Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter Jordan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 6,196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 6,196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Shelter Jordan Located at Bloemstraat 179, , Amsterdam.
Shelter Jordan
Netherlands
Amsterdam The Netherlands 1016 LA Amsterd Bloemstraat 179
86% 6196
52.3731363 4.8772430
Shelter Jordan
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jul 2016
5.7

THIS IS A CHRISTIAN HOSTEL... I don't know why this isn't in the first line of their description? There was only one plug for 4 people and the wifi was patchy at best. We were made to feel very uncomfortable and pretty judged (purely because we clearly weren't Christian)... If you are not a Christian and you want to have a good time in Amsterdam, this isn't the place for you. .. But the free breakfast was very good I must say ..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.1

Initially, we were very please with luggage drop off. Our room was not ready but we were still able to see the city without having to worry about our bags. At night, it was very, very hot. We were also concerned with our roommates not locking the door. Thankfully, we had our own luggage locks. We were also not worried about luggage being stolen. Overall, it was a good stay. One of the younger desk employees did not know the answer to my question which was asking where the bathrooms were located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
6.0

Overall the shelter was a happy place to be but we did find ticks in our room and there was lots of hair in the shower. The breakfast was very good and location was fantastic! the room was quite small and very hot (due to time of year). Staff are all volunteers so rotate constantly so it's hard to judge them!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Kipchurchur
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall, this is a good hostel. It's in a very central location and only ~15 minutes away from Dam Square. Staff was friendly and the free breakfast was not bad either. Rooms were fairly clean. Washrooms could have been a little bit cleaner though. This is a Christian hostel, so I think unless you're Christian and take part in their daily activities (I.e something similar to bible study), there isn't a great communal atmosphere besides sitting down at breakfast in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
4.9

First and foremost THIS IS A CHRISTIAN HOSTEL. Idk if i missed that in the description or whatever but when I got there I was like 😶. This means garden closes at 10, no alcohol or drugs in the hostel, no bar crawl, separated male and female floors, not much besides a bed and a locker. Wouldn't stay for more than a night especially if you are trying to meet people/hang out. I was totally caught off guard.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
8.0

Very mediocre stay. It'll get the job done since it has a good location but I definitely wouldn't go back if I had other options. The room I stayed in was packed with 8 beds and felt cramped. Definitely has a Christian vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
9.7

My staff was great. The breakfast was good the staff was friendly. Sometimes I had problems with using the internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.6

We noticed when we arrived that it's a Christian hostel, but it was not written at their name here. We should have been informed before. There were no soap nor towel/paper at the bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
7.4

The staff were all super lovely and available all the time to help and recommend places to see and go. The place was clean too. Location was absolutely perfect it's in the city so everything is walking distance but just enough on the outskirts that it's quiet and you can enjoy a stroll along your area which is full of really cool shops and cafEs The vibe was average you weren't allowed to smoke weed or drink alcohol so it was relatively boring within the hostel but location made up for it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.1

Everyone was very friendly, and the food was great! The location was also nice, as it was close to anything you would want to do while in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.