X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4076 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I literally came into the hostel with a sprained knee the the staff came over and helped with it even though they were on their lunch break. They were so nice and welcoming and helpful in every way possible. I most definitely will come back whenever I'm in Amsterdam. It truly was amazing!! Thank you!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The security to get into the hostel was pretty intense, however the bedroom doors did not automatically lock behind you, and my roommates kept leaving it unlocked. Additionally, the lockers were too small for me to fit my backpack in. Most of the staff was very friendly, however there was this one old man who was very grumpy and unhelpful. This hostel was way too expensive for what I got out of it. Oh, and it's a "christian" hostel with a struct no drug/alcohol policy. Fun!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Please continue like this. Everything was fine!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

A little bit of a drag they had rules about drinking and smoking since it is in Amsterdam, but outside of that its a good hostel. The facilities are nice and


71%

The staff was very nice and friendly, but when I would ask them about tours or day excursions, they were not able to answer many of my questions well or give me much information on them.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A really proper stay in Amsterdam if you don't want to pay too much. Fine for just sleeping and breakfast. Breakfast was good, you could choose a few options. The staff was very kind and the other guests were also. Really nice area in Amsterdam, you could walk to the center or take tram/bus.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

No beer allowed =(


71%

Nice place with nice pople. Noiseless and smokeless. Makes you want to return.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place for visiting the city


94%

Great hostel and good value for money. A comfy bed, hot showers and a nice breakfast which is included in the price. Couldn´t have asked for anything more.


97%

A atmosphere of incredible warmth!! Thank you!


86%

남자 도미토리 16인방 하루 썼는데 잠만 자고 나오기에 괜찮은거 같습니다. 화장실은 뜨건물 잘 나오고 깨끗하게 청소 잘 해놨습니다. 금연 금주 시설이고 흡연자들은 건물내 1층 테라스에서 흡연 가능. 딱 돈 가격하는 정도. 지금 비수기라 그런지는 모르겠지만 괜찮았습니다.


94%

It is really lovely and very clean hostel, where you can relax in peace after a long day...Everything was excellent and we really enjoyed a week there


94%

This ia a really lovely quiet place to stay. One of the cleanest hostels I've been to.

  • 11th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

A gret place with great people working.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The breakfast was really nice, the location is really quiet and the rooms are safe since there is a locker for each person in the room


94%

There was an amazing atmosphere

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is located about 3 minutes away from the tram station, only 2 stops from Dam square (old town). The breakfast is variable. You can chose from Pancakes, Toast and Ham or Musli, The staffs were very helpful and friendly. WIFI is free and fast. The bed was comfortable and clean. I had a nice sleep there.


80%

Pros: Beds & Bathrooms were clean, 100% Secure as they give you numbers for your luggage and phones, the breakfasts were filling (& you don't have to do your own dishes!), lockers in the rooms, they do not lock you out at night, they have a mailbox Cons: No outlets in the rooms (you have to charge it for free at the front desk), I had an allergy to something in the bedrooms, Location is not very central but close to Anne Frank House, my sheets had holes in them/stains

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were amazing! You really feel at home in the cafe/lounge area and the homecooked evening meal is a real bargain.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback