X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
4987 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A great place, and wonderful staff members; the best ingredients for a memorable stay.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

All in all it was a good stay. It was nice and quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful and they all spoke good english. There is only one electrical plug to share between 4 people in the room I stayed at, but it was not a big problem as there are multiple plugs in the common room.


97%

I'm easy to please so everything here was fine. A bed, working showers, lockers, nice dorm-mates, etc. The thing that stood out was the overwhelmingly friendly service/workers who were bright and cheery, who are seemingly genuinely interested in you.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good service and nice facilities. Brakefast was delicious. Recomended

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location to explore Jordaan. 5 minute walk to Dam square. Honor cold breakfast choice. Breakfast starts at 8 but they will pack you something to take away if you have an early departure. Friendly staff, would recommend.


91%

I felt I was looked on with suspicion, constantly being asked for prof of residency. I fully understand and support the need for security but at times the tone and many of some staff made me uncomfortable. I suspect my age was the reason. I have stayed hear many times in the past and felt welcomed. If age is an issue an age restriction may be the way forward. If age is not an issue then the question arises would I have received the same negativity if I was gay or a person of colour?


69%

The location of the hostel is perfect. So if though it´s not perfect it´s a good place to explore Amsterdam. The staff was very welcoming, nice and helpful. Negativ aspects: no kitchen - but you can buy something.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

the staff was friendly and helpful showers should have another towel holder and you should divide between the place were you shower and were you change you should send the map that you give at the reception when someone books it would help a lot when coming at the hotel and also mark it


91%

Great place to stay, lovely people!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful staff and a well-priced room in the city about 20 minutes walk from the van Gogh museum and near to the Jordaan.


94%

The staff are incredibly friendly and the location is amazing. The whole city is easily walkable, but things like the Anne Frank House, Tulip Museum and Centraal Station are easy to get to. The food in the cafeteria was great too, and not expensive. Overall, I had a great time and would most definitely come back.


89%

A very nice atmosphere, all the staff was so kindly and friendly. The organization of the space in the rooms was clever. Nice experience!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It was frustrating that there weren't any electrical outlets on the top floor.


97%

Considering that this was my first stay at any hostel I was pleasantly surprised by the warm kindness that that was given there. The staff is really kind and wonderful very upbeat beautiful people, people who enjoy working there. The overall experience was great everything was kept clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful and the common room was a delight. Had an amazing time there, and I hope to return one day.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place to stay. Nice friendly people. Use-os of all ages. And the Christians activitites that is a paus for those which values are settled in Christianity. Highly recommended.


74%

Recommended for the good price & location. Don't expect luxury but all basic needs are met. Free hot breakfast tasted good.


77%

There are no plugs in room (18 male), if you want to charge your mobile devices, you have to leave reception. Breakfast was good and include the prices. Staff was nice.


83%

Shelter Jordan is really very good hostel for people who are travelling alone or who wants to stay with only females or males. There is also option of mixed group. The location is perfect, 20min walk from centraal station and you can cover main spots by walk.The staff is very nice and reception is open for 24×7. Breakfast is included. I liked the atmosphere most- peaceful place.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

See my just-published story on Student Travel Planning Guide.com--http://studenttravelplanningguide.com/a-top-hostel-choice-for-budget-travelers-in-amsterdam/

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It was weird to get out of the shower and see a man cleaning the female bathroom. But ok. The breakfast was nice and the staff was always helpful. I was shocked that they are all volunteers! Great location also!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback