X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
5184 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Everyone was super friendly and very helpful with information about getting around the city. The hostel also has preferred tickets for some events so you don't have to wait in line or get preferred rates. The breakfast is awesome! The rooms are small and there is only one outlet, so bring a multi-outlet.


83%

Location is very good to take every tram and bus going to important places directly, and it is situated in very safe residential area. However, some rooms have only one code so It was so inconvenient to use for room members. The hand dryer in bathroom is so loud and noisy, and even I can hear that annoying noisy in my room...

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

staff was helpful in helping me around amsterdam


89%

The hostel was great because the staff was very friendly and helpful. They made good recommendations for seeing parts of the city and the food they provided (dinner on Fridays and breakfast everyday) was great! It is a well kept building although I was upset at the fact that there were not many electrical outlets in the room. It's a typical college dorm kind of building.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good: - Amazingly helpful staff with great attitude - Breakfast is great - hot and cold options, handmade - Bathrooms and showers are clean and plentiful for each floor - Wifi is great and so is the cafe Bad: - Not enough power outlets - but they do let you charge at the front desk - rooms are super packed at 18 (don't underestimate how much it will smell particularly for boys rooms) - they had booking issues and I found a random person in my bed at night, but they solved the problem


94%

It was my first time staying at a hostel. I was quite surprised on everything. Everything went really well.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff were very welcoming.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

rooms are quite narrow meaning the 6 person dorm felt cramped with everyone's stuff in there. Breakfasts were good and a hot option was included on the free list. The hostel is a street from Anne Frank's House and is a nice area that is accessible by trams and by walking. While the staff were nice and friendly they were not knowledgeable on touristy things: I would expect them to have heard of touristy sites and be familiar with the ticket attraction offers advertised in the hostel.


83%

this was a pretty good hostel. Staff wasn't especially knowledgable about Amsterdam, but they were quite kind. It's nice to have a hostel like this to take it a bit easy in relative to most hostels out there. Also felt quite safe in the Jordan neighborhood. Far enough away from the red light district to feel safe but atill be able to walk and see it.


80%

I enjoyed staying at shelter jordan however i think improvements could be made do the fcolities including adding power points to the bedsides as therewas only one powerpoint for 6 people.


86%

The location was great. Not dead centre of the tourist flow, but walking distance from a couple of museums. Lots of restaurants and shops on the main street around the corner. The rooms are kind of dungy, and the wifi isnt really strong. but the free breakfasts, hot or cold, make up for it. the lockers are on the small side, and some dorm rooms dont have locks, but its manageable. The staff are pretty nice, and arent in your face about the christian aspect of it, just respect their rules.


91%

They were very kind and welcoming. Our luggage was secured and I felt I didn't have to worry or stress out about it getting stolen or open. Would definitely recommend them to friends and family.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was all right, but the staff was a real pain. They're all very young Christians who works for free, and they do everything by the book. So they were not very helpful and they wouldn't make the extra effort to make you feel comfortable. They were also very judgmental if you have a lifestyle different from theirs. No drinks allowed, most of the people I talked with in the dorms agreed with me.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Love being in Christian company


100%

Staffs are genuinely friendly! Location is great!

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed here for only one night bc we knew it would be quiet and we desperately needed to sleep. It's good for that, but if you're looking for crazy people to go out with at night, you're SOL


74%

Very friendly staff! The hostel was in Jordan, though not too far but still quite a walking distance from the major sightseeing points. The rooms are small, and I recommend getting up early for the showers. The washrooms did smell a little but bearable. The cafe was also a very good space for people one another and their breakfasts are good!


86%

good hospitality,various events,possibility to eat there well and with cheap prices. clean although there were many people and convenient to rent bikes from them. rooms were a bit small and it would be great if there were more wc and showers.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

My friend really enjoyed our stay at shelter jordan! It was fairly close to everything we wanted to see. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the beds were super comfortable! We loved the free breakfast and the fact that there were alot of activities organized by the hostel. The only thing was not having an outlet nearby our bed. But besides that, a recommended hostel for all those heading to amsterdam to visit!:D

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A fantastic hostel! They have all the facilities one could need and they are only a short walk from the airport bus! Everything was clean, they have a lovely restaurant and everyone was really friendly, plus there is a free breakfast, even to go if you have an early flight! I can only recommend this place and I would stay there again for sure!


(190 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback