X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sheilas Cork Hostel Reviews

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3446 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The bathroom wasn't really that great. The shower room had nowhere to put the clean clothes but on one single hook on the door. A chair or something would have been nice. And we are aware that it's not that easy to keep the bathroom in a 14 bed dorm clean, but maybe you could at least clean it twice a day or something like that. At the end of the day the bathroom was completely wet and the toilet was smelly.


86%

the back hallway is echo-ey and as a result the private rooms (which I booked) didn't feel at all secluded or quiet.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

The room layout was weird, it was a hallway with 3 bunks shoved inside in whatever way they could fit. When opening the door, one of the bunks would get hit by it. I felt bad for who slept there. There was only one locker in a room for six people. There were no outlets or lights by the bunks, the showers were dirty and the water cold. It was very noisy in there at all times. Not all was bad, The staff very friendly and then the hostel was a short walk away from the center.


91%

Have stayed here many times. Very good hostel.


83%

Nice and chilled atmosphere. Great location. Showers could've done with being somewhat hotter though.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything was great from checking in to check out!

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A lovely hostel with staff who were very helpful and friendly. I will say that the shower in the en-suite was only lukewarm both the evening when we arrived and again at 9am the next morning. Having just a rubber bath mat also meant that it was hard to keep the bathroom floor dry. All in all, it was good value and the friendly staff and good common areas made up somewhat for the sub par bathroom facilities.


83%

All of the people who worked there were very nice and helpful. The hostel's up a bit of a hill, but it's a short hill and a bit of exercise does a good job of burning off the Guinness.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved this place! So friendly and nice comfy beds. Only negative was the showers were cold. Awesome breakfast too :)


94%

The staff were very friendly and the room was very warm which was nice. Would recommend Sheila's to anyone. Thank you.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The man at reception was great! It would have been nice to have a locker in the room.


74%

My biggest complaint was with the showers. They were very small, little privacy, and were cold. Other than that, I had a very pleasant stay. Although it's not the closest to the city center, it's still a great location (be forewarned, it's up a fairly big hill but it's worth the views), and the staff is very welcoming and warm.


100%

We had a wonderful stay, one of the best hostels in ireland! and so cheap! It was really great and i will come back definitely ! :-)

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place , relaxing and comforting , good location, approachable staff


60%

The showers are so cold , please do something about the shower


100%

Sheila's place is wonderful place to stay at during your stay. It gives best value for your money, cause it is close to city center, and offers all necessary facilities that you should have no mater if you staying only for short or longer period. I was there almost one month and definitely I would recommend it to all my friends. I wish to praise Sheila's staff because they were always friendly and helpful for any thing that I asked. Thanks a million. :)


60%

It was very cold in the common room, the shower took forever to get warm and there was very little ventilation in the dorm room and cinema room. staff was nice. bit lack of atmosfere problably because breakfast was not included, no windows in kitchen en cold.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I thought the staff was very nice and the building was neatly organized. My only complaints would be the very very slow wifi when everyone in the room uses it and then that there was only one toilet for the entire floor and I didn't even know if there was another one on the other floors. Part of the map of the building on the back of our door was missing so I was confused where everything was. I was also upset that the breakfast didn't open up a little earlier because it looked good.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I'm in and out to Shelia's all the time. I'd never stay anywhere else in Cork


60%

Hostel location is fine. Staff was friendly. Breakfast for 3 EURO was fine. Lot of noise! The room was VERY small, could almost not walk between to bunkbeds to go to the bathroom. The bathroom in the room smelled very bad and the shower hose didn't work so instead of pressing it once you had to hold it in while you showered which was hard. Only one big light in the room which is horrible when you live 6 people together. And only 1 security locker under one bed - not enought for 6 single people

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback