Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Everything was great! Except please stop putting those air fresheners in the urinals !! They smell awful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the outstanding review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel take pride in providing a clean comfortable room for our guests and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

The rooms where great and also the breakfast. The only thing i wasn't really happy about were the bathrooms. But the rest was amazing, great hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the outstanding review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel want to be your home away from when you are in Thamel and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2017
7.7

Stayed here as a group of 5 in a private room for 2 nights. Room was ok, just a bit on the small size for the number of beds in there. Hotel itself is fine, in a great location, staff are friendly but there were some long power cuts in the block while we stayed there. Breakfast is also fairly average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel strive to provide a clean comfortable room in a laid back setting and we are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. And while we agree that power cuts can be frustrating rest assured that this is not a common occurrence at the hotel. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.0

The location is really good in central Thamel, and the staff are helpful with any queries. The free breakfast is an added perk. However cleanliness is questionable and the distinct lack of luggage lockers in rooms is not great, but the dorm rooms only seem to have a low number of beds so it's not the end of the world.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review. We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel love to share our Nepali hospitality with our guests and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the suggestion of lockers for the rooms. We are currently doing a deep cleaning after an outstanding trekking season and will look into where we might be able to place lockers. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

29th Jun 2017
7.7

Nice & clean rooms. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Very close to good restaurants and the craziness of Thamel but removed enough so it's not so noisy. In terms of meeting people, it was off season but we didn't meet anyone while there, could be different during high season.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel strive to provide a clean comfortable room in a home like setting for our guests and we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us. For a more lively stay may we suggest that you join us during the trekking/tourism season when Thamel is hopping and our rooftop is a hot spot full of other friendly and adventurous travelers. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2017
10.0

Could not have been happier. The location (dead center of Thamel) is absolutely perfect for those stopping by for a quick visit or looking for a central point at the start of a trek. The rooms have everything you need and the hotel itself is stunning, with a beautiful dining area (free breakfast is a huge perk) and rooftop patio where you can enjoy a beer. I have to mention the AMAZING staff; Rohit and the rest. Thank you for helping us find out lost passport and making this stay so wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel love to share true Nepali hospitality with our guests and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the near future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jun 2017
6.0

I had high expectations of the place based on the reviews and since it's a bit more expensive than the other places in Kathmandu I've stayed at. Was rather disappointed, dorm was not clean (which I had to myself though) and bathroom was dirty. I might have had the worst room, tucked away at the bottom next to the staff room. Breakfast was great but I was supposed to have it at seven because of a flight and they only started preparing it then so had to hurry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for your review. We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel pride ourselves in providing a clean comfortable room in a warm, welcoming home-like atmosphere and our guests consistently rate us as exceeding their expectations. We truly wish you would have brought any concerns you may have had to the attention of our staff so that we could have addressed them immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th May 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel for the Nutella backpacker. Great facilities, fantastic food and the staff are very friendly. Perfect place for the weary trekker or someone with fresh eyes on Nepal. Special mention to Keshab (owner and manager) who makes special effort for keeping his guests happy - at two occasions taking his guests out to local Nepali restaurants. He also just bought kittens. There's a fantastic rooftop for chilling out and meeting other people Staff are first class and are very helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for your great review! We at Shangri La Boutique Hotel welcome our guests as family and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured that we are saving a chair on rooftop for you and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th May 2017
9.4

The Shangrila Boutique Hotel is one of the best hostels that I have stayed in. The staff are so helpful and the manager will go to any length to get you what you need. The food is also very good, the breakfast is the best breakfast I have had at any hostel. The prices are very reasonable. The location is amazing, situated in a quiet area of Thamel but only a minute walk away from the hustle and bustle. It's a wonderful place and I would definitely stay there again if I am ever in Kathmandu.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the wonderful review! We here at Shangri La Boutique Hotel believe in providing our guests with true Nepali hospitality and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, Keshab

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
9.7

This hostel was absolutely lovely. The owner is so kind and all the staff are so wonderful. The location was phenomenal, minutes away from Thamel with its great shopping, aweesome restaurants, and peaceful garden (Garden of Dreams), but just around the corner, so that there was a little bit of peace in the midst of the busy-ness of Kathmandu. If you're looking to stop in Thamel in Kathmandu before or after a trek (or even just wanting to stay in Kathmandu), this place has it all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Namaste! Thank you for the great review! At Shangri La Boutique Hotel our guests really appreciate our quiet location right in the heart of busy Thamel and we are so happy that you enjoyed it too. It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nepal in the near future. Sincerely, Keshab

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.