Kathmandu Municipal Water supply and filter it through a three part system before it enters our hotel. The city is currently replacing all of the water lines in Thamel ensuring better water quality for all. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
10.0

This is by far the best hostel in Kathmandu and Nepal in general. If you're looking for a cheap place that serves plain toast look elsewhere as shangrala is the "Nutella backpacker" option in town, however you'll get way more then you pay for with outstanding service and facilities, everyone in my party was happy 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel want to be your home away from home when you are in Nepal. That is one of the reasons that we offer such a hearty breakfast to start your day off on the right foot. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • kaylaturnersf2648
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.4

Beautiful hostel. Kind staff. Great location, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review!! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel take pride in providing a clean comfortable room in a warm family style atmosphere for our guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • nikkijohnson978
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Apr 2017
7.1

Shangri-La is a bit of a mixed bag! On the one hand the staff were super friendly and the atmosphere was fantastic. The location is great as it's rignt in the Thamel area and it's only a short distance to all the major places. The breakfast is fab and my bed super comfy. On the other hand, security was a bit sketchy and bathrooms left a lot to be desired. Then again it is Nepal!! Staff were friendly but communication was lacking at times. On the whole I would certainly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel strive to provide a clean comfortable room in a warm welcoming setting.so that our guests feel at home with us. We offer our guests a hearty breakfast to ensure a great start to the day and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yours.. We appreciate you recommending Shangri La Boutique Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is great - right in the middle of things but still tucked away in a corner, away from the busy street. Everyone there was super kind and helpful. Everything was really clean - except sometimes the bathroom did get a little out of hand but they cleaned it fairly often. All in all, I definitely enjoyed my stay and I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we strive to bring you a clean comfortable room in a warm welcoming setting and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Nepali hospitality. Please accept our apologizes if the bathrooms were not always up to our usual standard of cleanliness and know that we have begun an hourly bathroom check during this busy trekking/tourism season to ensure our guests comfort. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

Shangrila is a beautiful hotel run by wonderful staff! The showers were hot, the wifi was great and the free breakfast was really nice, different every day! The beds were also so comfy. There were a few families around but that didn't stop the backpackers and younger guests hanging out. I think the bathrooms need more attention and cleaning throughout the day though as the floor gets wet and muddy and the urinal (which seems unnecessary) stinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel strive to provide our guests all of the comforts of home and are so happy that you enjoyed our Nepali hospitality. We must apologize if you found the rest rooms not up to our usual standard of cleanliness and would like to assure you that this is the exception rather than the norm for us. We look forward to welcoming you into our home again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.