Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sheilas Cork Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 4469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 4469 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • taycarey3233695
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2017
8.0

I'm from the west coast of the US and this was my first hostel on my first trip to Ireland. The man at the front desk was very nice and the kitchen staff for breakfast in the morning was very nice as well. I can't tell you much about the way of the hostel other than that since it was my first stay but at least you'll know the staff is friendly!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2017
7.4

I stayed in Sheila's Cork hostel two different times. The rooms themselves are very spacious with plenty natural light and very clean. The bathrooms are particularly bad. There's essentially two toilets and two showers to share with everyone on the 2nd floor. The stalls themselves always smell really bad and are generally grimy. The atmosphere isn't great, not a hangout place, there was a group of kids running around the whole time. Staff is very helpful. Unbeatable location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
6.6

This place was okay if you are looking for a cheap, really basic place to sleep. The beds were comfortable but I found there was no space in the rooms to really move around. The 6 person suite would have been better as a 4 person suite as it was a very tight space. The bathrooms were okay but very small and dingy. The advertising showed photos with lots of space but that was not the case.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
3.1

Bathrooms always dirty, I have never been to a hostel where a free locker isn't provided. It made me uncomfortable that they were charging extra to store my belongings, I find that practice very dishonest. It was the only hostel I stayed at in my 3 weeks in Ireland that charged for breakfast. I would avoid this place if I were you. The walls are thin and you can hear conversations in the neighboring rooms. People slam their doors all hours of the night and it was difficult to sleep. AVOID!!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
8.6

Receptionist very friendly. Fantastic living room atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
7.1

Nice location, parking was easy and staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Aug 2017
4.9

Unfortunately large groups dominated kitchen and bathroom. Very noisy. They don't change the duvets when people leave. Bathroom was very dirty all the time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved shields hostel would rather it to any hotel staff wer outstanding the way you can cook for yourself is worth its wait I gold will be planing to go there every year from here on in thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.1

Great hostel. Good location, is a bit of an uphill walk to reach it. Clean bathroom and great kitchen facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.6

Short stay (one night) but served our needs Helpful staff, great location, easy parking, comfy beds, good kitchen setup Only drawback was the toilets stank of sewerage the whole time; and because they host large groups the kitchen/common areas get dominated by them so rather than cooking we just went out to eat

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.