Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 143 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
Shangrila Boutique Hotel Located at Thamel, Jyatha, , Kathmandu.
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
Nepal
Kathmandu 446001 Thamel, Jyatha
84% 143
27.7137549 85.3138375
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
9.4

Lovely nights sleep, even though it was cold we were warm under the blankets. Lovely manager, delicious breakfast and hospitality. Couldn't ask for more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice enough, it is a hotel more than a hostel though so if you are looking for atmosphere and partying probably look elsewhere. Comfy beds and clean though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
6.6

Good Hotel located in city center (Thamel). A nightlife hub of kathmandu. Rooms are clean but small in size. Staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
9.4

This place is great. The owner and staff are wonderful. They will get to know you and they can set up trips and cabs and other things for you. Good food in the restaurant - notable amazing Nepali/western breakfast. I felt safe here and met some great people even though it was the off season. Cleanliness and facilities are excellent for Nepali standards. The one drawback is there is no heating here - I and some other guests were absolutely freezing despite getting extra blankets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
8.0

Good hostel with great location and awesome kitchen. But the wifi is terrible, if they do better on it it's almost a 10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
8.3

Clean rooms with lockers for valuables, community bathroom with showers, great location in the heart of Thamel. Would recommend. Complimentary breakfast was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2016
9.1

Very nice hotel! All the rooms were clean. All staff were friendly and happy to help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
8.3

Great hotel for the money. Located in the heart of Thamel, a bit hard to find at first, but is located on a quiet street close to all the restaurants. Had a nice cozy room that is small but full of light. Hot water works well and the internet is better than most other places. There was no heat, but the bed came with lots of thick blankets. The restaurant has a nice rooftop deck but I stayed in low season so there hotel was nearly empty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
10.0

My cousin and I stayed in Shangrila Hotel for 6 days and it was fabulous. At first we were scheduled to stay for only 3 days but once I saw the roof top lounge, felt the friendly atmosphere, and its location in Thamel, we instantly extended our stay. We were staying in a 2 person suite. I have stayed in lots of hostels in various countries and this place had the cleanliness like a nice hotel and had the cool environment/vibe like a hostel. Not a party place, very cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adambuchanan101
  • Scotland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.6

Nice budget hotel at the entrance to Thamel. Comfy beds and great staff. Didn't stay long enough to see much of the rooftop or try the food but looked good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.