X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
5770 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

It is not really clear in the description, this is a religious hostel, a christian one. So if you go to amsterdam with a more meeting people and partying, this is maybe not the place for you. For example you cannot buy a beer, or drink one in the hostel. Still you can meet nice people and have a good time. The price is really cheap and close to the center. The facilities are fine for the price. I had to cancel my last night there and it was a nightmare and the staff was not kind at all.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location and lovely staff. Clean rooms and good breakfast! Would definitely stay again. Only downside is the one power outlet for four beds.


100%

Really good for someone who finding a cheapest hostel and safe place! Good wifi, good price, good breakfast and the staffs are very nice.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Myanmar
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We went at a bad timing where we are unable to join all the activities. It sounds fun. A good hostel still. It is really close to a tram stop, but a bit far from bus stations, and tram system in Amsterdam are a bit confusing. I like it's concept of a Christian Hostel


86%

Wifi is not so stable during the room. The room is not so light. But the atmosphere is great and staffs are very nice! By the way, I love the breakfast very much.


94%

I had a wonderful stay, the location and facilities were great but what really sets this hostel apart is the staff and the atmosphere. I really recommend signing up for dinner, the food and homey feeling is just perfect during a long travel.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

One shower door was slightly damaged making it possible to look into the cubicle. Slightly on the expensive side but it was the new year so i guess that can't be helped. Rooms were really narrow (no space to open luggage in 8 bed dorm) haha...

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely hostel with an extremely comfortable atmosphere. Location really accessible and easy to find. I will definitely be going back!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Marianne Hansum, Julia Harvey, Elizabeth Stanley, Leah, etc. were awesome hosts!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It is very very christian, and it stated in the rules that you're not allowed to practise any other religion within the hostel. The cafe and stuff all had a nice vibe, but everywhere you looked there were bible references. If you're a christian you will feel extremely at home here, if you're not however, the atmospere might feel a little but unwelcoming

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was in a decent location. Facilities were adequate and it was easy to talk to others. I really enjoyed the included breakfast, which consisted of a warm meal option: had cheese and ham sandwich and pancakes the next day. Overall I had a pleasant stay.


100%

Great hostel.. I really loved the vibe and the staff specially Gabriel, Susana and Mirjam. Everything was very clean and there was very nice activities organized by the staff which really felt like a family. The Location is perfect as well, tram station is less than a minute away and to the center less than 10 minutes by tram. One of the best places i've seen in my Euro trip.


91%

Really very sweet and wonderful place to stay. Its perfect because it just far enough to be a little secluded but yet close enough to walk to the center. It seems like a bit of a walk at first but its actually not even that mad and you see the city well. I stayed in the suite with multiple people, definitely recommend because I ended up making friends and taking off with them to explore other areas of Holland. Really the best experience.


86%

The hostel was really nice..it was above my expectation ..we stayed in 4 girl dorm ..the room was very small but we managed..the bathrooms are really clean and the sheets as well..the towel costs 1 euro ..no shampoos available .. The heating work well .. The cafe is small but fine ..hot water for 20 cents ..staff are really nice friendly and helpful to a great way .. I recommend it for students but 30s may not like the atmosphere as most of the guests are students ..


97%

BEST STAFF EVER! Honestly, the best place to stay! The staff is so cute and nice, it was a good experience. Always polite and try to help you.


83%

Great Hostel. Friendly and helpful staff makes you feel comfortable. Nice breakfast and cheap dinner. The only point that should be improved is the WIFI signal, specially in the second floor.


91%

I'll start off by saying that this is a very clean and neat hostel. The staff are very nice and friendly. This is a christian hostel, so if you're expecting to be at a hostel where you can meet folks and party with them later, don't stay here. Great and secure location. The shower head kind of sucks, and you almost have to hug the wall in order to have the water fall on your body. Overall, nice hostel.


63%

The bathrooms beed to be cleaned more often as there is always a bad smell there

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Shelter Jordan has good staff and they smil everytime while I was in there so they are kind :) Safety was good already drugs and alcohol is not prohibited.Breakfast was not satisfactory but it was enough also beds were clean but it was not comfortable.. Most importantant poin is cleaning.Unfortunately cleaning was weak, bathroom and toilets were so dirty and that point will affect my decision about staying. Thank youu.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I would highly recommend this hostel. Me and my friend had a great stay here!

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(204 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback