X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sheilas Cork Hostel Reviews

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3139 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Showers and bathrooms are a bit old and would need to be "refreshed"

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were very nice and friedly. The location is very central but not the best area to walk around late night if alone. The bed was very confortável and the layout of the small room made it spacious enough. The ensuite bathroom wasn't bad but the shared ones needed an extra clean. The thing that actually bothered me was the shower, would need to press the button every 20 seconds and there was no temperature selection. The cinema room, kitchen were nice and wifi working well even in the room


80%

We liked the hostel and the atmosphere, but one big big minus was our room! 6-bed-mixed- doorm was so tiny that just the 3 bunks hat place in there and even worse was the fact that there were no windows for us to open and the air was so horrible that we woke the next morning with headaches... so that room we'd never take again, though we don't know about the other rooms! A plus: the friendly man from the reception who gave us great tips about our travelling plans, which routes to take etc :)


100%

great hostel, great atmosphere, helpful staff

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the common areas nice. The location wasn't the best but not terrible either, a bit of a hike up a hill from town. Close to the bus station! Oh and a nice "free food" box in the kitchen which had some good stuff in it.


89%

The staff were all very nice and helpful in given directions around the city and suggesting different activities to do.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The guy on the reception was the friendliest and most helpful host I've come across! Great place to stay but it can be loud in the mornings once people start to wake up. The only negative was that we had an en-suite and there was no soap provided.


83%

It is a good hostel but the breakfast should be free. I have enjoyed the time here.


89%

Fun place to stay, staff was really helpful and nice!


80%

We were generally happy with our experience. For a hostel I'm not sure we could have expected better. We paid for a private en suite room. It was a very small room with bunk beds, but it was functional and we were backpacking. They had lockers to rent for cheap (definitely recommend). We arrived mid morning and they gave us a locker for free for the day. Only other issue was a group of teenagers were loud (screaming and running in the building), but it's a hostel and we were close to patio.


89%

Excellent staff, but the hostel gets very noisy on the weekends.


80%

Nice place, clean, quiete and near the city centre. The ensuite room is the best solution if don't want stay in a room with a lot of people and want the bathroom just for you.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Probably, in term of facilities, the best hostel I've ever stayed at.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

did well for what we wanted


86%

Very nice stay actually. Just would have loved another pillow and some kind of shampoo/shower gel in the bathroom.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friends and I were delighted with Sheilas! When we arrived, we were welcomed and given excellent advice about what to visit and how; the room was clean and the beds comfortable; and it was very conveniently located, within easy walking distance of both the city centre and the bus and train stations. All in all, a fantastic experience!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

THE ROOMS ARE TOO MUCH SMALL. THE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND KIND

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Frre tea would help atmosphere. Very difficult to provide ow milk when traveling. A bit dark in places and not so cosy, but large comman space and quiet which is a nice change


71%

There were no lockers in the room besides maybe 2 under bed cages in a 14 bed room. A guy in my room had an ipad stolen as a result. It was quiet the nights i was there, which was good for sleeping, but not great for meeting people. Otherwise i enjoyed my stay here.


37%

Do not stay here if you want to have a good time in cork. Go to Bru Bar. (Or however you spell it).

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. I'm sorry your experience of Sheilas wasn't what you had hoped it to be. We would appreciate any positive feedback on how we could improve our guest experience.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback