Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

Shangrila is a beautiful hotel run by wonderful staff! The showers were hot, the wifi was great and the free breakfast was really nice, different every day! The beds were also so comfy. There were a few families around but that didn't stop the backpackers and younger guests hanging out. I think the bathrooms need more attention and cleaning throughout the day though as the floor gets wet and muddy and the urinal (which seems unnecessary) stinks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.9

I stayed in this hostel for four days, the staff were extremely welcoming the facilites where decent for what your paying. The internet is quick, breakfast is unreal. They have a nice rooftop patio. On the down side the hostel was not the easiest to find due to the lack of signs. My room the last night did not have any power outlets. In conclusion this is a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2017
10.0

This hotel was amazing! Staff were incredibly nice and really funny! Beds were amazing! Breakfast is definitely worth it and so filling. Wifi is great, showers were ok, but awesome for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we want to be your home away from home in Nepal and are so happy that your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you home again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

This is a great place to stay! Clean, and green, and still right in the heart of Thamel/Jyata. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We strive to provide our guests with a clean comfortable room in our relaxed and friendly guest house.. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

13th Apr 2017
8.0

Had a decent stay. However there were inconveniences like the minimal electric outlets in the room, and the tiny bathroom shared by too many people. The breakfast on the balcony was really nice though, and the location was good as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! Our guests say our location tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood is a welcome relief from the bustle in Thamel. We here at Shangri La Boutique Hotel believe that a great day starts with a great breakfast and are so happy that you enjoyed our efforts. Please know that we took your suggestion and have now added electrical strips to every room. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

11th Apr 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever been to in Asia. Facilities are clean, dorm beds very comfortable and the roof-top terrace is a perfect and quiet place to chill. What makes this hostel really special is the staff and especially the manager KK who is incredibly helpful and friendly and helps you with everything you need, be it postponing a mountain flight or arranging transportation and tours for you. I will definitely come back here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! Our goal is to provide you with a clean comfortable room and a relaxed and welcoming stay. We are glad you chose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
8.0

Shangri La Boutique Hotel was the accommodation I chose for my first night in Kathmandu. Despite only staying for one night, it was exactly what I was looking for. The customer service was excellent and the food was delicious. However, one thing I would encourage them to improve is the room maintenance. Overall, I'm satisfied with the service provided at the Shangri La Boutique Hotel. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel we strive to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable home away from home and are happy that you are satisfied with your stay. We have also taken a look at your concerns and have addressed them immediately. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
7.7

The staff was very friendly, however there was a miscommunication regarding our room. We booked a family room but some how ended up staying in a bunk room our whole stay. The owner was nice and gave us complimentary drinks and momos upon arrival. He also offers many trekking tours to guest. The bathroom on the first floor was okay in the beginning of our stay but started getting very stinky towards the end of our stay to the point we would gag everytime we entered. We liked the free breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your room and cleanliness of the toilets. We strive to provide our guests with the trip of their dreams and being short staffed during the very busy tourist/trekking season we dropped the ball during your stay. Rest assured that our staff has returned from visiting family for the Nepali New Year and things are back on track. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab .

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

The hostel overbooked our accommodation. Receptionist at the front desk was not much help either. Wifi below average too. Location and cleanliness is good though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great overall review! We must apologize for the overbooking as this is something that rarely happens with us. The good news is that after a two year lull Nepal is having a super busy tourism/trekking season and for that we are truly grateful. Thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
8.0

Was good the shower smelled a little funny but all in all a good place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel strive to provide a clean comfortable room in a relaxed home away from home environment and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.