X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sheilas Cork Hostel Reviews

4 Belgrave Place, Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2711 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Nice and helpful staff. Location is good, on the other side of the river from the city center. Hostel needs a renovation - not all the lamps worked properly in the bathroom, there was some water leakage in the passage between the kitchen and dining area. If you need a proper sleep you may find it difficult - of course depends on whose staying in the hostel at the moment. In my situation there were people yelling outside till 4am.


100%

Well put together. Would stay again.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were incredibly nice and the vibe in the place was very friendly. I was there barely seven hours (late arrival, early rise) and in that time, I was really impressed with Sheila's.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

No light working in downstairs showers

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The location was perfect, close to the city, anemities and train station, away from the buzz. The staff was very nice (in particular Paddy on arrival made me feel at home, he is a chatty lad, attentive to every single person equally. The house is kept clean and it was a pleasure to stay, even though only for one night

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly staff, very good price and decent accommodation. The only downside is that the hostel is located up in the hill, but it's close enough to the city centre. I'd recommend it!


86%

Sheila's hostel is in a very good location, close to the centre. No breakfast was offered.


86%

Day staff was very nice and most welcoming. Night staff made me feel like I was asking them a favour for staying at the hostel.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location. Very near to city centre. The only downside is you have to climb the hilly slope upon reaching the hostel. Staff wasn't great. I called and asked them to check if I have left my watch on the bed. Then staff 1 asked to call back in 10 minutes as she ask someone to check for me. When I call back, staff 2 says he can only confirm once they clean the room. They staff are not friendly and are always busy with their stuff. And the 8 beds dorm was quite stuffy. You get what you paid for

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

They had this rope course next to the hostel so every night they had at least 50 kids staying there, running around. So that kinda sucked but I absolutely love Killarney!! It's beautiful :)


80%

Pretty good hostel. Not a bad walk to some of the best bits of cork.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Clean room. En suite bathroom was clean and everything worked well. Lovely staff.


91%

Great location. Cheap and easy. Room was a bit hot, but apart from that, no complaints :)


86%

Very friendly staff, some discount around by showing key card (like the pub) Free wifi everywhere. Free bed sheets and towels. Comfortable mattress. Private twin room is small but ok. Lots of stairs Friendly staff. Walking distance from everything. clean and confortable. Breakfast 3€ or you can make your own in the kitchen Very noisy, you can hear everything trough the walls (you can understand perfectly the conversation in the next room). Big and busy place, noisy people all night The room lo


91%

I stay here every year, its cheap, convenient, have everything you need, extremely helpful staff, and very friendly.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Hostel was clean, staff were friendly, bars and restaurants galore nearby, train station 5 minute walk, bus station less than 10. There is a HUGE hill up to the hostel but you don't notice it coming back after a night in the many pubs of Cork!

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great and friendly staff. Wonderfull view across Cork (top floor).

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

An excellent experience all round. Every service was catered for you would want from a hostel. Staff excellent: well informed and friendly. I will highly recommend Sheilas and will be sure to return. Thank you.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff was very friendly and helpful.


89%

A good place to stay Cork. Pretty basic but everything you need for an overnight stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.


(88 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback