X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5771 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Wifi did not work in the rooms, but beds were comfy


100%

Very nice atmosphere, the is too friendly and helpful. Personally it was excellent. Thanx shelters

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Living at Shelter Jordan was perfect. The staff was very nice, the hostel was very clean and its location was perfect as well. The tram station was close and the region was a quiet one. My stay was perfect. ☺

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritius
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great homemade breakfast and very kind staff.


91%

The staff was awesome and very friendly!

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel itself is nice! however the bathrooms need a good clean and there isn't enough room in the dorms. This means you are constantly stepping onto someone. The free breakfast is a plus! Also the hostel does not have a kitchen only a microwave and fringe. This means cooking meals is hard especially when it costs money for hot water.


100%

It's a hostel near the centre, there are only 15-20 minutes walking to the central station, but I like it because we decided to see Ana Frank house, the Damm place, and some important places near it. Good location, confortable, with 2 options in the breakfast and there are cheap possibilities for lunch or dinner, too. I liked the people working inside it and I met new guys . It's a good option to sleep some nights and visit Amsterdam.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved my stay here! Not only did I feel a sense of connection with the members of staff: they went out of their way to help me and other guests. The food was good and the intention to meet guests needs beyond reproach. I felt really safe and I'll be back!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a great budget hostel. People are nice and friendly in check-in and answering any tourism information. I have a great night staying in Shelter. It is much appreciate if kitchen is provided to make our own meal.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really good hostel. Has all you need, very safe and perfect location. Surprisingly cheap, perfect for people on a budget. Only negative point: a guy was cleaning the ladies showers at the busiest time of the day. I've never seen that anywhere before and found it really inappropriate....

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Shelter Jordan was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. It was so lovely to meet so many interesting people from so many different places, and be so well looked after. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

No comments

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good. Near tram stop.


100%

Have you ever heard about love? Well, that's what you get in Shelter. The place is very cool, the people are nice, the food are fantastic and you are in the most awesome part of the city. It's calm, but closer to everything. I will for sure go back there!


86%

good place to stay, very clean, nice staff


89%

A great hostel, very nice and helpful staff. Perhaps you might look into doors that lock automatically, as I was a bit wary trusting my roommates to lock the door after they left.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great staff.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Thank you for these three nights. A beautiful hostel. Fairly close to downtown but in a quiet area. The free meal Friday night was the opportunity to meet other tenants. see you later.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was really good. The staff were very friendly to us and the location was perfect

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel in the best area of Amsterdam, Jordaan! Very friendly and welcoming staff, young volunteers that really creates a positive and...just very nice atmosphere :) The hostel is non-alcohol, non drugs and non smoking, and in a city like Amsterdam, this is a very good thing. No problem sleeping though you stay in a 18-bed dorm(!). The rooms are divided with walls and high ceiling, which makes it very airy. Comfy beds also.Big "livingroom" where you meet other travelers and hang out


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(204 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback