X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter Jordan Reviews

Bloemstraat 179, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4773 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

A lovely hostel with a great community, and very helpful staff.

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I'm wondering that if you could add some sockets in the 18 girls room. Cuz it's not very convenient for us to share only one sockets in a 18-peoples room. especially when the only sockets is on the wall besides the door..


74%

I loved my stay for the staff here, they are very kind and friendly and I made friends with them. People not lock the doors to the room at all, luckily there was lockers. I really wish the room was cleaner. When I came in, there was dust on the blanket with a hole in it. It was not clean at all. I still slept in it because I had already paid for it. I also noticed I had blue fabric from the blanket in my hair whenever I brushed it. Now I am paranoid about if I brought back any bugs in my skin.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice staffs. girls' rooms are in separated floors with boys'.


69%

The breakfast was awful. Very poor, better to skip it completely if what you offer is old/sour Musli and a fruit. At least offer fresh and healthy musli. It doesnt have to be expensive even.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was great! Very safe, clean, and close to public transit, but also walkable to the Anne Frank Museum and a few other sites. The breakfast was also excellent: cooked meals each day made fresh! Plus big lockers and the facilities were clean. If in Amsterdam, I reccomend staying here (unless you want to drink in your hostel: this is an alcohol free Christian one)


77%

terrible wifi in 3F man's room

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

I had a very bad time because people were smoking dope in my room, and being very antisocial, and although staff were nice about it they did little to stop it.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good hostel with lovely staff. Considering that the dinner was free (because it included Christian preaching together with games for knowing each other) - the value for money was great. Breakfast was basic though. The best thing was that no smoking, drugs and alcohol are allowed - what makes the place quite and safe.


71%

It was a place to sleep. It's close to the Anne Frank House and a healthy breakfast is served. It was just average. However, for the price, I think it wasn't that atrocious.


86%

Lovely staff, good location but not overly central. Also while its a Christian hostel it doesn't feel pressured or preachy so no one will be uncomfortable here.


94%

I really had a good time in this Hostel. Very well located, very quiet, very good breakfaste. Definitely, i loved my stay here.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you for everything!! Great hostel :) very nice staff and good atmoshpere :)

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

the only thing ishe not to have the possibility to recharge your device in the room but I can understand the reason behind and at the end it is not a big problem... great atmosphere and perfect if you are travelling alone.


94%

The hotel is run by young Christain people, which made the atmosphere really great.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really good place to be here.. With a clear message;) Johan

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Decent hostel—wifi in the cafe was good, room had large lockers, location is a bit of a walk from the Centraal Station. I'm all about hostel security, but I prefer a keycard or locked door past reception that the reception opens rather than the slightly annoying shout asking if I have a voucher once I'm halfway up the staircase. Overall, a decent hostel though. I'd stay here again.


66%

we booked a room with a toilet in it but unfortunately when we arrived there, the toilet is outside the room. the sink in the room is also smelly and the bad odour stays in the room. Lack of air movement in the room which make the surrounding in the room stuffy.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

房子拐出去背后就是tram站牌,很方便。步行去中心车站大概30分钟。如果做tram只需要10分钟


91%

Safe and you can get a small room fora great price! Love the free breakfast and the convenience of getting it to go if you are leaving early. Never enough paper towels in the bathroom though - my only complaint.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(152 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback