X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sheilas Cork Hostel Reviews

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2701 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Friendly staff, excellent location. Rooms slightly squashy, not great washrooms.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel is great for a cheap weekend away! As long as you don't go expecting 5* you won't be disappointed :)


80%

Maybe I just picked the wrong time, but this place was full of kids (age 12-18) and there was no place for privacy to make a phone or skype call. Outside was even busy and noisy. They would take up the full common room and kitchen to have lectures or something of the sort and I could tell I wasn't the only guest who felt unwelcome. Staff, facilities and location were all great though! I would recommend this hostel and hope your luck is better than mine.


100%

Great place. Nice and clean with very friendly staff.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Our 3rd floor room had some smells from the kitchen below but closing the window seemed to get rid of most of them.


94%

Staff were very helpful , great location and it has parking outside which in Cork is a real novelty :) Excellent price too. They have a half price deal with the local Four Star Pizza which was handy.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

You definitely get what you pay for... Which was not much. Everything had a strange smell to it. Breakfast was not included. Across the bridge from most of the things you want to do in cork (which isn't too much) and it doesn't feel like that safe of an area to walk back in, especially for 2 girls at night.


63%

Beautiful Rooftop-Terrace open for everyone. Very small rooms (we couldn't place our luggage on the floor and open the doors at the same time).


83%

We liked his hostel but we were only there for like 12 hours total. We had a room to ourselves which was nice and the lady at the reception seat was very friendly and helpful. It was kind of a walk from the sights and about 15 minutes from the airport but it was a nice hostel.


86%

During the world cup tvs were turned off in the middle of the game! I did not like that one bit


83%

Really nice hostel for the price!!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is reasonably well located, it is a beautiful building and the common areas are nice, but the rooms where we've been (four beds with private bathroom and six beds with private bathroom) were very small (the pass between bunks was very narrow) besides these aired to an internal courtyard of questionable hygiene, you could not open the window because of the bugs that were in it and neither could lower the blind because it was broken.


83%

A good hostel overall. Staff was fantastic. Unfortunately there always seems to be these groups of young kids that are super loud and rude which completely ruins the vibe of these kind of hostels. Pretty tight spaces in the rooms.


89%

The staff was amazing: warm welcome, excellent advices for things to see in Cork and in the region. The only negative point of our stay in this hostel is the first nigth: a lot of noisy young people who had no respect for the ohters... But the rest was perfect!


51%

Don't plan on getting a good nights sleep. Was woken up all through the night with slamming doors and drunken people hanging out in the hallways. Only properly slept from about 4am. Toilets had a constant disgusting smell and didn't seem to get cleaned.


83%

Sheila's is good value for money. You get what you pay for and what is advertised on the website. Staff were polite and helpful and facilities were acceptable. Not too far from some good pubs and easy to navigate to from the bus stop.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice and helpful staff. Location is good, on the other side of the river from the city center. Hostel needs a renovation - not all the lamps worked properly in the bathroom, there was some water leakage in the passage between the kitchen and dining area. If you need a proper sleep you may find it difficult - of course depends on whose staying in the hostel at the moment. In my situation there were people yelling outside till 4am.


100%

Well put together. Would stay again.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were incredibly nice and the vibe in the place was very friendly. I was there barely seven hours (late arrival, early rise) and in that time, I was really impressed with Sheila's.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

No light working in downstairs showers

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(86 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback