Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sheilas Cork Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 4185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 4185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.4

Great. I always stay here when I'm in Cork.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2017
8.6

The staff at Sheila's was not only friendly but they went out of their way to help you out. For example I woke up late and there was only 5minutes left for breakfast but they rushed so that I could have a proper breakfast and when I was short on the smaller bills and went to give the man a bigger bill, he just waved it away. Now to be be fair the facilities were small and it is an older building so you can hear everything around you so if you are a light sleeper I recommend ear plugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

It seemed like an older resident crowd rather than young travellers. Did meet someone and that made things okay but didn't mean anyone else. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. No charging port next to my bed which was annoying. Only showers located on the ground level which was annoying being located on the 3rd level

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2017
5.7

When I 1st checked in, some random guy came in right after me pretending to be a guest. He then went up and down the stairs and finally asked me if I could share my room with him because all the rooms were full. He did not have a card or anything like that to have access to the dorms but somehow snuck in while i tried to go to my room. I am a female, and he was a male and that alone was creepy. The bed cover was disgusting. It was stained with white stuff on it and it it was so dirty that it gav

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.3

I've been going to Sheila's for 13 years now and it is still the best hostel option in Cork, in my opinion. It's in the city centre and close to everything you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.1

A hostel that has basically everything but lacks a bit with respect to community and attention to detail. It's mostly that little things like too few plugs for the smartphone generation as well as not exactly a great breakfast for 3€ extra that makes it only a so-so place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is very good, good location (near of bus station and city center), good structure (bedrooms, bathrooms). The only thing that I didn't like was the breakfast: very simple, only three toasted slices of bread with a small portion of Nutela... I was waiting for more!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.0

Location ideal. Friendly staff, remembered by name the next day! Common areas are ok, big kitchen. Room walls thin so bring earplugs! Showers were cold but whatever I needed a refreshing blast in the morning! Lockers are on the ground floor for your stuff which is awkward but fine. I didn't have the breakfast or the food on the property but nice to know it was there if needed, and it was cheap too! Will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
6.3

Not my favorite. Rooms were tiny. Bathroom was not clean, but I blame this on the fact that bathrooms are coed dormitory style, which I would avoid in the future. There seemed to be some sort of young men's athletic team staying there when I was there, so the overall vibe was not one I enjoy. The location is good though, close to everything, and I was able to park, although I would have had to buy a parking sticker had I stayed longer. Staff was pretty friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice hostel, the bold guy at the reception rocks! Showers were not hot enough for my taste

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.