X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4052 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Had money stolen in dorm. Paid 17€ for 18 bed dorm room but price of dorm had fallen to 13€ at time of arrival but had to pay full price. But good location in Jordaan and very nice/helpful staff/good common room.


91%

Was a really nice collection of people which enhanced the value of the place. Thoroughly loved my time there.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. The value for the money was great!


54%

This was the worst hostel experience I have ever had. arrived late at night to find someone sleeping in my assigned bed. I had no choice but to choose another free one and for woken up several times moving twice throughout the night. noisy all night. when I told the reception in the morning they couldn't care less- only what bed I ended up sleeping in. locker storage for bags was well secured and breakfast included in the morning was also good. felt like a school dormitory building with no life


74%

Someone stole my camera from the closets at the hostel. Not a good thing.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was incredibly welcoming and it's super nice to wake up to smiling faces. You can tell they want to be there & the overall atmosphere was great. Having a free hot breakfast was such a nice change in a hostel & the bathrooms/sleeping areas were CLEAN! Terrific location, always felt safe and easy to get around the city


97%

Very nice staff in this hostel (Shelter Jordan). The atmosphere in the hostel was very nice and open-minded. One of the best hostels where I have been in . I would recommend this hostel! Such a perfect vacation and such a perfect hostel to stay four nights! Thank you.

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It was really dirty. Other than that fine.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Breakfast is really good!

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

i would stay again but i think the brekfast might b brought up date and have a little more choice as it is in the middle of a big europen city.. but overall everything was fine

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely stay! Very close to the Dam square (about 15 mins walking).

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Christian hostel and staff are all so nice and friendly.


89%

Very good for the price. Clean. The water in the showers is "slow", but everything perfect for the rest. Very good breakfast with pancakes, coffee, jam and fruit juices.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

friendly staff, location not far from the center, breakfast-organization could be a little better. room was ok, nothing special, 18-men-doorm. bring your own padlock and towel.


86%

The staff were very kind, but there are always many people in fron of the reception to do checkin or checkout, and the hostel was little far from the Royal Palace, but the room was clear and the atmosphere was not noisy.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed with a family and two senior citizens. They all had a very welcome and enjoyable stay.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendliest hostel staff I've ever met


97%

My experience at Shelter Jordan was phenomenal. The staff were very nice, the food was great, and the facilities (café, rooms, lockers, etc) good.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice to see a different part of amsterdam, staff were very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay would highly recommend. Was travelling alone and felt safe the whole time - great adventure!

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had great time. Everyone was really friendly and outgoing. Its very interactive with different events going on. I enjoyed the company of the staff and the other people staying at the hostel. It was very clean and had great facilities. It was the best hostel I have stayed in.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(67 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback