Hostelworld.com

Shelter Jordan

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6,132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6,132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Shelter Jordan Located at Bloemstraat 179, , Amsterdam.
Shelter Jordan
Netherlands
Amsterdam The Netherlands 1016 LA Amsterd Bloemstraat 179
86% 6132
52.3731363 4.8772430
Shelter Jordan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.1

The rooms were pretty clean but there wasn't a lot of wiggle room. The location is close to Dam Square, the Royal Palace, the Nine Streets area, the Anne Frank House, Nieuwe Kirk, Westerkirk, a laundromat, and a couple of grocery stores. If you don't mind walking a bit you can get to places like the Centraal train station or Van Gogh Museum.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.1

This is probably !y favorite hostel stayed in, not because it had fantastic amenities, but because of the extremely friendly staff who created a welcoming and supportive atmosphere. It is all run by young volunteers from all over the world. I participated in several of the free activities at the hostel and on my last day they invited me to play football with them! It was a lot of fun. They were also very flexible in letting me store my bags and use the common spacs after I had checked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
8.6

The staff were quite friendly. The wi-fi signal was great and it always worked. The bathrooms were clean, although the hand dryer in the men's room didn't work. There is a café at the hostel which sells food and drinks and the dining area for the café doubles as the common area. The fridge storage space was small but it worked. There isn't a self-serve kitchen but you can use dishes from the café if you ask. I wish there was storage space for non-perishable food. The lockers were small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.9

Hostel was good. Staff very extremely friendly and very helpful. The bathrooms were super clean considering number of girls sharing it. Lockers in each room were a bit small. I recommend you stay for their nightly dinner. It's cheap but delicious!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
9.4

I loved this place! They served hot breakfast every morning and it was phenomenal. They cooked us fresh pancakes and french toast during our stay. They even had a to go option available when we had to check out before breakfast time. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. They provide a lot of activities for you to engage with other travelers and they provide a free evening meal every Friday. The beds were comfortable and the place was clean. And a 15-20 minute walk to the city center!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.3

Loved this hostel and especially loved the people running it! This is no party hostel, but there's no shortage of that elsewhere in Amsterdam. The location is an easy distance from Centraal on the tram lines. My bed was comfortable. Breakfast was always good and on Friday nights they serve guests free dinner! The wifi is okay but you have to login every single time, which gets annoying. Bathrooms were decent but there was always a line for the showers. Will definitely be back next time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
7.1

Strange atmosphere for a hostel in Amsterdam, wonderful stay but was lacking in some areas

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Great clean, nice place. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.0

Alright for a couple of nights' stay. Rooms had lockers and had power sockets on bedsides, but they were the smallest room I've stayed in. Showers were clean and the staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
8.9

really nice stuff, a bit expensive but generally ok for Amsterdam, unfortunately the second hot drink and second slice of ham or cheese for breakfast is not included in the price, bear in mind that you need a padlock for your locker and it must be a small one, mine was to big so I had to buy one

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.