Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shangrila Boutique Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Shangrila Boutique Hotel Located at Thamel, Jyatha, , Kathmandu.
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
Nepal
Kathmandu 446001 Thamel, Jyatha
86% 116
27.7137549 85.3138375
Shangrila Boutique Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Aug 2016
7.7

Fairly nice rooms in a good location in Thamel. The hotel is a bit away from the main road, which reduces noise during the day but since it is in a cluster of hotels, you'll get a lot of bar noise and music in your room during the late evening. Facilities are a bit worn, but fine for the most part. The rooftop restaurant is quite nice, though there isn't much of a backpacker atmosphere, if that's what you're looking for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
7.4

I had a good stay, but there was a loud beeping sound that lasted all throughout the night, and it came from right outside my door. Made it impossible to sleep. Also, the places was remarkably hard to find, as there were no signs pointing to where the hostel was (I triple checked).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
9.4

I was unfortunately travelling in off season so there wasn't many people staying here and I was alone and looking for friends. However, the staff were amazing and I had a blast getting to know them. Great location and facilities!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Clean, quiet place to stay. Not much of an atmosphere to meet other people or travelers. Staff were friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

Helpful staff and great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th May 2016
8.6

Im Alessio from Belgium. And i stayed at the Shrilanga hostel for about 2 weeks. And i must say i really loved it.. Cool staff, always prepared to help, laugh and party with you.. They have a good kitchen. Ive made once a chocolat banana brownie for them. And they teached me how to make the traditional dishes..clean rooms and bathrooms.. Ive met alot of cool people at this hostel. Ciaoo

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2016
8.0

The beds were the best part! Super comfortable. It's a great location in Thamel but you do have to walk down an alley street for approximately 1 minute, which can be a little dodgy at night for a woman alone. There wasn't much of a vibe or community, but the staff were friendly and respectful. And the comfortable beds made it all worth it! I would defintiely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
9.1

I loved this place! I came here with no plans and the staff directed me to the tour guide on site. It is a lot of twists in the road to get here, but it is very easy to figure out and it's right next to the market so you'll always find something. I think the one thing I would have to say negative is that in order to not make the bathrooms smell bad they put too much of the urinal cakes in and makes it smell like them. Besides that, this place is amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
8.6

Great hostel. 4 person rooms are a little small and can be crowded. Big locker for all your stuff.clean bathroom. Cool rooftop for hanging out. Computers with Internet are also avalible on the roof. There are water coolers you an use to fill up a water bottle. Not every bed in the dorm had an outlet for charging a phone which made things a little difficult. I had hot water for a shower every morning. Overall a great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.