X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4295 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Very nice people, and located in a great neighborhood. But it was loud, incredibly hot. No ventilation in the very small rooms. Delicious free breakfast.


83%

In a very nice area, hostel jordan seems far from just about everything but amsterdam is pretty small, so don't feel hesitant to stay here! Food is good, staff is nice, and though it is definitely a Christian hostel I never felt pressured about religion.


100%

All good. Staff was super friendly, were smiling and seemed genuine from the heart. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a safe place to stay...they are making every nationality feel at home and try to help as much as they can


80%

Shelter Jordan was good, it was what I expected from a hostel. I didn't know breakfast was included in the price and it was nice to have it included. Location is also convenient, it takes 20-25 mins to get to centre by walk.


100%

It was such a pleasure stay, i will come back for sure

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice staff. Good meals offered. Bathrooms need a deep intensive cleaning. Great location. Lockers in rooms are a good size. It is a Christian hostel that feels safe in a city that is famous for drugs. No over religious pressure at all. Just nice people!


91%

Was really good, great staff would definitely recommend

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great find! Very friendly and helpful staff-- great directions-- easy to find-- great location! I'll come again if I stop through Amsterdam.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Really good hostel! Near Anne Frank's house and awesome breakfast. I would totally go back and recomend this hostel! Cheers!


71%

Male and female dorms are separated (women 1st floor, men 2nd one) but the ALL floors are completely prohibited for one or for the other gender. Quite Incredible i think. What are they afraid of that we can not even go to the 'female corridor'? Thanks God, i'm gay. Except for that, good place to stay. Really nice breakfast.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is in a peaceful and trendy area of Amsterdam. The staff sas very helpful, the breakfast id Ok (pancakes!!!) i will recommend this place! ✌️👍

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Located in the beautiful Jordaan district, the Shelter Jordan is conveniently located near the Anne Frank Huis and a variety of small shops. Their staff is a little disorganized at times, but is extremely warm and friendly. They also saved our butts the first night because we had screwed up our hostel reservation by a day and found ways to accommodate us for the night. There is a lovely free breakfast, and convenient phone charging at the front desk. It was a great experience!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice and cozy hostel, good location, very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this place. I would definitely stay at this hostel again! :)


80%

Very good breakfast and friendly staff. We had a nice stay at the hostel.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Terrible hostel. Worst I've ever stayed 1) reception opens the luggage room for anyone n everyone without checking tags 2) checking in/out is very slow. This lady called Esther even said to her fellow recep to just ignore the q n take her own time 3 room is like a jail - dark, windows that can't be open, no heater/ AC 4) recep knows nothing - fares, recommended restaurants, things to do etc 5) room extremely dusty and smelled dank 6) only 1 power outlet and everyone had to fight

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The staff were extremely confused because they were all volunteers. It's a cool system but it was an extremely frustrating experience


74%

Quite a nice place. Some problems with Wi-Fi.


91%

Wish I'd been told in advance to bring a lock. There are very few plugs, and it's a challenge to get your phone charged at the reception because everyone wants to do so. But apart from that the staff was very friendly, and I felt safe given that I slept in a huge dorm in a hostel.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I had great times in Amsterdam and one of the reasons was this hostel. I stayed awesome 4 days there, the people are really nice and helpful. Definitely i will stay there again. The only weak point is that they dont have plugs in the bedroom, sometimes it can be reaally annoying. But the good points overcome this. Thanks A Lot Lucas Lima, Brazilian


91%

For the price, Shelter Jordan is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. It was clean, staff was great and accommodating, and overall it was a great hostel ans one of the cheapest in town.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback