X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sheilas Cork Hostel Reviews

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3249 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Super friendly staff and great venue.


94%

Very little bad about this place, other than it is at the top of quite a large hill! Great place, friendly and helpful staff.


89%

Our six bed dorm was really small, but people in our room were friendly and nice and so we slept very well. Staff is very nice and helpful. Lockers are available. Bathrooms aren't very clean, but you can us them. I will come back, if I can.


60%

we ended up not ever making it to the hostel but because we booked the reservation so late they would not refund us


63%

Up a bloody big hill, into a cramped but clean room, and you arrive. Staff was great, vibes were not. More of a hotel than a hostel when it comes to atmosphere, but the location near downtown made up for that.


71%

Very poor room. I remember coming to Sheilas about 15 years ago on a school triop and it hasnt changed. No windows could be opened, the room smelled quite bad as a result. Beds were very poor also if youre over 5''6. Otherwise fine, clean and safe. Breakfast cheap and not bad.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice hostel, friendly staff, close to the city centre (10-15 min walk)

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Not bad but you've to pay extra for everything, lockers, breakfast, etc. The rooms are really really small but the kitchen and livingroom are nice!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Un Trés bon accueil, pour mon chien guide d'aveugle et moi, le personnel est sympathique et serviable... En somme un trés bon séjour.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I was in a 6-bed dorm SO LITTLE that we could not move at all into it, and there was no space to put our things. Even the window was very little, colnd not be wide opened and faced a wall. All taps (in bathoorm, kitchen and showers) are push-on buttons so you have to push every 5 seconds to have water. Washing up plates was really hard and shower almost impossible. Breakfast costs 3 euros and is very basic. The only positive thing is the position very close to city centre and bus station.


80%

Lovely hostel with a nice and helpful staff. I will definitely use it again!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Room was very narrow, without any piece of furniture like a chair or a table. Then without good air circulation in the room.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Experience at Sheila's was great! The best part was location, only 10 minute walk to the town center! Great kitchen facilities and security, could be more showers but we never waited too long!


63%

bathroom was a fair distance from our room which was quite annoying. quite a few older people and families staying at the hostel so if youre looking for a younger crowd this probably isnt the place for you. kitchen was huge. I was only there for a night so I cant really comment on the atmosphere as I had an early one but it sounded like they were having fun out there on that rainy night.


66%

This hostel is close to downtown, be aware that there is a steep uphill walk to it though. Big kitchen but broken fridges that were too small. Fridges were warm and one door broke off. Not enough bathrooms, only one shower worked properly, only one sink. Only one light worked in our room, but the bunks were nice. Sauna was tiny, lockers are in basement.


83%

The hostel is very good, but maybe a little too big and crowded. The private room where we stayed was very small, there wasn't enough space for our things, but however it was nice and well cleaned. The kitchen and the common rooms are spacious and provided with everything you need. The location is quiet but near to the city center and the bus station. The staff was very kind and helpful: they can answer to any question you ask them about the place and the main attractions.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very happy with our stay. The one slight caveat was being told we should be there to check in before twelve but when we got there we were told we had to wait until three. It's a minor issue but on the confirmation issue it seem there was a warning about it and the possible risks so we were anxious that we get there on time. Either way however the staff were very friendly and they provided it is with lockers for our bags while we waited

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It's good organized, big dining room, perfect breakfast for 3 € . Old toilets and showers, and not enaugh for the huge number of guests. It's like a seeport: in the night People enter the hostel the whole night at 2:00 - 3:00 - 4:00 - 5:00 o'clok in the morning, or they chatter outside for hours not thinking of the people in the sleeping rooms who are sleeping.


71%

The double room we stayed in was way too small for comfort (we had backpacks and could not open the doors when they were laying on the ground in front of the bed). However, the hostel is in a good location and anything you need you can find there (laundry, snacks, a netflix home movie theatre, friendly staff, etc.). It was clean and the bed was comfortable. Not a bad visit to Cork!


69%

So so hostel. There is nothing horrible about it and the staff are very helpful and nice, but my room was super small and hard to get around, the bathroom wasn't very clean, there is no free breakfast, and the wifi didn't always work upstairs.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(121 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback